We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn
4103 56th Street, Wetaskiwin, Alberta T9A 1V2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wetaskiwin
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were on a golf getaway and Wayside Inn was our overnight stop. We very much enjoyed our evening. The hotel is modern and quiet. The staff was professional, helpful a and very friendly.

Our room was very clean and the king size bed was just what we needed for a restful sleep.
We took advantage of the breakfast option. This was well worth the extra $5.00. The full breakfast was a very healthy portion, very cooked and nicely presented. The highlight here was the lovely lady that was our server.

I recommend this hotel for couples, families or business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience while staying here at the hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I am especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the B & B option. It allows us to offer a little something different than your typical continental breakfast offered at other properties. I hope you will consider the Best Western Wayside Inn again the next time you are traveling through Wetaskiwin.

Kent Sjolin
General Manager
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were in town for a hockey tournament and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very modern and clean with all amenities. The lounge on the main floor looked quite nice. The restaurants breakfast buffet was average.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn during your visit to Wetaskiwin. Thank you also for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Kent Sjolin
GM
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The entire staff of this Hotel was wonderful!
Pleasant and helpful service from the Front Desk clerks and
the staff of Barneys Pub and Grill were amazing.
I can not say enough about the food at Barneys, absolutely delicious.
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Best Western Wayside Inn, Wetaskiwin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for the kind comments about our staff. They work very hard to ensure our customers’ have a positive experience, and always appreciate acknowledgement from satisfied guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review and we hope to see you again during your next visit to Wetaskiwin,

Kent Sjolin
General Manager
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to Wetaskiwin on Mar 29th and stayed 1 night. Checkin was quick, rooms were very clean and had every thing a traveller needed.Barneys was great for supper and the next morning we had breakfast at o'brians. Everything was great, we definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn during your recent visit to Wetaskiwin. Thank you also taking the time to submit a review to Trip Advisor about your experience at our hotel.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff take great pride in leaving each of our guests with a positive experience.
Thank you again for taking the time and we hope to see you again real soon,

Kent Sjolin
General Manager
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

After many years of saying we should visit the Reynolds Museum in Wetaskiwin we finally made the trip. We thought we would have a leisurely drive up to Edmonton - do a little shopping -- and then spend the night in Wetaskiwin. In one of the Travel Alberta magazines there was an ad for the Best Western Wayside Inn --- a complete package for a 1 night stay, museum passes for 2 and breakfast for 2 the next morning. I called to book - asking for a King bed and was told I had to pay $20 more. This is not a large amount -- but does leave a bad taste - when the ad did not specify any particular bed size.

Beyond that one small annoyance we enjoyed our stay very much. I had asked for a quiet room - and was given one. Our check in was very nice -- friendly and helpful. We decided to eat dinner in Barney's Pub & Grill - and had an excellent experience. There is a separate review on dinner.

The room was pretty small -- but very nicely renovated. The carpets were clean and soft -- the bed was very comfortable - as were the pillows. I agree that it is very hard to control the room temperature -- as the numbers on the thermostat are minute - but overall we were fairly comfortable throughout the night.

For breakfast we went to the other restaurant on site -- O'Brian's. The service was good and the food excellent. If we are in Wetaskiwin again next summer - we will definitely stay at the Best Western Wayside!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank-you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn during your recent visit to Wetaskiwin. Thank-you also for submitting a review of your experience with us. My apoligies for any confusion our package created in regard to rate. We are typically a little higher for a king room for all of our packages, but perhaps we could do a little better job to clarify that in our advertizing.
I appreciate your kind feedback in regards to our two dining outlets, Barney's Pub & Grill and O'Brian's. Our staff work very hard to create a great experience for each of our guests at both venues.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Reynolds Alberta Museum and your stay at the hotel. RAM holds different events through out the year, so every visit offers something new to see or experience. Thank-you again for the feed back and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Wetaskiwin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Best of all the hotels in Westaskiwin. Nice restaurant and the new lounge Barneys is very nice,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn while in Wetaskiwin. We appreciate our guest's feedback and use this information in our efforts to create a great guest experience. I am glad that you enjoyed O'Brian's restaurant and Barney's Pub & Grill. We are quite proud of the recent renovations in both of those spaces.
Thank-you again for choosing to stay at our hotel and I hope we have the opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stopped over on a whim while our way to Kananaskis Country, glad we did!
Check in was great , the bed and room were small but very clean.
In the AM we had breakfast at thier restaurant, service was great and the breakfast was great value for your money. Check out was a different story, we waited for the clerk to finish an extended personal phone call before she would assist us. What ever happened to muti-tasking?
This was the only issue with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to express your thoughts on your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We get a lot of compliments on our beds and are actually setting up a referral system with our supplier so our guests can purchase that same bed for their own home.
I have shared your comments with our staff and we will use your feedback to continue to improve. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Wetaskiwin and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn

Address: 4103 56th Street, Wetaskiwin, Alberta T9A 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Wetaskiwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wetaskiwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wetaskiwin
Wetaskiwin Best Western
BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn Wetaskiwin, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.