We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but clean, comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB to your Saves list
Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   66 Boulder Blvd, Stony Plain, Alberta T72 1U7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stony Plain
Vegreville, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic, but clean, comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The rooms are pretty basic, but comfortable, clean and quite affordable (less than $90, including taxes, for AAA members). Fridge & microwave in room - no coffee, but it is available in the breakfast lounge by the lobby. Breakfast (included) is basic - choice of bread/bagels toasted, cereal, fruit, beverages. Right beside fast food restaurants (DQ, Boston Pizza, Tim Horton's, McDonald's). Friendly responsive staff. Very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors (2 or 3) at the back (north) away from major arterial roadway for quieter slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracker856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been staying here for several years when we pass through Edmonton. It is expensive for a Motel 6 (just under $100 for two), but the location is very convenient. There is a Boston Pizza and Tim Horton's next door, so there is nothing more that you could ask for in a location. The hotel now serves breakfast, but I could not resist Tim Horton's. Very clean room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

y husband and I took a mini vacation for a weekend trip to Edmonton and decided on staying here. The rooms were small but clean, we had great service at the front desk and for the price of the room we also got a small continental breakfast. You don't get any shampoo, blow dryers, kleenex or hand lotion, but why pay an extra $70 or $80 a night for that, just bring it from home. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanisG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Arriving late from Mexico, in Edmonton, and traveling to Grande Prairie, we opted to overnight at the Motel 6 again. Driving 20 minutes from the EIA rip off zone, saved us $50. This motel, with the AMA discount came in, with taxes under $100. Nothing fancy, very clean, small but ergonomic room, spotless bathroom, comfy queen bed, easy friendly check in. Decent breakfast. Good places to eat nearby. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Just show up, we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverviewpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although this is an economy hotel, it was clean and decent and worth staying here.
The breakfast was respectable, plenty of food and a good variety of items. I like the bathrooms of the hotels I stay in to be clean, and this one was. Although I would have appreciated some shampoo and conditioner to be included.
We will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Figglewiggle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at Motel 6 at the end of July 2012. The room was nice and clean, and the price was reasonable. If you're expecting to have amenities in your room you have to think again. Any amenities have to be asked for at the front desk: iron, iron board, shampoo etc, blow dryer. Not sure if this is due to theft or just that some people prefer their own brand of shampoo etc. First front desk clerk was not that helpful but other staff the next day were great. Basic continental breakfast. If you're looking for a basic, reasonable priced motel just outside of a big city, this might be one to look at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, my son and I stayed at this hotel for the August long weekend. The hotel is well maintained, but very basic in amenities, especially for the room rate. I have never stayed at a Motel 6 before so I was disappointed with the lack of amenities in the room. We were a family of 3 so the 2 double size beds seemed small. The TVs are old and placed high on the closet. I really missed not having an in-room coffee maker! There were no hair dryers, kleenex or shampoo/conditioner in the bathrooms (shampoo available from the front desk). We did welcome the mini-fridge though and the hotel did offer a continental breakfast from 6-10am.
My other complaint is, on one of the days, I returned to my room after housekeeping had been there to find my door was left adjar. I trust that hotel staff will keep my belongings safe and they should have checked to make sure my door was closed tight before moving onto the next room. I complained to the desk clerk, she apologized and said the housekeeper had a sore neck!! Huh? I don't think I will return to this hotel and I will think twice about reserving at any Motel 6 in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freeride42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Plain
Travelodge Stony Plain
#3 of 4 in Stony Plain
3.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB

Address: 66 Boulder Blvd, Stony Plain, Alberta T72 1U7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Stony Plain
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stony Plain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Stony Plain is located just minutes from Downtown, the Multicultural Heritage Centre and the Stony Plain Golf Course. This location offers Free Wi-Fi, a Micro-Fridge, 40" flat screen TV's in all modern rooms, and a coin laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Motel-6, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Stony Plain, AB Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing