We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alert Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alert Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Alert Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   549 Fir Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Alert Bay B&B and Inns
port alice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

I had the great pleasure to stay at the alert bay lodge several weekends in a row. The rooms were very clean and the service was absolutely excellent. The common area was very unique. The ambiance was fantastic and so relaxing next to a fire and nice music in the background. The morning welcomed me with coffee, juice and an awesome mixed breakfast. I would definitely recommend the Alert Bay Lodge.

  • Liked — all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

We travelled to Alert Bay to go on a grizzly bear watching tour (see my separate review for Tide Rip).

Our experience was a mixed bag. We took the ferry from Port McNeill and weren't sure where to park as the closest lot was 5/day and the machine took only change. A "colorful" local suggested we park in the dirt lot on the other side of the street which worked well (thanks!)

The woman we had made our reservation with had told me that we would not need our car in Alert Bay as "her grandmother could walk to the hotel with her bags with no problem". In retrospect, her grandmother is one tough customer! Or she is a better packer...
Seriously, the walk is about a 20 minute brisk walk without bags, but with our bags it was a bit silly (ask the locals who shouted comments such as "need more bags, ladies?")

When we got to the lodge, it looks much as expected, and, as in most Canadian households, you are asked to remove your shoes. We waited about 10 minutes before the manager showed up (he was back in his room and said he didn't hear us)
We had been moved to a larger room than we had reserved due to booking issues, and this was nice. It was the room with the new deck built off of it and it is right next to the playground. The bathroom, which was not especially well kept, was out in the hall however.

The walls are pretty thin and if you are a light sleeper, I would recommend ear plugs, which I used and slept soundly.

There was a strong smell of incense off and on throughout our stay, which we could have done without. The main lodge room is very cosy and inviting with a fireplace and candles, and Brian (manager) was kind enough to get up and make us coffee and breakfast on both of our early morning outings. I would not expect him to cater to any special requests regarding food preferences, however. As stated by a prior reviewer, Brian does make his appearance at breakfast in a robe, which this reviewer found amusing!

Overall, for the price, this is an acceptable lodge.

  • Liked — scenic, interesting
  • Disliked — bathroom, incense
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Our party of 4 ( all over 50 yrs) spent 2 nites at the Alert Bay Lodge and enjoyed the scenery and serenity of the location.
Our room was spacious and clean and had a deck to ourselves, which we used to watch the sunset. Besides, the home made breakfast ( hot porridge and home made muffins) was just right to start a day of bear watching.
The big rustic living room is so welcoming that guests often linger to chat. I found the other travelers most interesting as they were knowledgeable and warm and enjoyed the laid back atmosphere on Alert Bay as much as we did.
The house might do with some upgrade but the atmosphere of the Lodge definitely beats any motel or hotel.

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — need upgrade in the facilites
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We went to Alert Bay simply because we had never been there - we are not hikers, kyakers, whale-watchers. I say this because Alert Bay is definitely geared towards these activities - there is not much else to do except enjoy the serenity and take in the beautiful scenery. When we arrived at the Lodge (which was originally built as a church, then was used as a hostel, and is now registered as a B&B), we were greeted by a gentleman who was barefoot, in shorts and a T-Shirt. He turned out to be the manager and he was not expecting us as the internet had been down for a week! We told him the room numbers we had booked and he asked us to remove our shoes at the front door. We obliged and were shown to our rooms - 4 & 5. We were taken aback by the sparseness and rustic nature of the rooms, but because it appeared very clean, decided to stay. Room 5 was advertised as having its own bathroom, but travellers should be aware that the bathroom is actually in the hallway, although we were told only the occupants of room 5 would be using it. We enjoyed some refreshments we had brought with us in the common room, which was obviously the main part of the church at some time, and is a beautiful room with lots of atmosphere. We then strolled to "town" (about 15 minute walk) to Pass n Time for dinner. We had an excellent dinner and can highly recommend this little restaurant. Next morning the manager showed up at breakfast (warm muffins, fresh fruit and coffee) in his pyjamas and bathrobe. We found this most unorthodox, but then again, we were in Alert Bay! Lots of love and attention and some upgrading will put this little treasure of a building on the map as a B & B.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Too rustic
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We stayed at the Lodge in September 2006. The Lodge is situated close to the shore and its spacious and comfortable lounge has a magnificent view from a wonderful arched window. We were made very welcome and the owners organised a whale-watching trip for us which was magical and will remain one of the highlights of my life. We hope to make a return visit when we next visit Canada.

  • Liked — Its situation and the view.
  • Disliked — The bedrooms were clean but basic. However, I understand they have been refurbished since our visit.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a few days and we were most impressed with the rustic ambiance of the Lodge, the service, the comfortable beds and the wonderful views from most of the windows of the Johnson Strait. We found the community of Alert Bay to be very friendly and welcoming to visitors. This is a little haven which truly represents the 'magic' of British Columbia. We were a little too early in the Season to take advantage of the whale watching trips, but because we were so impressed with this little seaside community and our accommodation, we fully intend to return when the summer Season begins.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alert Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alert Bay Lodge

Address: 549 Fir Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Alert Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alert Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alert Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Johnstone Strait, our cedar log lodge is a two kilometre walk along the ocean road to the Village of Alert Bay. Features include a south facing sundeck, woodstove, large common room, library and wireless Internet. Whale watching and grizzly viewing tours pick up near the lodge. Each of our four rooms has a private bath and includes a hot, healthy breakfast. Off season, we host small conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alert Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alert Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.