We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, noisy air conditioners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
1515 22nd Avenue SW, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Minnesota
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Older hotel, noisy air conditioners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Minot for one night while in town on business. The hotel is older and if it has an elevator I did not see one; climbed three flights with my baggage. I had a room with one double bed. The room was clean but the air conditions (my, the room next to mine and the one in the hallway... Yes indoor hallway) and traffic from the street outside the highway frontage road was noisy. I used ear buds and music to get to sleep. Wifi was good. I didn't use the tv, pool or free breakfast so cannot comment on those. This hotel is located next to several restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Ann V, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I apologize that it was not the quality you expected or deserve. Being an older facility our rooms do have an older air conditioning system but this should not affect the sound quality. I appreciate your comments and will pass those comments not only onto our maintenance staff but our ownership. Maintenance will take a look at the unit in the room you stayed in and make the necessary repairs. We do have an elevator in the hotel but it is located on the opposite side of the building from your room. Please accept my apologies as we should have informed you of this or helped your with your bags. I hope that you will consider staying with us again should you visit the city of Minot in the future. Thank you again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
30
25
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strout
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The root cause of the reduced rate your staff has provided on this invoice was that on Friday the 9th that my wife and children were in the room when the “Do Not Disturb” sign was removed and the housekeeper attempted to enter. She had knocked twice and said “housekeeping” twice previous to entering, but the knocks and enunciations were so soft that they were not sure if it was our door or another that was being knocked on. Her entry was barred by the interior door lock.

I had originally described another similar incident to your desk staff regarding Tuesday the 6th, but apparently that did not happen and was only due to my misunderstanding and complete lack of sleep on Monday night. For this errant report you have my apologies.

Regardless of the errant report, the desk staff had mentioned a discount of 10% for the trouble. 10% of the cost of the stay seemed to be reasonable at the time and I left the office. The next day my wife went to check out and the staff was a bit confused on what to do. They promised to send an invoice by e-mail and we left.

The invoice arrived several minutes later with a 10% ($10.20) credit on one night. When I think about the thousands of dollars that I have spent in your hotel over the last few years and the additional dollars that have been spent by other people that I have brought there, this tiny correction is a bit of an insult.

Further consideration of the lack of proper ventilation of the pool area vapors, outdated overall facility and poor breakfast will cause me to re-think my Minot accommodations in the future.

Room Tip: Not bad if you need a room for utility. If you want amenities, keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Ann V, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your input regarding your stay. I apologize again for any misunderstanding or inconvenience we caused you and your family during your stay. You are correct that the compensation for your stay was inadequate. You should have received a new invoice that same day reflecting a discount off of your entire stay along with notification that you were awarded additional reward program points for that stay. I forward another invoice reflecting your credit. Also, thank you for bringing the ventilation from the pool area to my attention. Please be assured that we will have maintenance take a look at our system. I do apologize that you did not receive the quality stay you have come to expect. The next time you are in the Minot area we would appreciate the opportunity to improve upon the services we offer. Thank you again for your comments and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, adequate breakfasts, right by the mall, and Applebee's right out the side door. What more could a person ask? I booked 2 rooms for a one-night stay, and we were all very satisfied. We didn't use the pool, but I noticed that it was being cleaned early in the morning when we were on our way to breakfast.

Room Tip: There is an elevator just inside the door that faces Applebee's. We found this very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Ann V, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn of Minot. We appreciate your business and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is comments such as yours that help us to improve upon the services we offer. Please be assured that I will share your experience with our staff. We look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Staff were very helpful and able to accommodate us at short notice, upgrading our room for no extra cost. Breakfast was provided and had a great variety. Would stay here again, walking distance to Applebee's for supper.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Ann V, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn of Minot. We appreciate your business and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait to offer you the same quality stay the next time you visit the city of Minot. Travel safe and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a small pool-side suite with 4 adults and a young child. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and good breakfast choices. The room was clean, the beds and pull out sofa bed were comfortable and the whirlpool bath was nice. Would stay here again. The hotel was in walking distance of the mall, Applebees, and other popular restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Ann V, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate your comments and look forward to sharing them with our staff. We here at the Comfort Inn work hard to supply a comfortable and enjoyable stay for our guests. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Travel to Minot often for business and wanted to return to the Comfort Inn because their staff always makes me feel welcome. This time was no exception. Plus the hotel is also constantly changing. My room had brand new bedding and carpet and they just finished a pool renovation which looks great. What I'm most impressed by though is that they are now starting to mix up their breakfast! Minot has a lot of choices for hotels and I've tried a few but I already have my next trip booked at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Ann V, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn of Minot and thank you for your input. Guest service is a priority and its nice to know we're following up on that. As you mentioned our hotel is constantly striving to upgrade our services. How exciting for us for you not only to notice but to mention our changes in your review. Your input is greatly appreciated and should you have any suggestions on how we can continue to improve our service please do not hesitate to let us know. We hope to see you each and every time you visit the Minot area. Thanks again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for my family and the staff made it welcoming even before they set foot in the door. Kayla was awesome and allowed an upgrade since they had bigger rooms available that night. She was friednly and prompt! This is one of Choice Hotels top hotels and it shows. Very clean and a great location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo Ann V, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn. We appreciate your business and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the Minot area. Thanks again and Travel Safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1515 22nd Avenue SW, Minot, ND 58701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minot
#7 Business Hotel in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Minot Comfort Inn, a 100% nonsmoking facility, features 140 rooms complete with microfridges, hairdryer, coffeepot, iron & ironing board, and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel also offers a complementary hot breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, business center and guest laundry. Located off of highway 2 & 52 on the 16th street exit adjacent to Dakota Square mall makes the Comfort Inn the perfect location for your getaway to the Magic City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Minot
Comfort Inn Minot
Minot Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.