We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1505 North Broadway, Minot, ND 58703 (Formerly the International Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Brandon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was a little leary to stay here based on some of the previous reviews, however I was looking for somewhere close to the airport. The front desk staff were a pleasure to deal with and the room was exceptionally clean. The free shuttle to the airport and long term parking are a huge plus. The restaurant service was the only reason I am not giving 5 stars. We will stay here again, probably won't eat there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMinot, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your stay with us at the Grand! All feedback is welcomed. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities of our property.

Sincerely,

Jim Mello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    25
    17
    18
See reviews for
22
22
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Guys Mills, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel was recommended as one of the best in town. Room rate with taxes was $184. I stayed October 2-5. Room was large and it was clean.

The front desk staff left a lot to be desired. I inquired about the bus to the Hostfest and they didn't have much information and really didn't seem to want to help. I asked for a wake-up call and that never happened. On the last day I asked for a shuttle to the airport and was told to have a seat for about 15 minutes. The time went by and nothing happened so I inquired again and discovered they never let the driver know I needed a shuttle.

The shuttle drivers were one bright spot in the stay. Coming from the airport the driver told me a lot about the area and seemed to really enjoy his job. Going back to the airport the driver asked if I had a good time at Hostfest and told me more interesting things.

I ate in the bar two evenings and the food was good and the wait staff pleasant but not really friendly. I ate breakfast in the restaurant and the food was good and the wait staff there was very gracious and aimed to please.

Hostfest was fun. I enjoyed all the Scandinavian entertainment. Crafts for the most part were Scandinavian and not what you find at the typical festival. I am not Scandianavian but decided to enjoy the culture and eat Scandinavian foods. Lute Fisk is definately an acquired taste. Overall, the festival is wonderful.

It was too bad the hotel did not make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMinot, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your stay with us at the Grand! All feedback is welcomed. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Hostfest, our town is very proud of our annual festival. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our stay. I feel like your stay is not typical experience. We like our employees to go above and beyond for our guests. My staff joins me in our sincerest apologies that your were not satisfied. I would like you to give us another chance if you are attending the Hostfest in 2014 or if you are ever in the Minot area again. I can provide you with a voucher for a free night stay. If this is something you are interested in taking advantage of please contact info@grandhotelminot.com and provide us with your address. Be sure to include that you are a review from trip advisor.

Sincerely,

Jim Mello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nothing too special. Room was clean, and TV small. Lots of plugins and small refridge.
A loud pool area filled with screaming kids on the weekends. These sometimes break away and run up and down hallways up until evening.
Restaurant has huge portions and again, food was okay. Waitresses nice and helpful. I ordered a large juice and it was huge.... I could not finish and I am a juice drinker. That was impressive.

Room Tip: Try to avoid weekends, lots of locals come in to party and use pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMinot, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your stay with us at the Grand! All feedback is welcomed.

Sincerely,

Jim Mello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while in Minot for a weekend. We have stayed before, and had a decent stay.
This time was a different story. Although the room was decent (outside of the small TV), the service was awful. When we arrived for check in, we waited at the desk for a couple of minutes before another staff member (housekeeping) yelled to the backroom to tell the front desk staff we were there. The front desk staff still took another couple of minutes to actually come out and help us. This wasn't an isolated incident either, I went down to get a paper and needed some change prior to check out and had to wait while the front desk staff changed their paper in the adding machine. There was no other guests at the front desk at the time, so not like she was doing it in a rush to help someone.
I called back to the hotel to talk to my wife on Saturday and was connected to the wrong room. When I called back I was placed on hold for 5 minutes before I finally just gave up. I tried again about 30 minutes later and was again placed on hold before finally getting through.
Price is also high, so this will more than likely be the last time I stay at the Grand International when I visit Minot. Way too many choices now to waste our money at this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I checked in to this hotel because it was supposedly the best in town. At over $150 per night, I expected some quality and service. About half of the rooms are "pool" facing, meaning that they face the swimming pool. During my multi-day stay, I noticed that EVERY DAY, seemingly ALL DAY, they rented out the pool for various parties for children. OK, I don't normally mind children. But it's now 10pm and I can still hear them screaming. It has been like this virtually all day. Due to the oil boom, many hotels are partially or fully booked, so that if you as a general traveler check in, you will likely be stuck with a pool-facing room.

I've been having severe allergies and used my kleenex box in the room. The laundry people don't replace it, leaving the low-budget black plastic box - supposedly containing a tissue box - empty on top of my sink ...

Someone wrote that they "didn't have to leave the hotel" for a "meal"… This is truly unfortunate, except for what must be the simplest of tastes.

The worst element of the "Grand Hotel" experience is the restaurant, Primo. Please don't patronize this restaurant, unless you want inflated prices, terribly rude service, and disgusting food. Unfortunately, I have been to this restaurant numerous times, since others in Minot seem to believe that, because it has tablecloths and an Italian theme, it must be good. With the oil boom, people are absolutely knocking down the doors of average places in town like Applebee's and the Olive Garden, which are indeed fabulous by comparison, and whose parking lots are overflowing with patrons. The International Inn is a convention spot, and could benefit by actually hosting a real restaurant. Far from the "night spot" it appears, even from the beginning, it is abrasive. One waits at the desk for a prolonged period for a table, even though there are many empty spots. No adult employees seem to be present. Eventually, a teenager will seat you and shove a glass of water in your face. I should have known that it would be a gruesome experience by the lack of clientele on a busy Saturday night in town. Sadly, I've had numerous entrees here including several pastas, fish, and steak. They are nearly unpalatable. Tonight was the piece de resistance! I had the Bruschetta appetizer, replete with dried, rock-hard sun-dried tomatoes on cheap untoasted bread with some melted cheese on top.

When I retired to the restroom for less than 5 minutes, my glasses (left on the table) were gone! Even though the waitress, Lorilee was around, I had to summon her to find out that - in my brief bathroom break - they had assumed I had run out on the tab and were going to clear my table, even though I had a full, unconsumed glass of wine and the entire disgusting Bruschetta dish! She retrieved my glasses from the front desk.

When I told Lorilee that the Bruschetta was disgusting, she did nothing except say "sorry". No offer to make it right. No offer to try another appetizer. No explanation of the bizarre glasses-confiscation and assumption that I had just run out on the bill!!

While paying at the front, the teenager-in-charge obviously cared nothing about my complaints, nor did she offer to contact her manager or take any further action. The food is disgusting! The service is rude!

My advice about this hotel: stay away unless you love screaming children and bad restaurants! The Holiday Inn Express is much better!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInternational, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. All comments are always welcomed. We have spoken to the Primo staff that helped you that evening and they join me in my apologies for experience. We will take this experience as an opportunity to make improvements.

Again we offer our apologies that you were not pleased with our property. If you would like to discuss the matters further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Jim Mello
General Manager
701 852 3161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
displaced
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am currently in this hotel this week as a family who is STILL displaced by the flood. Our service overall has been above and beyond. Cleanliness and staff has been nothing but helpful and accommodating to our "special circumstances". I cannot thank the staff and most of all GM Mr. Mello enough for the environment we are currently in and they will never know how much it means to our family to have a sense of peace for the week we can afford to stay. I'm blown away by the reviews I've read, and I myself, am hard to please. These negative reviews MUST be written by overall angry people that just need something to complain about. This hotel has newly remodeled rooms that are SPECTACULAR and for my children, fiancé and self are glad we found a place with a sense of family and caring nature and hope we are able to stay longer. Thank you Grand and your name is nothing short of "fitting". The Welsh's will forever return with pride and a sense of comfort knowing we get the best service possible. If ANYONE has a complaint I'd like to hear it directly from you fore I have YET to find something to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInternational, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us with your review. As we appreciate all feedback, we are ecstatic to read your touching review. It is people like yourself that make the job worth doing. Thank you.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend at this hotel for a softball tournament. It's an old hotel but the amenities are wonderful! Didnt have to leave the hotel for a meal or a night of cocktails. After the first night we were wishing we had our three kids. The pool area is amazing and all the vending machines and video games were a nice touch. The staff were wonderful and helpful. We will definitely stay here again, soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 1505 North Broadway, Minot, ND 58703 (Formerly the International Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel in Minot, ND, has spacious rooms, plus amenities such as the area's largest indoor pool area. Now in its 50th year as a premier Minot, ND, hotel, the Grand is also a highly sought-after destination for meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand International Hotel Minot
International Inn Minot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.