We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled Rooms, Wonderful Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort to your Saves list
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ione, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Remodeled Rooms, Wonderful Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I were here about two years ago. The rooms have since been remodeled. A little more soundproofing would have been nice but overall the renovation looks great. We chose a room so we could have a view of beautiful Kootenay Lake and the mountains. British Columbia is truly gorgeous. We love the "cave", nice and hot, about 103 degrees. The big pool is around 98 degrees and the cold plunge about 39. I also need to add a comment about the on-premise restaurant. Oh my gosh, I ordered the Beef Tenderloin with prawns with a pesto hollandaise sauce. Absolutely the best steak I have ever had including the sauce. Thank you to the chef. My husband had the prime-rib and it too was very good. Cameron was our server and he was the best!! Our check-in and out staff were also very friendly as was housekeeping and the folks working in the pool area. We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to talk about your total hot springs experience. Your wonderful comments have been appreciated by all the staff, from the back of the house to the front.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    55
    22
    16
    20
See reviews for
43
90
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked the cheapest room (non view, with one queen bed $144) and this truley was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Rooms are recently renovated, new carpet, new wallpaper & paint, completely new bathroom. The entire hotel smells new inside. Standard size room, firm but comfortable bed, 4 pillows (plus decorative pillows) that dont instantly go flat like most hotel pillows. Clean bedding. New bathroom, big shower/tub, granite counters. Rooms are very very quiet! It was a non view room so we literally looked out our window to a close up of the side of the mountain, but I believe this added to the quiet. Free entrance to the hot springs (which are amazing!) fluffy robes to get there in. Staff service was excellent. Best hotel I have stayed in in a very very long time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We will continue to work very hard to offer our guests a fresh, comfortable hot springs experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

hands down the best thing about this place is the hot springs, the caves are neat and its super relaxing. the ONLY thing i DIDNT like is that we paid for the honey moon suite and we were a bit disappointed on the size of the room, but everything else was great, very clean and a gorgeous area surrounded by a huge lake to take some beautiful pictures. the food was yum too :D , would go back for sure

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. For another time, you might wish to choose our Designer Suite which offers a bit more square footage (and a fireplace). We are a smaller property with many different room types to choose from. Intimate and cozy can be used to describe some of our loveliest rooms. Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My Cousion Aunt and Uncle and his brother and my dad and I went here 2 to 3 weeksre ago and I loved the fact that this is a oderless hot spring without the smell of the supher that smells like the rotton egg. I loved the area that it was by Beatuiful Kootney lake. I was a little surprised that the water in the cave would be up to my waist but I could sit down in a spot in the cave. There is a area where a hot streem flows in to it witch we were amazed to see in the cave. The outdoor pool was fun too but I think it's 35 C. It was fine for us to be in. The tiny cold plunge pool was fun as we braved it but most of us stayed and got out in a few seconds and went back into the other pool. The staff were nice there. There are no lockers in the change rooms. They give you a bag and then you chek it in and they give you a tag. It was my dad's birthday there too and we took him there. We hope to be back sometime in the future soon. One fact for tall people in the cave watch your head. It's a bit low in places. I also heard there was a person who has gone there for many years there now.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Living in the Kootenays most people know about the hotsprings in this area. One of my favorites still is at Ainsworth, with one main pool at body temperature; hot tub and the caves, that are very hot! The plunge pool cools everything down nicely. Although this pool is kid friendly, it is mostly for relaxing in, so no splashing etc with kids...While soaking, the beautiful mountain view tops everything off for a de-stressing soak. Great restaurant afterwards for very good food. A must if you are visiting in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thanks for the "warm" compliment. I couldn't have said it better myself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We decided to spend the night for our Valentine's Day Celebration. Based on reviews read here we made a reservation for dinner. They had a special menu for Valentine's Day and we had a superb dinner before heading off for a soak in the pools.

The room we had was newly renovated and the decor was very tasteful. The bathroom had a lovely walk-in shower with a rain showerhead. What was very disappointing was the poor sound-proofing between our room and the adjacent room. The conversations that took place next door could be easily heard in our room. This was not quite what we had in mind when we came here for a romantic getaway. It seems a shame that the renovations did not appear to extend to soundproofing the walls.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The pool is the main reason to visit Ainsworth, and this is the most convenient way to staay and enjoy it.

Front desk staff is a bit arrogant but the hotel is good.
Not new but confortable and quiet.
The restaurant - one of the only one in that hamlet - is also great.

Tip: If you want to cut costs, book a night at nearby Mermaid cabins.
Accomodation is very basic, very small beds and rooms.
You'll have to pay 10$ to get to the pool, but will save elsewhere.
They have an outdoor BBQ so go to Keslo and buy yourself a good steak and a few veggies for the grill.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
I'm glad you found our rooms quiet and comfortable. Since your visit, we have competed 2/3 of a total room renovation, with contemporary and designer upgrades. We strive to offer our guests a one-stop hot springs getaway, excellent dining and well-stocked gift shop. There will always be options to accommodate those wishing to cut costs. Thanks for taking time to comment on your visit. We appreciate all of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 41 newly renovated guest rooms, The Springs Restaurant, Krao Lounge, and a well-stocked Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.