We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Grandeur... But More Than Adequate Comfort...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Burdick Expressway East, PO Box 2228, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Minot
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“No Grandeur... But More Than Adequate Comfort...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel prices in Minot have skyrocketed over the past few years...and would normally consider the going rates for this hotel to be expensive by standards of other (larger) cities throughout the country, but for Minot these days the price was better than that of lesser hotels.

Room was large and comfortable, but felt rather empty as 1/2 of the large room had next to no furniture and was just empty space. Good size fridge and small microwave were definitely nice. Chair and ottoman stained (and looked like could have, should have, had stain professionally removed...would help ambiance.

Nice large pool / spa / waterslide area. Nice bar/lounge/blackjack area, and good restaurant (Ground Round) attached.

Apart from that noted here, there is a bar across the street but nothing else for food or entertainment for a long distance. Good for short stays with or without car, but definitely need a car of staying long at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
18
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a comfortable stay for two nights. We we travelling with an infant and preschooler and this place was perfect. The room was spacious and the microwave and fridge were appreciated. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. We did not find it loud at all, as other reviewers did, and our room was right off the elevator. The pool area is perfect for younger children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a great stay, room was clean and comfortable. Came down from Regina for some shopping and family fun. Hotel was a short drive to the mall area and right across from the fair grounds and close to the zoo (which is on it's way to reopening). The kids pool/waterslides were awesome. Our three kids (8 and under) had a blast. A little bit of noise occasionally from people running in the hall or room above us or from trains honking but nothing too disturbing. All in all we would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

With the abundance of new hotels in Minot, unless you have a van full of kids and don't mind driving miles for dining and entertainment, this is not the hotel you want to stay at. The hotel appears remodeled from the outside but once you step in you see right away it is all an exterior update. The hotel does have a large water venue which attracts families with kids which equals noise. From the carpets to the elevator to the rooms, this hotel does not meet the needs or quality for business professionals or experienced travelers. The rooms are dated, the furniture dated. the room carpets dirty and the bathrooms in disrepair. I suspected right away this was a franchise location as the old, divoted mattresses were "updated" with new, yet cheap comforters and linens. The Soft and Firm pillows were exactly he same and neither was of the brand or quality you would expect at a newer or corporate Priority brand hotel. The hotel has an attached restaurant although, if you are stayng for more than one night, other decent dining choices are five to seven miles away and located across the street from brand new Priority brand hotels. This is not the place you want to stay in Minot.

Room Tip: Rooms at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear East_TN_Travelers,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property.

I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Please accept our sincerest apologies for our level of cleanliness fell below your standards and for the dissatisfaction you had with our rooms.

Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. With this in mind, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I liked this hotel property even though it was showing its age a bit. The rooms open out into the mulit-level atrium with my room being clean. The rooms were decorated nicely and were spacious. The internet speed was reasonable although could be a bit faster. I didn't use the pool or fitness center. PLEASE NOTE, if you are shy or modest you will not like working out in this fitness center. It has big windows facing the corridor that leads from the front desk to the elevators and is very public and you will be on display while on the treadmill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear PracticalDude,

Thank your for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product.

It was real pleasure to read that you liked our hotel and you had a pleasant stay with us. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one.

We look forward to welcoming you backin the near future and thank you again for your favorable comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not a bad hotel. Rooms are big and comfortable although nothing special for features. Friendly staff. But there is a fast food smell that permeates every corner of the hotel including rooms. Not pleasant at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Peaches60,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. It is a delight to read you found the rooms big and comfortable and our staff friendly. We regret your stay was negatively impacted by the unusual smell in the hotel. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously and will certainly look into this as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parshall, North Dakota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday for a dart tournament. The rooms were large, clean and bright (I hate dark dingy rooms) and the beds comfortable. However, I would NOT recommend booking an event at this hotel. The women's bathroom was out of toliet paper most of the weekend. Dart players are drinkers. The bar service was beyond pathetic. Not nearly enough bars open and only one bartender per bar. The wait for a drink was a half hour or longer. People were rotating standing in line so they could also shoot their dart games. The wait was SO long, people were ordering several drinks when they finally got there. The bartenders were told they had to open each beer they sold. This made it difficult to carry several drinks and many spills occured. On Saturday morning, only ONE bar was open for both the dart and pool players until noon.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the ice and soda machines, or you will hear them all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Angie W,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the bar service. Rest assured that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior especially if there are events happening at the hotel and for this reason, your comments have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside

Address: 2200 Burdick Expressway East, PO Box 2228, Minot, ND 58701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Riverside! Minot's best choice for your full service or convention needs. We are a beautiful 7 story atrium hotel located on Highway 2 East, right across from the North Dakota State Fair Grounds. We are within minutes of the downtown shopping area, Medical Park and Roosevelt Park & Zoo. Our rooms, pool, lobby & convention center have all been recently remodeled & we offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the facility. Brand new in March 2005 is the Atlantis Interactive Waterpark with a lap/bubble jet pool, hot tub, sauna and game room. Room rental includes 4 wristbands. Pool area is for hotel guests only. Birthday packages available Sunday - Thursday. Please call hotel for more details. Must be booked through hotel directly. The Pavilion restaurant is open daily from 6:30 AM to 2:00 PM. The Ground Round Bar & Grill is open 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM. Relax in our Oasis Lounge & Casino open 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM. Meeting facilities available up to 2000 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside Hotel Minot
Minot Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Minot - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.