We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1505 North Broadway, Minot, ND 58703 (Formerly the International Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Quaint, yet beautiful. Wasn't very busy. Air conditioner was loud in the pool room. Dirty sheets, lots of great staff members. VERY heplful :)

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    25
    17
    18
See reviews for
22
22
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, IA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is good in Minot. Restaurant incredibly slow, pool area is okay, but back jack in the lounge for $1 a hand, makes up for everything.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed in a King suite for 2 nights. It totally served our needs. Large suite, nice hotel, great location. Had a surprise though when we opened up the hide-a-bed - there were no blankets and the sheets looked messy. Phoned for some blankets. Realized the sheets hadn't been changed since the last guest - there was a sock and some chips in the bed. The blankets were delivered the room - only brought sheets though. Decided to just sleep on the couch instead. Aside from the hide-a-bed everything else was ok.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

If you liked 1991, you will like this place! I read lots of reviews that talked about recent updates, but I must have completely missed them! Restaurant=super slow service (twice!) and feels like a time warp back to the early 90's. You really have to see it to believe. Prices were expensive too. Room was dingy (6th floor), poorly lit and had a number of maintenance issues including one of the beds and the bathroom. The one nice point is the large pool area and pool. Lots of room for gatherings along the perimeter of the pool. Almost forgot that we had to call maintenance as well because a breaker tripped when we turned on a lamp and dropped the power to our room! Pretty sure that wasn't supposed to happen!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Our room was a good price, but it was a bit of a strange room experience. The room wasn’t that clean, and our toilet seat was very beet up, and damaged. They had a coffee maker, but only small plastic cups no coffee mugs. However, the hotel staff were decent, and the pool was great (could bring your alcohol drinks with you as long as they were not in glass containers). There was a 24 hour restaurant and the food was good and reasonable and nice wait staff. Finally there was a lounge in the hotel with $1 black jack (but they don't offer it on Sunday's). I am not sure if I would stay there again, I might want to check out the other hotels in the town. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We traveled to Minot for the May long weekend. We stayed on the sixth floor away from the pool area. The room was clean and fresh. The section of the hotel we stayed in was being freshed up with new paint, but they were not painting on the weekend. The Sunday brunch was very tasty and well presented for a very reasonable price. The pool was certainly busy with several Birthday parties. A lot of families having a good time. There were no fresh towels in the pool area, so we used towels from our room, We would stay here again,

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I had to travel to Minot for business and stayed at the Grand International. Here are the positive things:
Close proximity to the airport
Large rooms
Nice flat screen tv in room with a lot of channels
Pretty good big breakfasts
Free internet

Minot ND does not have much to choose from in terms of accomidations so I'm not sure if you'll find anything much better there. I felt like the hotel was very outdated, it didn't look like much had been updated since the late 60's/early 70's. The bed in my room was like a pile of bricks; I like a firm mattress but this was taking it to new levels. Their "fitness center" was a joke; it's a hotel room emptied out with an old treadmill, bike, and eliptical in it. They also had some sort of old school universal machine that I wouldn't touch. The people who worked there really didn't go out of their way to provide service; their printer was out of toner in their business center when I went to print a boarding pass; they said they would get to it within a half hour and never even bothered fixing it at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 1505 North Broadway, Minot, ND 58703 (Formerly the International Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel in Minot, ND, has spacious rooms, plus amenities such as the area's largest indoor pool area. Now in its 50th year as a premier Minot, ND, hotel, the Grand is also a highly sought-after destination for meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand International Hotel Minot
International Inn Minot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.