We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 22nd Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 32 hotels in Minot
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here on our return trip across the country for one night. The hotel room was nice and had a good sized bathroom with a large counter area.The breakfast area was very nice and had a good selection of breakfast foods. It turned out the same person at the front desk that checked us in at least 10:30 p.m. was the same person taking care of all of the breakfast at 7 am the next day. I felt badly she must have had to work so long. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We are thrilled that you had a great experience and we looking forward to taking care of you again the next time you come to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed one night at this hotel. All in all the stay was fine. The only thing wrong in our view was the drapes did not close for the black out so we slept with only the shear curtains covering the windows. Also our room was on the first floor next to the service elevator and pool and the smell of chlorine was quite bothersome. We had to keep the window open to help alleviate the smell. It was not pleasant, but after a while it seemed not to be too bad we got used to it. A room not so close to the pool would have been quite better. On the upside, the service was good, the free breakfast was ok,( there was a variety of food choices). Very clean and quiet. Maybe this room could be converted to a storage room. We did not require any service so we cannot comment on that one selection. If we were to stay longer we would have requested a different room.

Room Tip: ask which room u have been assigned. If u get this room ask for another one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will address the presentation of the black out curtains in the room so that they are visable. We would be happy to accomodate room preferences as long as they are available. We hope to see you on your next trip to Minot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for a week while visiting family. Room was clean and comfortable. Good location on south end of town. Staff, from front desk to housekeeping were friendly and caring. We had to extend our trip an extra night due to our flight being cancelled. Our unexpected change in travel was stressful. The staff was caring and helpful. They allowed me to use their phone and computer for several hours while I rearranged travel plans. My wife and I actually ended up taking a 26 hour train ride to get home. Long story but this actually was quicker than trying to catch another Frontier flight from Minot! The staff was terrific, particularly Sangita at the front desk. She welcomed us each day with a smile and tried to help with whatever we needed. She even offered her own pillow as she knew we were not prepared for train travel and the pillows really were a necessity. What an example of gracious customer service. It is the little things that sometimes makes all the difference! We made it home safely and thanks to the staff at Country Inn in Minot for making our stay, and return trip home, comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled that you had such a pleasant experience and we hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable, had a great sleep. My only complaint is that our room had a funny smell to it. Everything looked clean though. Breakfast provided was delicious. Fitness centre was small but good. It included 2 treadmills and an elliptical and a multiple exercise weight machine. Across the street from the hotel was the hobby lobby and kohls. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We apologize about the smell in the room. Feel free to let us know next time and we will not have a problem switching you rooms. We like to make sure that all of our guests are as comfortable as possible! We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipawin, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about the city and the attractions. The pool was nice and clean the water was warm and not over crowded. The room was also very clean and smells fresh. Our room was on the back side of the hotel which faced the highway and could get a bit noisy in the early morning if you are a light sleeper not so good. The free breakfast was great, the food runs on a three day rotation so you don't have the same food every day.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you had a great stay! Sorry about the traffic noise in the morning... We will be sure to accomodate any room request possible as long as we have the availability. We hope that you are able to come and visit us again, and we will try to make sure that there are no negatives next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a King suite. The room was very spacious and featured a hide-a-bed sofa. 2 flat screen tv's, a desk, mini bar fridge with vault and 2 closets. The bathroom was average and we did have a running toilet but other than that we were very pleased. Room was on the pricier side, but being a suite-maybe that is normal-we do not often book them. The pool & fitness area was very nice however the hot tub was not overly hot as we like. The breakfast was very good with bacon, sausage gravy & biscuits, waffles, and the regular cereals, toast-ables and fruit. Fresh milk and coffees as well as a variety of juice. One of the larger breakfast spaces I have seen in some time. They also have a loaner library program. Our only complaint was that the hotel was rather difficult to find. This is a Minot issue as a good portion of their roads dog leg and pick up somewhere else entirely. Had we came from the west, it was visable from the # 2 Highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are sorry that you had difficulty finding us. Hopefully now that you have visited us once, it might be easier to find the second time around. We would be happy to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very clean, very comfortable, very well kept. The check in clerk was not very responsive but when I needed to go find a convenient store in the middle of the night...the night clerk was exceptional. It is right across the street from Kohl's so my wife enjoyed that...and only 3 minutes away from the main shopping mall. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Great location for shopping and get up in time for the included breakfast. It gets busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and our proximity to shopping. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Address: 1900 22nd Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Carlson, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.