We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souris Valley Suites

Save Saved
You added Souris Valley Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Souris Valley Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 37th Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in Minot
Troy, MI
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Just Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We are on a three week car trip and this is the best place we have stayed so far. The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated. They have a nice kitchenette with a full size frige, two burner stove, and dishwasher. My dad loved the very spacious desk/table combination and I liked the comfy reading chair. The breakfast was better than most free breakfasts offered at hotels with eggs, sausage, hash browns and a variety of ceral and breads. We stayed only one night, but it would be a very comfortable place for an extended stay. My only complaint is that my 86 year old dad said he felt the shower was slippery and there was no bath mat and the hand rail was in an awkward place to be of much use.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying your stay with Souris Valley Suites. Some of our suites have different bathroom types upon request. Please feel free to ask about them on your next visit with Souris Valley Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virden, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place must be judged very high in both the facility and the personnel. If you're in Minot to do lots of shopping, Souris Valley Suites is very nicely located. The manager (David) is an exceptional person -- extremely pleasant, facilitating, professional, and endearing. He made certain we were well acquainted with the facility and what they had to offer (the "Managers Reception" is a great idea!). He was readily approachable and answered all our questions with a smile. The breakfast had many options which would please most people's palate. The lady in charge was courteous and made certain the various foods were fresh and containers filled. The breakfast/bar/lounge was quite large and kept very clean. The facility itself was exceptionally well-appointed in terms of décor and amenities (they even had a covered BBQ area out back). Our room was of course spotless and we were taken quite aback at the quality and variety of the utensils and appliances in our room -- cookware, a full-sized fridge, counter-top range, silverware, and glassware (including wine glasses and a corkscrew). They even provided the coffee for the coffee maker and some popcorn for the convection microwave! The bed was comfortable and was neither too firm nor "saggy". Despite the large number of guests staying there at this time, there was no discernible or disturbing noise coming from the rooms surrounding us or in the hallway, allowing for a restful night's sleep. The bathroom had a great showerhead with good water pressure and the counter space was more than ample. Attention to detail was everywhere, even to the point of ensuring that the screws in all the cover plates were aligned (slots were all vertical!!). There was ample free parking. Someone put a lot of thought into ensuring a guest's needs are fully met in a most pleasant atmosphere. Their daily rates are very reasonable and there were no "surprises" at checkout. We would have given this hotel a 5 star rating except that there was no pool or hot tub area and, perhaps more importantly, a limited number of rooms that could be discounted (eg. AARP, AAA, Seniors, etc). This "glitch" in no way reflects on the personnel in this facility but perhaps something "upper management" in their head office could look at and attend to. Would we stay there again or recommend this as a great place to stay? ABSOLUTELY!! In fact as soon as we know our next travel date, we'll be booking with them (hopefully early enough to get a discounted room but the price is reasonable as is!). Pretty much has a large "Wow" factor!!

Room Tip: Do not be overly concerned if your room is near the elevator as it operates very quietly. Turning o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Rick W. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with Souris Valley Suites. I will look into our AARP rates. For your next stay. Thank you for your review. We look forward seeing you during your next stay in Minot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stopped in for one night passing through.Great place to stay, excellent service, room was very nice with walk in shower.breakfast had a lot of choices.Bed was just like at home.Will be back next time in Minot

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Souris Valley Suites. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay in Minot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booked this for one night while we were passing through minot.

Online booking and Price: The online booking worked perfectly, and the price was reasonable (about $100 for a 2 queen room)

Check in: The gentleman that checked us in was very polite, professional, and helpful.

Accommodation: our room #215 was very clean, and well appointed, beds were comfortable and pillows selection was good. The hallways elevator, and lobby were very clean also. Only issue with the room was that our A/C and heating controls did not work.

Breakfast: The included breakfast was good, not as complete as some, but okay, it ended at 9:30 and we got there at 9:15 so there wasn't much left, and the tables were all dirty, but considering we were at the end of the breakfast hour I understood. We cleaned off a table ourselves and got a half decent breakfast in us to start off our day.

Issue: our room #215 directly looked over the BBQ area, and on this particular night the area had a couple of couple in there who were having a good time and some drinks, the issue is that it is directly outside our room, so at 12:15 am, I called the front desk to see if they could shut down the party as it was keeping me and my family awake, the front desk attendant informed me that she could not shut it down, but she could ask them to be quieter. I was a little disappointed at this response, but decided that I would see what happened, she did go out there and ask them to be quiet, however that only lasted about 15mins, and then the noise continued until about 1:00 am. usually I would have just turned up the a/c fan to drown out the noise, however our A/C heat and fan was not working, so that was not possible. Luckily the party finished at about 1am, so i did finally get some sleep until the lack of A/C made it unbearably hot in our room.

Customer service:upon check out, I attempted to talk to the front desk attendant about both the issue with the party outside my window, and also our climate controls not working, I told her that is was a rough night, and that it got up to 83 degrees in our room and that nobody in the family got much sleep, half way through our discussion, she picked up the phone and ignored me for about 5 mins, and then handed me my receipt (while still on the phone) and gave me a smile. Usually I would have got a little upset, however I was on the first day of a family vacation with my kids, and decided that I was not going to let this ruin our day. I also seen a note on the counter that encouraged guest to write a review on trip advisor (which I always do anyways)

Room Tip: don't get room 215!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will see that you have a great experience on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

wow this place is amazing. the hot buffet breakfast was amazing. plenty of choices, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the location was close to everything that one could ask for, the staff were friendly and helpful, free laundry facility. this I thought was awesome. you had to buy your own detergent at their little store inside the hotel. for 1.00 you can do 2 loads of laundry. the price was really reasonable for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Angie, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Souris Valley Suites. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Also a long term suites type hotel, we stayed for one night in a beautiful studio with kitchenette. Easy check-in, comfy bed, great shower, good flat screen TV in a well kept, clean place. Full free breakfast; can't say enough good things for $99 rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourisValley1, Director of Sales at Souris Valley Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
WeOwnaFatCat,
We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Souris Valley Suites. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Souris Valley Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souris Valley Suites

Address: 800 37th Ave SW, Minot, ND 58701
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Souris Valley Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and convenience are always important in a hotel, especially when you’re planning to stay a while. The all-suite extended stay Souris Valley Suites in Minot, North Dakota, was designed with the needs of extended stay guests in mind. The rustic lodge decor creates a warm and inviting environment and a residential atmosphere that is enhanced by the friendly North Dakota personalities of our helpful staff. Each of our 136 studio and one-bedroom guest suites are equipped to ensure a comfortable and rewarding extended stay. Each suite includes a full kitchen, quality bath amenities, and wired and wireless high speed internet at our hotel in Minot, ND. Start your day on the right foot with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Utilize our 24 hour business center to put the final touches on any project. Other onsite amenities at our Minot hotel include our Grillin Pavillion, Evening Managers Reception on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday enjoy a rotating menu of savory bites, Bakken Lounge (On Site Bar), Fitness Center 24 hours, Free Guest Laundry 24hours and Valley Market where you can purchase an array of items that you may need during your stay. Souris Valley Suites is located in the heart of the main business district and is within walking distance to Wal-Mart, Montana Mikes, Buffalo Wild Wings, Pizza Ranch and more. The hotel is conveniently located 6 miles south of the Minot International Airport. It is also within minutes of other things to do including the Roosevelt Park Zoo, Dakota Square Mall, the North Dakota State Fair Grounds, Minot State University, and the Minot Air Force Base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Souris Valley Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souris Valley Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.