We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLDER MOTEL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dakota Inn

Save Saved
You added Dakota Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dakota Inn
2401 West Highway 2 and 52 Bypass, Minot, ND 58701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Minot
minot
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OLDER MOTEL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

1. for oilriggers or truckers
2. not for extended stay people
3. they fix the windows so they will not be drafty
4. bar the help is friendly no specials.. bar food not that great.
5. laundry the machines don't dry all the way
6. cleaning of rooms are need help.. tub are not being cleaned not toilet, carpet not vacuum.
what radtech and deb v written have lots to say also.

Room Tip: I have no tip but got to understand minot is a place for greed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you need a basic motel with no frills this is it. Limited continental breakfast options, we ended up going out to eat. Average customer service. Old rooms need upgrading, still have metal keys. Just a place to sleep not spend extended time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I wish I had read more reviews before booking at Dakota Inn. The price was the cheapest in town last minute on President's Day weekend - 80$/night. The place looks like a prison cell - white cinderblock walls, thin carpet over hardfloor (cut away under the beds so bare subfloor completely shows), claustrophobic bathroom with sink beside the bed.

Pros - bed surprisingly comfortable for how you can see and hear the springs. Towels were actually soft to touch, not starchy like usual hotel towels.

Cons - I booked a room with a single queen/king sized bed. When we arrived it was a room with 2 doubles - too small for my husband and I to comfortably share one bed. I asked about moving to a room with a single queen, but was told that the room I was in had 2 queens. Umm, no. There was a significant language barrier but I finally assumed he was trying to tell me there were no other rooms available, so we made do.

The worst thing about this hotel was the smell. Now entirely non-smoking, we must have gotten what was until a month ago a smoking room. The room reeked of air freshener, which only thinly veiled the odor of ash. The pillows absolutely REEKED of cigarette smoke, and as a non-smoker it was awful. There were holes melted in the polyester blankets from people smoking in the beds. Even my husband, who is a smoker, found it disgusting.

Continental breakfast was a joke. White bread, english muffins, mini cake donuts, sugary cereals. the closest thing to a fruit or healthy food was orange juice and whatever the milk was.

Next time we spend the extra money and get a hotel room we don't feel we need to disinfect ourselves after staying at!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minot
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The place is older but it is cleanand has a bar has friendly but expensive and swimming area is cozy. The only thing I see is their continual breakfast is somewhat desire! The beds are newer than grand internal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hard to know where to start. The carpet had dirt and dust piled up around the edges, and generally grubby and twenty years old. Windows ancient and my room faced the highway. Dirty room Bed was odd, and sheets very worn and thin. I considered changing hotels but was to tired and worn out from the day to go through the effort. The outside of the hotel has been recently upgraded, but certainly not the inside. Normally I am not a picky traveller, but this place was way, way under cared for.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Dakota Inn because it was the only place in town that wasnt booked up. We were charged $130 for one double bed and given a "discount" because we were referred by choice hotels because they had no vacancys. As soon as you walked in the lobby you were hit in the face with the smell of smoke. The rooms were outdated by about 30 years the comforter looked stained and dingy. The towels were stained and felt like you were drying yourself with bark from a tree! And the brick wall in the room felt as if you were sleeping in a prison cell. My boyfriend also woke up around 3 AM to see a tall dark shadow of a man walk through our room and into the wall. In the morning when we asked the front desk if anybody had reported seeing things and they told us a man who had stayed at the hotel a lot years ago, was murdered and said to be seen around the hotel at night. If you want to pay an arm and a leg to stay in a prison like setting, this is your spot!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for 2 nights. We had a change in plans and was not able to go to the Fair. I called to cancel the rooms and some guy said "yeah I will cancel". I received a message asking if we were coming cause they can rent out the rooms. I called the next day and they said they have no record of me cancelling. POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dakota Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Inn

Address: 2401 West Highway 2 and 52 Bypass, Minot, ND 58701
Location: United States > North Dakota > Minot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Minot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dakota Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakota Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.