We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I've had in Minot So Far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badlands Grill House & Saloon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Badlands Grill House & Saloon
1400 31st Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701-6965
701-852-7335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 111 Restaurants in Minot
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dickinson, North Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best I've had in Minot So Far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had pleasant service and good meal. Very good for Minot market and close to La Quinta. New restaurant with good decor. Strange entrance - seems like you are entering bar - but small hostess stand on right. Fried pickle appetizer was OK. Steak was very good. Drink pour was good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    20
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

You know that you are in trouble when you go into a restaurant and the hostesses are too busy playing with themselves to open the door for an incoming customers (even though its clearly company policy to do so) It set the stage for what clearly is a restaurant that has a well thought out plan but failing in execution. A building that is in a strip mall but has a facade added to it that makes its look like a steak house/restaurant that might deliver more but doesn't measure up.

Sat at the bar, best part of the meal.... good drinks, pleasant bar tender, reasonably priced.... and then the bread. Probably the best part of the meal and that wasn't all that. Looked at the menu.... one that reminded me of a Applebees/TGIF/Bennigans.... you know the type glossy photos, laminated, saying to all the world.. This is our menu and its NEVER going to change... like it or leave it.....

So we are left with a choice... I decided to try the meatloaf (something that is designated a house specialty) When it comes... wow what a disappointment. The corn is obviously canned and reheated, the mash potatoes are instant / pre-made type and the Meatloaf is some sort of premixed from Sysco with a gravy splashed over it to give it some taste. All in all I guess for 10 bucks I shouldn't complain but this dish clearly didn't deliver. Is it so hard to make mash potatoes in house, do corn the right way... maybe even make your own meatloaf (after all its billed as a house specialty).

My fellow patron had the pork and it also was a failure. Clearly had been slowed cooked but than set aside and reheated when ordered. The same problem with the sides and yet another miss. I should have know when the I asked the bartender for her preferences and she said her favorite meal was the Asian Rice dish....

So in the end, go in get a couple of drinks... stick to the reasonable priced steaks... avoid anything that requires thought by the kitchen staff.... of better yet go to different restaurant to eat.... I can't believe that some of the other reviewers went to the same restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
“are you done yet ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

i took my wife here for her b/ day may 23- on advice from gal at hotel reception desk- we were so rushed although it was not even half full- beer/ wine came promptly- but after we ordered our salad came 2 min later -then appetizer just as we finished our salads-followed -3 min later by our main course- had may be 4 sips of my beer -no water brought although requested- in and out in roughly 40 min -what a joke - boxed appetizers- no offer for another drink or dessert- worst place yet- food this side of cafeteria food- if in minot again -would never go back-and will pass story onto my friends-

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Food was great, waiter was attentive. Have eaten at michaels, alder grill, grizzlys, and many others, and this one was our fave! Even the kids fish was delicious! Definitely best choice in Minot! It is nothing like tgi Fridays or Applebee's. Don't listen to the reviews that say that!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Steaks are ususally good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Steaks here are usually good. I have had some that were touch and bland but generally they have been good. The Cedar plank salmon is pretty consistently good as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badlands Grill House & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Badlands Grill House & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badlands Grill House & Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.