We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Inn

Save Saved
You added Dakota Inn to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dakota Inn
2401 West Highway 2 and 52 Bypass, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Minot
Thorold, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found the staff very polite and helpful.
We were tired and we appreciated having somewhere just off the highway.
The nearby restaurant was good and very convenient. We enjoyed the waffles at the free breakfast. All this for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sask., Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was bad. I agree with the person who said I would have rather slept in the car. We arrived late and decided to go to Minot last minute. Never imagined we wouldn't find a room. We should have clued in when this one had a room available. If you want to run a hotel then you need to keep it up to liveable standards. This was 2 years ago but by the looks of the review it hasn't changed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minot
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

1. for oilriggers or truckers
2. not for extended stay people
3. they fix the windows so they will not be drafty
4. bar the help is friendly no specials.. bar food not that great.
5. laundry the machines don't dry all the way
6. cleaning of rooms are need help.. tub are not being cleaned not toilet, carpet not vacuum.
what radtech and deb v written have lots to say also.

Room Tip: I have no tip but got to understand minot is a place for greed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you need a basic motel with no frills this is it. Limited continental breakfast options, we ended up going out to eat. Average customer service. Old rooms need upgrading, still have metal keys. Just a place to sleep not spend extended time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I wish I had read more reviews before booking at Dakota Inn. The price was the cheapest in town last minute on President's Day weekend - 80$/night. The place looks like a prison cell - white cinderblock walls, thin carpet over hardfloor (cut away under the beds so bare subfloor completely shows), claustrophobic bathroom with sink beside the bed.

Pros - bed surprisingly comfortable for how you can see and hear the springs. Towels were actually soft to touch, not starchy like usual hotel towels.

Cons - I booked a room with a single queen/king sized bed. When we arrived it was a room with 2 doubles - too small for my husband and I to comfortably share one bed. I asked about moving to a room with a single queen, but was told that the room I was in had 2 queens. Umm, no. There was a significant language barrier but I finally assumed he was trying to tell me there were no other rooms available, so we made do.

The worst thing about this hotel was the smell. Now entirely non-smoking, we must have gotten what was until a month ago a smoking room. The room reeked of air freshener, which only thinly veiled the odor of ash. The pillows absolutely REEKED of cigarette smoke, and as a non-smoker it was awful. There were holes melted in the polyester blankets from people smoking in the beds. Even my husband, who is a smoker, found it disgusting.

Continental breakfast was a joke. White bread, english muffins, mini cake donuts, sugary cereals. the closest thing to a fruit or healthy food was orange juice and whatever the milk was.

Next time we spend the extra money and get a hotel room we don't feel we need to disinfect ourselves after staying at!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minot
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The place is older but it is cleanand has a bar has friendly but expensive and swimming area is cozy. The only thing I see is their continual breakfast is somewhat desire! The beds are newer than grand internal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hard to know where to start. The carpet had dirt and dust piled up around the edges, and generally grubby and twenty years old. Windows ancient and my room faced the highway. Dirty room Bed was odd, and sheets very worn and thin. I considered changing hotels but was to tired and worn out from the day to go through the effort. The outside of the hotel has been recently upgraded, but certainly not the inside. Normally I am not a picky traveller, but this place was way, way under cared for.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dakota Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Inn

Address: 2401 West Highway 2 and 52 Bypass, Minot, ND 58701
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dakota Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.