We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen trailer boys episodes? This could be filmed here. Trailer park yeeuk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Woodbury Resort & Marina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodbury Resort & Marina
Save
You added Woodbury Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Box 1262 | Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Seen trailer boys episodes? This could be filmed here. Trailer park yeeuk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Trust the reviews here folks. Totally disorganized gong show....we made reservations, they gave away our spots. No computer records, of course not, they operate out of a scribbled mess of a book. Had to wait 45 minutes to get our spots sorted out. While we did get an amazing spot along the river ( the only amazing spot) this resort is like driving through a trailer trash resort, red neck banners all over. We had to talk very nice and sweet and not tick off the owners, as the wife of the owner made it very known that SHE was the OWNER you know...wow! She was nice enough to me, because I know how to handle that kind of person, but gee whizz. Look out if you don't. There are so many beautiful provincial campgrounds along this lake that we would go to instead of this. Oh, they say they have laundry facilities, but when you get there, you will be told, they are in construction and dont have them. If you want a trailer park that's just like trailer boys, this is the place for you. Wont go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
So Sorry you had a bad experience, but happy you got an amazing spot. The owners wife was not at the resort during your stay so we are a little bit confused about your review. Permanent members take great pride in their yards and there are no banners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

love it been going for years A little worse for wear since the fire took out the main 1940 lodge and some rooms. Great place to explore the area lots of history, scenery Not the place if you are looking for five star room service.family and dog frendly.The whole area runs on koot-nay time,so relax.members get preferential treatment buy a membership. the rainbow trout are the biggest in the world either rent aboat or fish the creek mouth lots of local farmers markets and festivals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your review. Your right we are not a five star hotel, nor do we try to be. This is a rustic paradise that we are all proud of. Keep coming back and tell your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My new husband booked Woodbury Resort in February...asked for a nice, cozy, private cabin. He called monthly to make sure everything was as he requested, and was assured all was good. We arrived, expecting what we asked for, only to find we were booked into a ATCO trailer with a parking lot right behind bedroom, a drive right beside bedroom, and a holiday trailer on the lawn. No air conditioning, no patio chairs on deck, not a single flower or tree on " the lot" nor was there even a cheap bottle of wine or bouquet of flowers indicating that it was "Our Honeymoon" We left of course as the only other "cabin' was not cleaned, and no one seemed to care to accomidate us. We found a beautiful resort 11 km away...Lake View Cabins...very nice cabins, super Hosts! We'll go back there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Numerous times we asked if they would like to upgrade to a better room for more money, and the room amenities were clearly explained to them. It is not our practice to leave wine or flowers for special events. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why there is so many bad reviews on here. From the moment we arrived it has been a dream. Tried to go to the kooteny creek provincial campground and got stuck in the "friends" section. Called Woodbury after a quick search on google. Told there was space and we showed up. Half the place are annual leases but the people are AMAZINGLY friendly! Beautiful location on kooteny lake and I would call it a BC resort that is a very short jaunt to ainsworth hotsprings. Couldn't ask for more and I can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
The people around here are amazing and it's hard not to be in such a beautiful setting. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, Montana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

WE scheduled a RV reservation for July because we wanted to spend some time at Ainsworth hot springs. the person at the main desk sent and email said that we had conflicting email reservations so they canceled ours because they thought we were asking for a comp night. not true. we merely said that we could fix her computer jokingly. well they canceled anyway. you could not trust them to keep a reservation for you because they might cancel just before you get there for no apparent reason, leaving you out in the cold. at least they gave us one month notice. don't trust them and they are more expensive than better rv places down the road .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
These people had reservations at two different campspots and cancelled the one with us by accident. So yes they had a months notice that we could ne longer fit them in. Two sides to every story. They were not left out in the cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I came here for a few nights as a base for fishing kootenay lake. the staff was friendly, and helpful. we rented a room in the newer unit and it was clean and well stocked, no complaints other than the tv reception wasn't great but we weren't there to watch tv anyway!

Room Tip: look for a room in the new are, l1 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Guest Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thankyou for the review. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been going to Woodbury for holidays for the last five or six years, for at least three weeks each time. I have a lifetime R.V. membership, so I stay in my R.V. Last year, a friend and his family met my girlfriend and myself at Woodbury for holidays. They stayed in a chalet for one
week. The chalet was clean and adequetly supplied, and they were quite happy to stay there.
They had to leave early for personal reasons, and were refunded for the nights they did not stay-
they didn't expect a refund, but got one anyway. This year, a couple from Fort St. John, and a couple from Medicine Hat met us at woodbury for hoidays. One couple stayed in their R. V.,
the other in a chalet. The chalet was very clean, and well supplied, I would gladly stay in there
myself if I didn't have my R.V. All three couples brought sea-doos/boats for the holiday, and had
a total of six dogs. Terry Jones and his staff did an excellent job of accomodating us and the
things we wanted to do on our holiday. Due to poor weather in June/July, the resort was slow, and down to a skeleton staff, but stilldid a great job of keeping us, and the other guests happy,-
(not always an easy task). If you are looking for a beautiful, rustic place to relax, have fun,
and enjoy a holiday - Woodbury is perfect. Some people feel Woodbury should not be called a
"resort". The definition of resort is : A PLACE WHERE PEOPLE FREQUENT FOR RECREATION
AND RELAXATION." That's exactly what I go to Woodbury for. There will always be people that
are not happy with any given service at any given time, and even people who work at resorts
can have a bad day, we just feel that it shouldn't happen on MY HOLIDAY!!! That's human
nature. Another reason I would call Woodbury a resort, (besides the true definition) is the pub/
restaraunt. J. B.'s has excellent food, and great staff. I don't like to be thirsty, and I never am
when I'm there. They also have a community hall where they host breakfasts, bingos,etc...
and a heated swimming pool. I have stayed in a lot of "campgrounds", and they generally don't
have these services. If you are looking for a rustic, Kootenay resort in a beautiful setting,
check out Woodbury Resort And Marina. MAKE SURE you go to J.B.'s for some fish and chips
and ceaser salad........EXCELLENT!!! Of all the hoiday destinations I have encounterd in my
life, Woodbury is my favourite. I will continue to go there for years to come, and both couples
that were there this year are already talking about holidays at Woodbury next year!!

PACO

Medicine Hat, Alberta

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry J, Public Relations Manager at Woodbury Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! We are very pleased that you enjoy your stays here, cant wait to see you again. Keep bringing your friends. Till we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodbury Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Resort & Marina

Address: Box 1262 | Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbury Resort& Marina is Kootenay Lakes only year round resort. We offer everthing you need in one remote location. RV spots, motel rooms and tenting. Heated pool, JB's Pub& Restaurant, full service marina with boat rentals. Miles of hiking and quad or snowmobiling trails. You can explore the deserted beaches,take a soak at Ainsworth Hotsprings or just sit on our private beach and take in the scenery. Whatever you choose, you won't be disappointed. Eight hours from Vancouver and eight hours from Calgary make us a great meeting place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodbury Resort And Marina
Woodbury Resort & Marina Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodbury Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.