We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hotel I ever stad in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magic City Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Magic City Motel to your Saves list
Magic City Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 S Broadway, Minot, ND 58701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty hotel I ever stad in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I Will never stay in this hotel ever again, smell so bed in Side THE room. Everything is don't work everything Same likje have à problem. THE toilet never work and the towel is so dirty do not use THE towel ever Sime like They never clean THE towel.

Room Tip: I Will never stay in this hotel ever again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    2
    9
See reviews for
5
1
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff seemed new but they tried to make my stay comfortable. I can see why people have given it bad reviews but I can say it appears to be because of the guest and how they behave. I didnt expect that they would turn people away based off apperances so if seedy people were around the staff tried there best to keep them under control.. I also didnt expect it to be a quiet family hotel since it is in the same parking lot as a sports bar and casino.

It was coveniant when I did go out for drinks since I wasnt drinking and driving and I liked that there is a kmart in back of it, a grocery store across the street and a great chinese buffet restaraunt also in the same parking lot.

Over all it is a great at getting what I paid for. I wasnt looking to pay $100 a night in a lavish hotel. I was looking to just stay for a while and not have empty pockets.

Room Tip: Check your room as soon as you check in because they are remodeling so if there is something unsatis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel smells so bad they never clean the towel or the bed sheet, only drug people stay in this hotel, I stay in this hotel the room very dirty. Don't ever stay in this hotel ever! dangerous hotel everybody can go to you room to steal your stuff !! one time somebody knock my door they want to go to in side the room. I was so shock!

Room Tip: better sleep in your car then in this hotel.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

with pays $69/night what i got: 1. i try too move almost 5 room and all room really smell smoke or dope/smell puke/ smell urine/smell poop
2/ all tv have all always trouble. check refrigerator u will be surprised hows smell or dirty, phone always have problem,ac & heater always trouble, toilet between broken or the flush dont worked or stuck ,the bath so filthy,all house keeping lady always to much smoking & play around,front desk not to much care.
3. all blanket really smell smoke,bottom my bed i found to much trash include condom in my bed,my towel i never use it cause really dirty,they don't have new towell all towel so filthy dirty.,
4. to many people knocking door at night between drunk people or try to sell drug. be careful with this hotel dont put ur expensive stuff in your room,they can open your room.
5.people said this good hotel...i thinks they really blind and drunk...
6. to many thinks in room broken,really do u wanna spent money in this hotel???
7.Police coming to many time cause to many people sell drug there dont ever bring your kids there.
8.for how longs i saw there and stay there i see to many people coming like homesless,so why the room really filthy dirty,special carpet
9. now u will easy see all kind bed bug and and bug coming to your room and your food..have fun for that...have funnnn

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I believe there is something fishy going on if anyone actually had been to this motel the idea that it is acceptable to anyone is a complete joke. Please ask to see the rooms before you book. I was astonished to find out what type a place this is. The bathroom door was some sort of plastic sheet that didn't offer much in the way of privacy. Luckily I was alone.

Room Tip: haggle until you get hostel like rates. That is what you are really paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I went to Minot again and decided to visit the same place.
Surprise: the Hotel is getting better and better.
The bar in front also has been "cleaned". No more smoking inside ! Good choice.
Between the Hotel and the bar I had fun, without risking my driving licence

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Made reservations way in advance to have three rooms (one of them a pet room) during fair time. We all showed up for the Kid Rock concert to find that the hotels computer had gone down and they had lost all the reservations. I was expecting nothing but problems however the manager stiepped up and honored our reservations, took care of the whole situation and gave us three very nice rooms. Couldn't have been happier with how all turned out. In all, it's not the Hilton but the price was good and the staff couldn't be more helpful. I'll stay there again any time I'm in Minot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic City Motel

Address: 1901 S Broadway, Minot, ND 58701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Magic City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.