We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor taste in Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Burdick Expressway East, PO Box 2228, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Minot
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor taste in Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed with this hotel--my company hosted a function and we held a meeting at this Holiday Inn. I do want to say the hotel itself is very nice. Under a remodel and friendly service staff. I am a frequent traveler and I stay at IHG properties, as I am a rewards member as well. I deal with a lot of customer service and I understand the industry but I was never treated in such a way with disrespect and left to feel so menial and inferior, as I had felt when I had spoke with Christine, who booked the meeting. I may not be the clientele she deals with on a normal basis, but I found it unnecessary that she repeated her title of Director over and over to me--also making sure that I was aware that booking a hotel room, a separate room for my stay, was not her job, as she huffed and I do believe swore as she put me on hold. Now, this being my first visit to Minot,I understand it is a booming town with growing opportunities. Shame on you Holiday Inn and IHG for hiring someone who made a guest feel unwelcome and rather belittled. I stated earlier that the service staff, the front desk and bellman were more than accommodating, giving another star for some hope. I did enjoy the complimentary cocktail hour and was thankful for a full service breakfast restaurant. I unfortunately would not stay at this Holiday Inn again, strictly because of how the booking process was handled and the lack of warmth and empathy given to me by management.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Michael D,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
18
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hallock, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel because our nephew was getting married and the reception was there. It was super clean--beds were comfy. Nice mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. Common areas are receiving some TLC. They were doing some work in the hallway and they looked a little run down. However, the room was great and conference area where the reception was held was wonderful too. I would definitely stay there again. There also was a nice pool area--however it is good for the younger crowd. The pool was way too shallow for teenagers who want to swim. But it would be a great place to take a young family with the waterslide and splash pool. The hot tub was very nice. We went to the attached restaurant for breakfast and had the breakfast buffet. The food on the buffet was mediocre at best--next time I would order from the menu...maybe that would be better. Oh, I forgot, the worst part of the stay was the 6 am wake-up call that I never asked for. Not sure how that got mixed up

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This property is good, bed was comfortable. However, I little more TLC, could go extremely far on this property. I really really don't enjoy Minot ,ND, and avoid visiting at all costs, but the hotel makes my visit a little better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Bradley187,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this location while making our way to Milwaukee.


Room was large and comfortable. Good size fridge and small microwave were definitely nice.

Nice large pool / spa / waterslide area. Nice bar/lounge/blackjack area, they had restaurant attached but didn't eat there, so can not comment.

Good for short stays with or without car, but definitely need a car of staying long at all or to access restaurants and other venues.

Stayed August 1, 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We showed up at the hotel after 11pm as we were lost. We had a room booked at the holiday inn express across town... The staff were amazing. Had our reservation switched over ASAP. Accommodated us with a smile. Rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The pool area is clean with a great slide. Perfect for anyone with little children as its a little mini water park. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a night in the hotel. It was slow with not a lot going on. Nice facility, but old in many ways (elevators, etc). Close to fairgrounds with stock car racing going on the night we stayed so it was loud in the evening. They offered a good breakfast as credit in their onsite restaurant. We also used the free shuttle service, which was great. Not a destination hotel, but a good one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel prices in Minot have skyrocketed over the past few years...and would normally consider the going rates for this hotel to be expensive by standards of other (larger) cities throughout the country, but for Minot these days the price was better than that of lesser hotels.

Room was large and comfortable, but felt rather empty as 1/2 of the large room had next to no furniture and was just empty space. Good size fridge and small microwave were definitely nice. Chair and ottoman stained (and looked like could have, should have, had stain professionally removed...would help ambiance.

Nice large pool / spa / waterslide area. Nice bar/lounge/blackjack area, and good restaurant (Ground Round) attached.

Apart from that noted here, there is a bar across the street but nothing else for food or entertainment for a long distance. Good for short stays with or without car, but definitely need a car of staying long at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside

Address: 2200 Burdick Expressway East, PO Box 2228, Minot, ND 58701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Riverside! Minot's best choice for your full service or convention needs. We are a beautiful 7 story atrium hotel located on Highway 2 East, right across from the North Dakota State Fair Grounds. We are within minutes of the downtown shopping area, Medical Park and Roosevelt Park & Zoo. Our rooms, pool, lobby & convention center have all been recently remodeled & we offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the facility. Brand new in March 2005 is the Atlantis Interactive Waterpark with a lap/bubble jet pool, hot tub, sauna and game room. Room rental includes 4 wristbands. Pool area is for hotel guests only. Birthday packages available Sunday - Thursday. Please call hotel for more details. Must be booked through hotel directly. The Pavilion restaurant is open daily from 6:30 AM to 2:00 PM. The Ground Round Bar & Grill is open 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM. Relax in our Oasis Lounge & Casino open 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM. Meeting facilities available up to 2000 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside Hotel Minot
Minot Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.