We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but very authentic feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuya Japanese House - CLOSED

Matsuya Japanese House
1995 Brentwood Blvd, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8A 0C9, Canada
(780) 467-2228
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not fancy but very authentic feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The sushi is definitely fresh and in generous portions. The service is cheerful. The saki and tea are served piping hot and delicious. Not quite as dark as actual Japanese restaurants I've been in but very authentic feel none the less. Great bang for the buck gives this place an excellent rating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best fish in Edmonton!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

If you want the best, fresh and flavorful fish in town then head down to Matsuya. The menu is traditional and that's the way Joe makes his sushi. His attention to detail, freshness and quality of the fish he buys really shows when you eat his sushi. It is a little bit more expensive than the other sushi places in Edmonton but once you taste the fish and see the portion sizes you'll know why. His handling, preparation, storing and selection of fish is the best in Edmonton. I have been going to his restaurant for 9 years now and I have never come away disappointed. The best hands down.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We've been going to get Joe's sushi for over 5 years. My wife introduced me to the place, and I loved it. I really noticed the quality when I went to a sumo-sumo one day for sushi. I found myself wishing i had drove for the extra 15min to just get back into the park for Joes.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Not that great”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The restaurant looks old, server didnt know the menu and description, food was ok, sushi didnt have a flavor. Tempura was good. Yakitori and other apetaizers werent good.
Kind the price of the quality they offer.
i wont go again....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Can't stop going here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I don't like going to the same place over and over but we are stuck on Joes sushi. The dynamite cones are addictive. The chop chop is superb and the toro devine. Been going for years and never had bad mouthful of food. Joe is an expert and very personable. This sushi house is not the place for innovative food. It does one thing very well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuya Japanese House also viewed

 
Sherwood Park, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuya Japanese House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.