We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Friendly B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faronhof B&B

Save Saved
You added Faronhof B&B to your Saves list
Faronhof  B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Faronhof B&B
Via seriola veneta sx, 51 | Oriago di Mira, 30030 Mira, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Mira B&B and Inns
Beaver, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Very Friendly B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We were very impressed with Chris and Monica's B&B. It was very clean and tidy and they showed us excellent hospitality throughout our stay. A short drive away is a great restaurant and a 5 minute drive takes you to free parking at the bus stop to Venice. The B&B is very moderately priced and a big savings over staying in Venice. Both Chris and Monica speak fluent English.

  • Liked — Fluent English and very friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, B.C.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

We stayed at this B&B as we wanted a quiet place, outside the City of Venice. We have confidence in Trip Advisor user reviews, so expected to have a very good experience. However, our experience was definitely mixed.

There were some good things -- the hostess is very friendly and provides good information re buses, etc. She speaks English which makes things easy. Breakfast was fine, but basic, as expected for a lower priced B&B. Internet access is provided in the room as promised.

But, we did have some complaints. The window of the room was open when we arrived in the afternoon, and everything seemed fine. When we returned in the evening, we noticed the room smelled moldy at one end, but we decided to sort it out in the morning. The next morning, a look behind the wardrobe revealed that the wall was black with mildew. When we spoke to the hostess she was very apologetic, and to her credit, did clean it up while we were out that day. Overall, the place could have been cleaner and we were disappointed.

Secondly, the travel distance to the bus and to Venice is minimized in the B&B description on line. This was not a big deal for us, as we had a car, and parking for the bus was both convenient and free, but it would definitely take longer than 10 minutes to walk to the bus stop -- it was about a 10 minute drive. The bus ride into Venice is half an hour, not 15 minutes as stated. Again, not that big a deal, but still, annoying that we were mislead.

Overall, the price is good, and the location is not bad, but expect budget accomodation.

  • Liked — Location was reasonably convenient, price was good, hostess was friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — Mold problem, room was quite small, overall cleanliness.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

Very nice B&B outside Oriago, a small village on the bus route into Venice. Very friendly and helpful (English/Italian bilingual) landlady. Computing facilities in the rooms, and guests are welcomed with a bottle of wine. Continental breakfast. Landlady very happy to advise about local attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

we had a lovely weekend at the faronhof, stayed there for 3 days before going on to florence and then rome. we are budget travellers so was pleased to find this cheap bed and breakfast, the owner showed us what to see and gave us some tips on how to not spend a fortune in Venice 'cause it's an expensive city! we had free internet as well which we used to book our stay in rome.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

It was like staying in a Boot Camp. The owner did not state all the rules and regulations in their property description or email correspondences. We only found out the rules upon checking in with all the rules written on a paper in the room. This was an imposing experience, rules was an endless list. The showering times was the rule that got us really upset. You cannot take a shower after 6.30am or before 8.30am! So either have an early start or a late start. Either way, we had our breakfast without showering first because even breakfast had rules - either taken at 8.30am or 9.30am! We decided not to take the bicycles, so be warned that it takes 45 minutes to walk to bus stop. It takes at least 2 hours to get to Venice city. We walked back to the hostel in the dark and we were glad that we did not take the bicycles. The roads leading to the place is PITCH DARK. Only light you have is cars passing by. One car passes on average 5 minutes once. Cars were putting on their high beam lights when passing us, so this is VERY DANGEROUS as you'd be blinded by the lights.There's no stores nearby, so do buy your water before you head back. Owner charges you for bottled water. Eventhough it is a family home, we felt like stranges when these rules are imposed. We will never return to this place, EVER. It was like a boot camp with all the rules and regulations imposed. I am glad that my 3rd night was in another place and it was worth paying 40% more.

  • Liked — Nil
  • Disliked — The rules and regulations
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal97, OWNER at Faronhof B&B, responded to this review, March 1, 2008
Regarding the comments made by this guests, I would like to point out that the rules to which he refers to are what we consider common sense rules which all guests should observe when staying in someone's house (example: to keep the noise down after 11.00 pm, to keep the bathroom clean when shared with other guests, to turn the lights off when not using the room and so on), they do not seem boot camp rules to us, but normal every day guidelines of good education (that is why they are not on the website). Also we are not a hotel, but a real bed and breakfast, so the rooms are in our house and people are living within our premises and are our guests. The bathroom was shared with us (we both work) and we asked not to have a shower within those indicated times because it is when we go to work. We offered our bikes, they decided not to use them, the walk is only 15 minutes, but it took them 45 min. because they did not take the map we gave them and they got lost (conveniently forgot to mention this). It does not take 2 hours to go to Venice (you can go to the Dolomites in that time) but 15-20 minutes. It took them so long because they did not take our instructions and got on the wrong bus. I would have thought that the lack of traffic would be a good thing when staying in the countryside, not a bad thing!! Also they forgot to mention how cheap the room was, that they had free use of internet and free satellite TV and we offered to take them to the bus stop but they refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Our three days with Monica and Chris was one of the highlights of our trip. Our rooms were a good size, clean and we had free internet access in both rooms. Loads of helpful tips and advice for our daily forays into Venice. We all had great fun on the bikes once we stopped wobbling around and laughing . It was fantastic after a hard day of sightseeing to be able to go back to the house and have a wine and chill out in the peace and quiet of the back yard.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

We wanted to visit venice and and found Faronhof as a nice place to stay there. Monica and her family gave us a warm welcome and we got a lot of tips for our trip to venice city. Our bedroom and the bathroom were nice, clean and had enough space for two. Also we had free internet access and the possibility to watch some movies on DVD in the evening.
The Faronhof can be reommended to all visitors who want to see Venice!

  • Liked — Der nette Empfang, sauberes Zimmer
  • Disliked — alles war gut!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faronhof B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faronhof B&B

Address: Via seriola veneta sx, 51 | Oriago di Mira, 30030 Mira, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Mira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Bed and breakfast close to the center of Venice. Sat TV, FREE internet access, free bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Faronhof B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faronhof B&B Mira, Italy - Province Of Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faronhof B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.