We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuckoo

Cuckoo
2310 Alberni Highway | Old Country Market, Coombs, British Columbia V0R1M0, Canada
250-248-6280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Coombs
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very good pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room, the patio, the ambience were excellent. The pasta dishes were very well presented, especially the seafood offerings. The meatballs were great. as was the ciopiono.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    112
    34
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A slice of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is my favourite place to eat on a warm evening. The patio is truly inspired. In the blink of an eye you can transport your self to Italy. This is a very popular spot and a can fill very quickly. Our choice is to have two or three appetizers and a solid.
The seafood plate is very good

Tom constable
Qualicum Beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful Anniversary Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We celebrated our 15th Anniversary with dinner at this wonderful restaurant. We started with the warm ciabatta bread and Breushetta, Wow was that delicious , then we moved onto our meals.One of my favourite dishes is Pasta with pesto and grilled chicken on top, when we first visited this restaurant a year ago it was not on the menu. That dish is now permanent and It lived up to all expectations "Bellisimo".I look forward to our next evening out and we wont wait till our anniversary to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have been to the restaurant three times, and every time the food and service was exceptional. I particularily liked the last time, when I took a friend there for lunch. Our waiter broke out into a rendition of the song, "That's Amore." Everyone ended up joining in, which made the restaurant homey and fun.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A bit of Italy right here at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The atmosphere is very Tuscany the food likewise. Love everything about this cool little spot in Coombs

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Coombs, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuckoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.