We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul L.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Steak House

Sakura Japanese Steak House
1425 24th Ave. SW, Minot, ND 58701 (Formerly Sakara)
701-837-1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 111 Restaurants in Minot
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spokane
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Paul L.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat. I travel quite a bit in my job and get to eat all over the place. Very authentic in every way. I also had the sushi, outstanding . Having had sushi in many costal cities I was impressed with the freshness and favors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hibachi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hibachi at its finest great food and great customer service. Didn't think such a great place to eat existed here a must try.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Fun place but so-so sushi.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fun place, if you are looking for a loud, rowdy sushi joint. Pretty obnoxious if you are not. Service was not so good, which is amazing when sitting at the sushi bar. The real test--the food--was so-so at best. I ate sushi only, and it was below average compared to any other sushi place I have been.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
“Fun with Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Delicious and entertaining. I've been there a few times with groups of people and I've always had great service, a fun time and the food is always better then expected.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere; Good food even if you don't like Japanese or Chinese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

First off, wait to sit at the grill because it is so entertaining! We enjoyed a drink at the bar while we waited (about 30 mins) on a busy Saturday night. Bar area is small, but accommodating. You are seated at the grill and maybe seated with others to fill the seats about 8 for each grill. I had 4 in my group and sat with two other couples, but we still enjoyed semi-private conversations and didn't feel like we were sitting with them. The cook was very skilled and very entertaining with tricks and jokes for the whole table. Everyone orders their dish and everything is cooked right in front of you to order eg medium rare- well done... Our group had combination platters including steak, chicken, scallops, and shrimp; All of which were excellent. The food didn't have a strong flavor, so the steak tasted like grilled steak. Everyone caught a grilled cucumber flipped from the cooks spatula. Food was good, service was good, and the overall experience was entertaining and fun. I recommend Sakura for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.