We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip with daughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodbury Resort & Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodbury Resort & Marina
Save
You added Woodbury Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Box 1262 | Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Road trip with daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My daughter and myself had a road trip this September and part of this road trip was staying at the Woodbury. We camped there and had the best time ever . My daughter really liked the pool even with the Lake right there. We went boating and went to a beautiful little spot called Pebble beach and the operator of the boat was very self assured and very knowledgeable of the area. The food was very good, are server Shannon (Local woman) was delightful and made the biggest Sundae ever . The woman at the front desk, Donna as well was very helpful . The price was affordable and very central to all the places you can visit in the beautiful Kootneys . Back in a heart beat

Room Tip: They are all good ,but of course the ones on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Sounds like you and your daughter had a great time. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Trust the reviews here folks. Totally disorganized gong show....we made reservations, they gave away our spots. No computer records, of course not, they operate out of a scribbled mess of a book. Had to wait 45 minutes to get our spots sorted out. While we did get an amazing spot along the river ( the only amazing spot) this resort is like driving through a trailer trash resort, red neck banners all over. We had to talk very nice and sweet and not tick off the owners, as the wife of the owner made it very known that SHE was the OWNER you know...wow! She was nice enough to me, because I know how to handle that kind of person, but gee whizz. Look out if you don't. There are so many beautiful provincial campgrounds along this lake that we would go to instead of this. Oh, they say they have laundry facilities, but when you get there, you will be told, they are in construction and dont have them. If you want a trailer park that's just like trailer boys, this is the place for you. Wont go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
So Sorry you had a bad experience, but happy you got an amazing spot. The owners wife was not at the resort during your stay so we are a little bit confused about your review. Permanent members take great pride in their yards and there are no banners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ainsworth Hot Springs hotels

Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

love it been going for years A little worse for wear since the fire took out the main 1940 lodge and some rooms. Great place to explore the area lots of history, scenery Not the place if you are looking for five star room service.family and dog frendly.The whole area runs on koot-nay time,so relax.members get preferential treatment buy a membership. the rainbow trout are the biggest in the world either rent aboat or fish the creek mouth lots of local farmers markets and festivals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your review. Your right we are not a five star hotel, nor do we try to be. This is a rustic paradise that we are all proud of. Keep coming back and tell your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My new husband booked Woodbury Resort in February...asked for a nice, cozy, private cabin. He called monthly to make sure everything was as he requested, and was assured all was good. We arrived, expecting what we asked for, only to find we were booked into a ATCO trailer with a parking lot right behind bedroom, a drive right beside bedroom, and a holiday trailer on the lawn. No air conditioning, no patio chairs on deck, not a single flower or tree on " the lot" nor was there even a cheap bottle of wine or bouquet of flowers indicating that it was "Our Honeymoon" We left of course as the only other "cabin' was not cleaned, and no one seemed to care to accomidate us. We found a beautiful resort 11 km away...Lake View Cabins...very nice cabins, super Hosts! We'll go back there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Numerous times we asked if they would like to upgrade to a better room for more money, and the room amenities were clearly explained to them. It is not our practice to leave wine or flowers for special events. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why there is so many bad reviews on here. From the moment we arrived it has been a dream. Tried to go to the kooteny creek provincial campground and got stuck in the "friends" section. Called Woodbury after a quick search on google. Told there was space and we showed up. Half the place are annual leases but the people are AMAZINGLY friendly! Beautiful location on kooteny lake and I would call it a BC resort that is a very short jaunt to ainsworth hotsprings. Couldn't ask for more and I can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
The people around here are amazing and it's hard not to be in such a beautiful setting. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, Montana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

WE scheduled a RV reservation for July because we wanted to spend some time at Ainsworth hot springs. the person at the main desk sent and email said that we had conflicting email reservations so they canceled ours because they thought we were asking for a comp night. not true. we merely said that we could fix her computer jokingly. well they canceled anyway. you could not trust them to keep a reservation for you because they might cancel just before you get there for no apparent reason, leaving you out in the cold. at least they gave us one month notice. don't trust them and they are more expensive than better rv places down the road .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
These people had reservations at two different campspots and cancelled the one with us by accident. So yes they had a months notice that we could ne longer fit them in. Two sides to every story. They were not left out in the cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I came here for a few nights as a base for fishing kootenay lake. the staff was friendly, and helpful. we rented a room in the newer unit and it was clean and well stocked, no complaints other than the tv reception wasn't great but we weren't there to watch tv anyway!

Room Tip: look for a room in the new are, l1 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thankyou for the review. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodbury Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Resort & Marina

Address: Box 1262 | Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbury Resort& Marina is Kootenay Lakes only year round resort. We offer everthing you need in one remote location. RV spots, motel rooms and tenting. Heated pool, JB's Pub& Restaurant, full service marina with boat rentals. Miles of hiking and quad or snowmobiling trails. You can explore the deserted beaches,take a soak at Ainsworth Hotsprings or just sit on our private beach and take in the scenery. Whatever you choose, you won't be disappointed. Eight hours from Vancouver and eight hours from Calgary make us a great meeting place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodbury Resort And Marina
Woodbury Resort & Marina Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodbury Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.