We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuckoo

Cuckoo
2310 Alberni Highway | Old Country Market, Coombs, British Columbia V0R1M0, Canada
250-248-6280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Coombs
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First visits. We had no reservation and was seating fast. Even if I had a reservation and had too wait I would have been thrilled. Busy place , ample staff and a great vibe. Very European, love the hussle and bustle, Like a busy restaurant! If you expect quite then ask to eat inside away from the public. The atmosphere is perfect. The food was more than perfect. Great selection. Some one else mentioned in a review not a good selection....? This I do not understand.... Plenty of options. We shared the seafood Mediterranean Cioppino - just brilliant then followed by the Capricciosa pizza... Perfect perfect lunch
Keep it up you guys have it going on!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    112
    34
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not "cuckoo" for this spot.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Despite having a reservation, Our family group of 7 plus toddler & infant waited 15 minutes for our table, on a not-so-busy Sunday. Lovely setting, spoiled by poor acoustics created a very loud ambience, so shared conversation was a challenge.
Varied menu selections, and the platter idea is great. Food was average on all counts. Service was slow, staff disorganized and training a definite must for the less-experienced employees. This place has potential, but we won't return until improvements are made in all areas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It appears the small bar and kitchen is ill-equipped to handle the amount of diners they stuff into their restaurant and patio. After 50mins of no food and very little interaction with our server, we left. Not worth the wait, particularly when seated beside the open kitchen and service area - one particular server was very rude to both patrons and staff. I'm not sure if she is a manager, but I hope not because she is rude and unkind to coworkers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Large restaurant that has abundant seating inside and out. The patio was lovely with the exception of the wasps that kept visiting our table. They were not aggressive, just hungry. Our server was very pleasant and accommodating. We were a group of 6 and wanted to share some dishes. The side salad was enormous so I am only imaging the platter size would feed several people! The spinach salad was wonderful with grape tomatoes, pecans, dried cranberries and fabulous local goat cheese with a balsamic glaze. The mixed green salad was good as well but fairly basic. Pizzas were great although not overly hot from the oven. They are large enough to share with a thin crust, great tomato sauce. The Cuckoo pizza (chicken, goats cheese,peppers) and the Cappriocious pizzas were sampled with the latter one being the favourite. It had prosciutto, artichoke hearts, calamata olives...a sprinkling if chilli flakes made it awesome. Great spot for a bite to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Cuckoo is consistant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We go here probably 8 times a year, it has been great every time. The menu is a little pizza and pasta centric (could use a chicken breast item) but otherwise flawless.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Coombs, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuckoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.