We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Portage Lane, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8H 2R7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We recently visited the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Sherwood Park and our experience was overall, FANTASTIC!! Limone at the front desk was very quick to re-instate our reservation upon check in and provide a complimentary upgrade to a suite room for our family. She paid extra attention to details during our stay to ensure that all of our needs were met efficiently and enthusiastically. We found her to be very knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast at the hotel is amazing -- cheese omelettes, turkey patties, yogurt, muffins, english crumpets, bagels, fresh fruit, etc. Guests seemed very well taken care of. The hotel is clean and very quiet. There are many restaurants within walking distance with a variety of options for lunches and dinners. Overall, we would stay there again!!

Room Tip: It's worth while to pay the extra for a room with a small fridge and microwave, even if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you Dahas13 for taking the time to complete such a wonderful review. It is a pleasure to hear that the staff are exceeding expectations and I agree, Limone is amazing at taking care of our guests.
I will definitely be posting your review in the staff room as I know it will make their week.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours in Hospitality
Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
10
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eagle hill, ab
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

reasonably located for Edmonton access; friendly staff; no pool, but a decent hot tub; and one of their breakfast frittatas was quite tasty.

I often found decent parking, there was never a shortage of breakfast items, and I really enjoyed the executive suite. decent tv screens.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Our Guests comments and reviews are important to us as they assist us in improving our service and amenities.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Sherwood Park

Yours in Hospitality
Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here as they were having a points promotion. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was more than adequate. While there was a bit of driving to get to West Edmonton Mall there was easy access to the highway. There are a number of different eateries nearby and a Costco. There is no pool if that is important to you. Enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great Breakfast! Fills you up for half the day, saves you money on food. Great graveyard shift desk clerk and really solid manager. The cleaning staff seemed to loose some beads that I'd left in my bed accidentally, (maybe lost in the laundry?) But the price was so good for the room, and the value so solid, I decided not to bug them about it. The rooms are very clean, the televisions are nice flat screens with solid access to good channels for free. The blackout curtains are pretty good at blocking out most of the 19-hour-per-day sun in late spring. The hotel hasn't done anything to help with the $100 - $200 taxi fare, round-trip, to the airport. And if you didn't rent a car, the hotel has no way to help you get to Edmonton. If you're not renting a car, and not a mass-transit fanatic like me, then you can't stay here, because both the airport and Edmonton are too far away for cabs or buses, and both are shockingly expensive in Strathcona County, (where the hotel actually is). They were not deep into the Platinum Elite Status thing and spaced out on getting me my gift points, and then also didn't give me any other Platinum Elite gift, so I felt I got stiffed, but again, didn't want to get to picky, as they gave me a room on the top floor, which I asked for, and had a room with two beds, which I really like due to all the extra pillows. The beds were really comfortable and were I not so eager to explore every inch of Edmonton, I surely could have slept twelve hours a day in them. I could not get a vibe going with the swing shift and daytime clerks, but I maybe just was not their cup of tea. The breakfast staff and the cleaning staffed were quite friendly. Oh, and in Canada and Europe, even if you spend a lot of money, you can't take the idea that you'll get a bathtub for granted, and so I was happy that this place has nice bath tubs. Furthermore, the air-conditioning and heating seemed to really work and not be cheap. (And I've run into really junk-like heating and air-conditioning systems in some very "high-end" rooms; and so their solid performance here is also not to be taken for granted.) I was there eight nights and 90% of the time it was very quiet and I never had to worry about being disrupted. Plus, the walls seemed good, because I was not hearing folks noise very often at all. If you can afford a rental car, or don't mind spending hours on the bus, or if you can handle the massive cab fees or multi-transfer, multi-hour journey from the airport, then this place is just about all you can ask for in that price range.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms there are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you Mel C for taking the time to complete such an extensive review of our hotel. I am very pleased to see that we met or exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are some distance from the Edmonton International Airport but do have a negotiated fare with our preferred cab company. We should have let you know that when we realized that you had flown in to the area. Please accept my apologies for that oversight.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Sherwood Park area.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us
Yours in Hospitality
Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed with my family for a week. Good location. Very accessible to the highway. Hotel may not have a restaurant on site but there are 2 good restaurants next door. No pool, just a hot tub which was not working. But there is a huge recreation centre next door as well called the millenium plaza. With that, kids are happy and so was I. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear JDH
Thank you for taking the time to complete such a wonderful review on our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the hot tub issue. We encountered mechanical problems and took a little longer than anticipated to get it repaired.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Sherwood Park and that we were able to make you stay comfortable.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to the area.
Yours in Hospitality
Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My name is Samantha Lane and im a student from TRANSCOM FLEET SERVICES and im staying in this hotel . The house keeping staff is amazing so friendly! A lady named RONA cleaned my room on Feb.17th 2014 and left me a little letter telling me she took pride in cleaning my room. As many hotels as I stayed in I have never gotten anything like this in my life . RONA i want to thank you for cleaning my room and taking the time to leave me a little note.
also the lady at the front desk named Lindsay is the nicest front desk lady i have ever met.
THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!! for making me feel like I was home!
DEFFENTLY be staying again , Even if im in the area i would go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good Day Ms. Lane:
What a perfect way to start my week. Thank you for taking the time to complete such a positive survey. I have posted it in the staff areas as it will definitely make their day to know that what they do is noticed and appreciated.
Yours in Hospitality
Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had to make an unexpected trip to Edmonton and hadn't made reservations anywhere to stay. After checking out another hotel nearby (on tripadvisor) we found this one just up the street. We inquired as to availability, rates etc. and were promptly checked in by the friendly and helpful desk clerk. The room was spacious and clean and we were delighted to see it contained a king-size bed. We had all the required amenities, but I was pleased to note the sign stating that had we forgotten something the hotel would ensure that we would be provided with such things as toothbrush, razor, etc. The bed was comfortable, the temperature easy to control in the room and our stay was very pleasant. In the morning, our all-inclusive continental breakfast was more than we had hoped for. There were cinnamon buns, pancakes, omelets, sausages, yogurt, toast and cereal plus more. We were very happy with the hotel. It's easy to get to, easy to find your way around, and we were made to feel at home. When we checked out the desk attendant was very friendly and interested to find out if our stay had been okay. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park

Address: 11 Portage Lane, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8H 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Sherwood Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Sherwood Park - A convenient stay in the Edmonton suburbs. You'll find numerous businesses and attractions as well as the Trans Canada Yellowhead Highway surrounding our hotel. Sherwood Park is home to a variety of attractions, from Millennium Place Recreation Centre to Festival Place arts venue. Rexall Place in nearby Edmonton is home to the Edmonton Oilers and is an integral sports venue for Sherwood Park and Alberta; our hotel guests can also see the Edmonton Rush lacrosse team or the Canadian Finals Rodeo there. Be sure to pick up a souvenir from the Sherwood Park Mall. Our hotel business travelers will find some of the largest oil refineries and petrochemical complexes in North America nearby, such as Petro Canada, Enbridge, Alberta Envirofuels and Imperial Oil. We have a 450-sq.ft. meeting room with A/V equipment as well as a 24-hour business centre to meet your business needs while lodging in the hotel. Our Sherwood Park hotel guests enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning and well-appointed rooms with 27-inch cable TVs, triple-sheeted beds with pillowtop mattresses, mini-fridges and work areas with free high-speed Internet access (both wireless and hard-wired). For a comfortable stay in a fully non-smoking hotel, come visit the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sherwood Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Sherwood Park
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park Hotel Sherwood Park
Holiday Inn Sherwood Park
Sherwood Park Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.