We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cleaned properly, or repairs done” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Select Inn of Minot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Select Inn of Minot to your Saves list
Select Inn of Minot
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 22nd Avenue NW, US 83 & 22nd Ave NW, Minot, ND 58703   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not cleaned properly, or repairs done”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had read both positive and negative reviews but decided to take a chance because of the affordable price. When I checked in I found the room had a dirty toilet seat, microwave and refrigerator, stained carpet, 2 broken light switches, and a broken drawer.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
3
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Chose this because it was a 'deal' on expedia. Mistake - people just outside the front door smoking, the lobby was occupied by people who obviously reside here, the clerk took his time ending a personal phone conversation before addressing me. Hall carpet stained and dirty. 'Non-smoking' room smelled of old covered up smoke, toilet seat stained and peeling, sink stopper broken, bottle caps & cellophane wrapper (cigarette pack sized) on unvacuumed floor, and the topper? Dirty sheets. Stained, wrinkled, torn sheets w/dirt, hair under the made covers. It was late when i arrived or i would have gone to a different hotel. 'Continental breakfast' was coffee or tea, toast or bagel. On the good side, it was easy to cancel the second night. Also, in the lobby alone there was 5 big screen tv's, and another one in the room. The morning clerk was friendly and agreeable. Bottom line, I did not rest easy here.

Room Tip: No suggestion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The last 4 reviews are the opposite of our experience .
We don't complain about anything . Never sent a meal back in my life .
Room was pathetically dirty
sheets hadn't been laundered
Housekeeping just made the bed from the last stay wrinkled and STAINED so we slept in our clothes .
people milling outside at 2 am
Drunk guy sitting outside said better lock your vehicle around here. Oh yeah

In the morn Betsy at the desk was on the ph with someone very special all the time we were checking out and contemplating the continental b fast.
When we went in to eat the area was full and there was nothing left
coffee and juice were mt
gravy and sausage were mt
no bread for toast except the two end crusts and not even one butter so we joined others by just leaving.
We really don't care about the bfast but we do feel it is our duty as travelers to share with others an absolutely horrible experience .
The rating on this motel at first glance shows 3.5 because of the last four showing awesome and wonderful. Do not be deceived The Select Inn in Minot isn't even a 1.0 but that is the lowest you can go.
In this day and age it is beyond peoples imagination how poorly a place can be operated.
Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid Avoid
Read all reviews that are listed for this facility
This is not a 100 dollar a night motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Over the past couple of years I have stayed in the Select Inn a handful of times. Awhile ago there was a manager, who worked for the old owner, that was just awful and completely rude to guest. However, Betsy, the new manager has completely turned the place around. This hotel is now very customer friendly. The rooms and hotel in general are cleaner then I have ever seen them. Also, they have added a lot of new additions in the lobby such as a pool table, comfortable sofas, a computer and printer for guest, and etc. They have also upgraded the guests rooms to have large flat screen TV's. They have the best deal in town and sometimes they will even negotiate rooms depending on their occupancy. I highly recommend staying here when passing through if you are looking for somewhere affordable, comfortable, and welcoming!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Select Inn is hardly the description as herein mentioned by some of the negative reviews that appear in a couple of the review sites. From what I had heard, the manager that was last terminated is seeking revenge for his termination over his failure to provide professional managerial services. The place has undergone lots of aesthetic changes that appeal to most all guests and the stay is worth the price of admission. Their new breakfast room just gets better, the rooms and even the exterior is looking better. As for the staff most have a smile on their face and a friendly greeting.

I would give this Hotel a chance anytime. It is directly across from the Minot Airport and easy to get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

In my recent stay at this hotel I was supprised at the changes that have been made! From the front lobby to the rooms. I have stayed at this hotel before and I will attest that the changes are very well recieved! I was also greeted by the owners of the hotel. They made me feel at home and were just as friendly as anyone could be. They asked me questions as to how they could make changes to make my stay better. So, if you are looking for a CLEAN AND AFFORDABLE stay, make this hotel your choice!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

beautiful hotel on the inside and out with friendly desk clerks and fully furnished hotel rooms. all at affordable prices. There is complimentary starbucks coffee in the morning. also, every room is equipped with 55 inch flat screen TV's and the lobby has Netflix and different game systems attached to the televisions.

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Select Inn of Minot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Inn of Minot

Address: 225 22nd Avenue NW, US 83 & 22nd Ave NW, Minot, ND 58703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Select Inn of Minot 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Select Inn of Minot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Inn Minot Hotel Minot
Select Hotel Minot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Select Inn of Minot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.