We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 22nd Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in Minot
Lloydminster, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a nice place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Convenient location, close to amenities with added bonus it's like new. Excellent place for quick shopping weekend or just a stop over. Nice pool and fitness facility. The breakfast was a bonus for the moderate price of the room. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After leaving our previous destination a day early; I found this hotel at 7PM and checkin 2 hours later. The hotel is located on the west edge of town and was easy to find, It's close to the mall and the highway. Check-in was quick and easy with no problems. There was plenty of parking in a lighted parking lot as well. The pool area was "out of order" when we arrived, which for us wasn't a problem we weren't going swimming, but the front desk did not mention this when we checked in. The hotel is fairly new and the room looked brand new still; and clean. It had a nice big desk and dresser. The beds were comfortable and everyone had a good nights rest. They have continental breakfast as well with hot eggs, sausage, and french toast. They also had make your own waffles and the muffins, toast and cereal bar as well. It was a very good selection. No problems with this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was out in the Minot area overnight on business. I found the Country Inn and Suites to be very reasonably priced. It was a very enjoyable stay. I found the room to be much larger than I expected. Very clean and quiet. I slept great. It's not quite as convenient a location if you're interested in going to the mall and you definitely have to drive rather than walk to get to restaurants or any shopping. For a business trip it's a great choice with excellent access off of Hwy 2/52.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Was woken up by the fire alarms in the morning from the supposed continental breakfast prep. Got up to go eat the free continental breakfast to find bothering but cereal, toast, and make your own waffles. No eggs were restocked at all even hard boiled where you can usually scavage at 1 of those, and the lady in charge of the breakfast had no intentions of restocking. Poor service for an unexpected wake up call and the price I paid for a nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We sincerely apologize that you were awoken due the fire alarms unexpectedly going off the morning of your stay and that breakfast was not enjoyable to you. Our guests safely is our number one concern but we also want to make sure that they have enjoyed their stay as well. We want to thank you for your feedback and want you to know we have provided it the hotel management so the areas where we have failed can be inproved upon. We hope you will give Country Inns and Suites another chance in the future to prove that we can be better!

~Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed two nights over the weekend. Being a new hotel, it waswvery clean and homey. Check - in was easy and the front desk was very friendly. Our room was on the third floor had two double beds that were comfortable. Room and hotel were very quiet. Room was extremely clean with a fridge, microwave, desk and chair. TV was high def. Bathroom was spacious, althought we ran out of hot water the first morning. The other thing wrong in the bathroom was no hook to hang clothes or towels.

Breakfast was excellent with hot food. I had sausage and scrambled eggs and american potatoes with a full condiment bar. Five choices of cereal, oatmeal, waffles, juices, severval types of breads and four juice types. The only thing missing was bananas, Staff was friendly but not too obtrusive and plenty of seating.

We did not use the pool and there were only three machines in the small exercise room.

Checkout went well without incedent. We are glad we stayed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask., Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was very clean. Hotel has a warm homey feel. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was ok. We were late so most of the hot food was gone. It was very close to the mall and across from the where the new Kohls is going to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The lobby is very inviting. Friendly service at check in. Suite rooms are very nice, but the walls are thin. Breakfast was not very good. The fruit salad looked to be at least a week old.
This is a great location for shopping. Just down the street from the Dakota mall. Very easy to get to and get to other places around Minot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Address: 1900 22nd Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.