We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1505 North Broadway, Minot, ND 58703 (Formerly the International Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Minot
Brainerd
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Grand International is a wonderful place to stay. We had a suite and it was huge. Very clean. Bed was the best ever. The resturant was very, very good and had an incredible view. Staff was wonderful and anxious to make our stay comfortable. We were there for a Ducks Unlimited event. They went out of their way to make sure everything went seamlessly. The meal that night was awesome. Looking forward to the opportunity to stay again!

Room Tip: If you need a lot of room, a frig, and a micro wave, the suites are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    23
    15
    18
See reviews for
20
21
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Williston, North Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stay here when we fly out of Minot Airport. Conveniently located. Very nice, clean rooms. Beds were very comfortable. The Primo Restaurant has a great menu with tasty food. A little over priced due to the current oil boom in ND but then again everything in NW ND is overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInternational, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed your experience with us! I wanted to make sure that you were aware of our new full complimentary breakfast that comes with our Corporate Rate. Be sure to ask for it next time your making a reservation with us! That may take away from the cost, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I enjoyed everything about our stay, unfortunately there is not enough blankets/comforters. we had to turn the Heater on and even then i still felt cold. other then that awesome stay i would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Do not get a room where the main windows are next to the pool, to noisy pools hours are to long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInternational, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, outside of the blanket issue. My housekeeping department joins me in our appreciation for you bringing this to our attention. We have placed additional blankets in every room closet, for those guests who prefer the additional bedding. We hope that you will gives us the opportunity to serve you in your future visits to the Magic City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I flew into town recently for business and was booked here. Due to some winter weather delays, I got in pretty late.

Luckily, the hotel is visible from the airport, a 2 minute drive away from the rental lot. The room was well furnished and spacious, basically a suite. The restaurant on-site is convenient and pretty tasty.

Not sure what the rates are as someone else booked it for me, but a good option if passing through town and a great option if you have an early flight out/late flight in.

Room Tip: If you are close to the pool, the chlorine scent is very strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInternational, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad you were please with our Park 'n Fly! We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Maybe next time you stay you will have no opportunity to try the award winning food in Primo, our full service on-property restaurant!
~Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a nice room the night before our flight out. We booked this as a Park 'n Fly hotel. Its' proximity to the airport made it a nice spot not to have to wait long for the van to take you to and from the hotel. Decent price for the added bonus of leaving our car there for 11 days. 24 hour pick-up/drop-off to/from the airport. We left our vehicle in the back row in the back of the hotel which was well lighted so we weren't too concerned over leaving our vehicle there. As we were getting up super early for our flight they nicely put us in a distant room at our request so we wouldn't bother too many people.

Didn't really try any of the amenities of the hotel, so can't comment on that, it was purely a park 'n fly hotel for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estevan, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here when we flew out and back to Minot. They have complimentary parking for the flight out. They have a shuttle that takes you to the airport and picks you up. The rooms are spacious and very updated. The beds a re very comfy. Clean, quiet. Would stay again if we fly out of Minot. Breakfast in the restaurant was good but a bit pricey! Service throughout the hotel is very good. Huge pool and pool area. Great for kids!

Room Tip: Cheap rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandInternational, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments during your stay at the Grand. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities, we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while on a road trip through Montana and North Dakota. My family had stayed here numerous times when I was a kid, so I had lots of fond memories of the place. I had read some of the reviews previously and was a bit concerned about staying here. When I checked-in, I went to see the room prior to getting my luggage from the car. I'm glad I did. My first few rooms were actually hospitality suites that convert into a room, with the bed being a Murphy bed (probably not the most comfortable). The next room didn't smell that great. Finally I requested and was given a 2 queen room poolside, which was okay. Apparently all the single king bed rooms are either hospitality suites with a Murphy bed, or a 1 bedroom room, so be careful when you are booking. The room was okay, but had a definite lack of furniture. The TV was tiny, but did have a wide range of channels. Internet and parking were free, and the internet speed was good. There is also 2 computers in the lobby that are available for use. The room service had large portions and tasted good, however they added a gratuity to the price upon delivery, which was not stated in the menu or anywhere and was actually written onto the bill in the tip portion (this is a little sketchy). The pool and hot tub were nice and relaxing. The one really great thing about the room was the bed - very comfortable. The price is quite expensive at $140/night. There are comparable hotels around the area that are the same price or cheaper, and usually offer a free breakfast of some sort. I was a bit disappointed in what this hotel has become in the years since our family stayed there. It was a Best Western then; now it is an independent. I would highly recommend looking around before booking, and asking to see your room first before settling in. I have read many issues about the old section of the hotel, which is apparently the 6 floor tower area. My room was in the 3 floor newer section. The 5 floor tower is also somewhat newer and should be okay as well. Do your research before booking, and see your room before accepting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section, and look at your room first before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 1505 North Broadway, Minot, ND 58703 (Formerly the International Inn)
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel in Minot, ND, has spacious rooms, plus amenities such as the area's largest indoor pool area. Now in its 50th year as a premier Minot, ND, hotel, the Grand is also a highly sought-after destination for meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand International Hotel Minot
International Inn Minot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.