We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Culture Shock Interactive Gallery

Culture Shock Interactive Gallery
010A Front Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada
250-974-2484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Attractions in Alert Bay
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Culture Shock Interactive Gallery is a 100% Aboriginal owned and operated Gallery in Alert Bay on the northern tip of Vancouver Island. We offer interactive First Nations cultural experiences including cedar weaving, traditional salmon barbeque, storytelling and traditional ocean-going canoe tours. We also retail local First Nations art including jewellery, carvings, clothing and documentary films.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great coffee and shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed a coffee and smoothie while doing a bit of last minute shopping before we caught the ferry to Port McNeill. Aboriginal art including clothing - prices were good - some lower priced items for those little souvenirs for friends and well priced larger art works.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than a shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This little shop is amazing! We had just been to see the Tsasala Cultural Group dance performance and the lady in the shop was one of the dancers. In the gallery they were playing a David Attenborough documentary and she casually showed us her and her sisters dancing some 30 years ago. Plan on spending lots of time in the shop....lots to look at....and lots of fascinating conversation. We went to their salmon barbecue and felt so welcome...it was wonderful....we even tried (and liked) glitna.
They have many different types of activities: cedar weaving, singing, storytelling, tours....you should check before you visit Alert Bay to see what is coming up.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Local music jam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped by Culture Shock for coffee (which was great)... But we were privileged to hear 2 people sing local songs, written by family members, and accompanied only by a small handheld drum! This was spontaneous music at its best. If I were a TV producer making a programme about indigenous people I could not have given a better example! Thank you Culture Shock!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Salmon Barbecue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

When having an excellent latte in the Culture Shock Gallery in Alert Bay, we were invited to a traditional salmon barbecue.The barbecue is one of the activities people can do with "Culture Shock" to get to know Namgis Culture. Other activities are cedar weaving, storytelling and cultural tours.
K'odi Nelson, a Namgist Firs Nation man who is deeply embedded in traditional culture showed us the way to prepare wild sockey salmon. After he showed us, we had to do it ourselves. It was fun to do. The atmospher was nice and relaxed with joking going on between participants and teacher. While preparing the salmon we learned al lot about First Nation culture and issues. It was very interesting to talk to people like K'odi en Barb Cranmer, a Namgis filmmaker who lives in Alert Bay and works for culture shock.
Meeting these people and taking part in the barbecue was an enrichment to our holiday on Vancouver Island. And the salmon was the best I ever ate!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First Nations Culture at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wonderful customer service melds with traditional experiences that will give you memories for a lifetime.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culture Shock Interactive Gallery also viewed

Alert Bay, British Columbia
Alert Bay, British Columbia
 

Been to Culture Shock Interactive Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culture Shock Interactive Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.