We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow for New Years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bar Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Bar Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Big Bar Guest Ranch
P.O. Box 927, Clinton, British Columbia V0K 1K0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Snow for New Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We always hope for snow at Christmas but it never happens and will go in search for snow for New Years, not the downhill skiing type. We want to find a place that is quiet, beautiful and offers a unique experience for the holiday. Big Bar more than meets that criteria. There is something breathtaking about a still dark night with the moon glistening on the snow and absolute quiet. The log cabins were the perfect place to enjoy a wood fire on a cold night,clean, comfortable, nicely furnished and warm. We enjoyed snow shoeing, sledding and playing games in the main lodge.
Amber and Bryan were wonderful hosts even with a brand new baby in the mix! Had it not been so icy we would have tried horseback riding too. We used to take our children to Big Bar in the 1990s and now our whole family, grandchildren included are planning to return again for snow during the holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
36
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashcroft, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here as part of a company Christmas party shortly after the NEW owners took over in 2012 but have stopped by for a hello and a coffee since.

The rooms a clean and fresh and the views are fabulous. Dinner was great, they pushed the tables together just like a big family gathering so we could all visit and no one was left out.

The lounge has a beautiful and massive fireplace with lots of room to visit one-to-one or all together. The ranch dogs are friendly and love pats. The horses are well cared for and looked happy and healthy.

Can't wait to come again!

Room Tip: Ask for a top level room or one of the cabins, quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

In October of 2013 my wife and I stayed at the Big Bar guest ranch in Clinton BC for four days. It was our first visit but I feel not our last. The ranch is smaller than some we have stayed at. The result is that you get a closer relationship with the staff.
Accommodation at the ranch is either in the Sagebrush Inn (a block with about 8 rooms), the Coyote Lodge (a six bedroomed log cabin) and four log cabins. We stayed in one of these cabins so I can only talk about them.
Externally, our cabin had a covered porch area with outside furniture. The lounge had a range of comfortable furniture and a wood burning stove together with a table and chairs. The kitchen had a comprehensive range of appliances and equipment. The bathroom was well equipped with a selection of toiletries and enough towels. The bedroom had a double bed and was very comfortable. Upstairs are 2 other bedrooms, one double and one twin. The cabin was spotlessly clean when we arrived.
Meals are served in the dining room and are communal. This gave us an opportunity to talk to some of the staff at the ranch and some of the other guests. The food we had at the ranch was excellent. Breakfasts are cooked to order by Chris the very talented chef. Lunch and supper are set meals and were very good in both taste and quantity. The lasagne we had on one evening was probably one of the best I have ever eaten. One of the first questions we were asked was did we have any food allergies. We don’t but I was led to believe they would cope with just about anything.
The package we went for included one ride a day. For ageing Brits like ourselves that was probably enough. Horses were selected for us and we went out with wranglers who exuded confidence and kept us entertained throughout the rides (thanks Chris and James). The scenery around the ranch is very varied and peaceful. We were given the opportunity to walk, trot or lope our horses.
When not riding there is a vast amount of land to hike and explore. There is also a lake and kayaks which can be used (but it was a bit to cool to try them). A lounge next to the dining room has a pool table, log fire and a good range of games to play and books to read.
Bryan and Amber, the owners, made us welcome and could not do enough for us. The level of customer service shown by them and their entire team was simply tremendous.
The only negative things are: at night it is dark (and I mean DARK) if you are in a cabin to move around outside at night you need a torch/flashlight (they loaned us one whilst we were there) and the road to the ranch is not the best in the world (persevere, it’s worth it).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are on a family holiday from Australia and hired a car with no real destination but wanted to stay on a ranch. We stayed in Clinton the night then the next morning headed out to the ranch. What a fabulous greeting from the owners and the dogs. My kids were really happy as they have been missing our dog at home. After a bit of time to settle in and have an explore it was time for lunch, great lunch and great meals for our stay. It was then time to saddle up have some instruction on what to and not to do and then we were off for a wonderful 2.5 hour ride through some of the most beautiful terrain.
Thanks to Amber and James and everyone that made our stay perfect :)

Room Tip: They have plenty of accommodation options for all budgets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were two couples looking for a great get away from Vancouver for the weekend and found Big Bar online a few days before we left. We drove half way on friday night staying at a campsite near Lytton on friday and driving the rest of the way saturday morning. We arrived and from the outset the staff could not have been nicer. We stayed in the Tipi's which were just great, the food was excellent and plentiful and the ranch was in such a lovely spot. The horse riding was great and even got the guys cantering "running". Just great to play cowboys and girls for a day! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hubby and I planned to stay for two days, and stayed four because the horses and rides were so great! We rode twice a day for 2.5 hours for each ride, with great runs interspersed with walks in consideration of the horses! We really appreciated how they varied the rides and ensured that we got the experience we wanted by matching horse to rider skills! And wow could my horse fly! Views were great, and we got to see a wide variety of terrain and wildlife. Also loved that their is a few other farm animals, calves, goats and a cute donkey! They facinated a young child whose family came for a day ride from Big Bar Prov Park. Really appreciated being able to take our 30' 5th wheel as we could continue exploring during our vacation. James, Joel & Chris were our fab wranglers - thank you so much! We promise to come back next year! Chris, thanks for that gourmet meal!

Room Tip: The small cabins are perfect for families or a few friends, up on a bluff overlooking a small lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We totally enjoyed our with the family, horse back riding, gorgeous scenery up on the mountain, fun people and great facilities all around. One of the top ten places to visit in British Columbia.

Tina Groot

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bar Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bar Guest Ranch

Address: P.O. Box 927, Clinton, British Columbia V0K 1K0 , Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all inclusive Guest Ranch located north west of Clinton, BC. Included in your package is your accommodations, three square meals and up to 5 hours of riding per day. You can either participate in two short rides in the morning and afternoon or take your lunch with you for an all day riding experience. Archery lessons provide an alternative activity to consider. Also included is access to our private lake with use of our canoes and peddle boats; as well as maps to our marked trails to enjoy either on foot or by mountain bike. Of course all the social areas are part of the package and you can feel free to play billiards or shuffle board in the lounge or simply hang out by the camp fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Big Bar Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bar Guest Ranch Hotel Clinton
Big Bar Guest Ranch Clinton, Cariboo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bar Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.