We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still in recovery mode from the flood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Park Zoo

Roosevelt Park Zoo
1219 Burdick Expy E, Minot, ND 58701
(701) 857-4166
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Minot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Steinbach, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Still in recovery mode from the flood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This zoo is very small and is still recovering from the flood a couple of years back. We had come the year before and it was still entirely closed. The zoo is pretty small and a large portion of the pens were still not re-opened so it was a bit disappointing as there was not a whole lot to see. There were a couple of pens of monkeys, a few lions, leopards and the like and giraffe, zebra, camels & warthogs. The remainder was the typical farms animals, some small deer, bison and reindeer. That is truly the extent of it. It is understandable that they are recovering but still, even with the pens re-opened this is still a very SMALL zoo.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    9
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkton, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good zoo for price, will take time to get everything fixed back up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice to see this zoo, back in action. It definetly took a huge toll of damage from the river. It was also nice to see so many volunteers working on getting the grounds back up to full par. Good work. I would recommend this to any family looking to take your family around. Good variety of animals and reasonably priced

I would recommend planning on staying 3hrs to take everything in and spend the $5.00 to feed the giraffe

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably would have been better before the flood..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The empty enclosures were disappointing to see, but understandable after the damage endured during/after the flood in '11. Most of the animals were far back in their enclosures and so we didnt get to see a lot of them. We were there during the giraffe show though, and they came right up close! It was very neat. The childrens area was also disappointing, as I was expecting more of a "petting zoo" type. I believe we got the most bang for our buck though, the monkeys and lemurs were very entertaining. We went back for more after we toured the whole zoo :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Park looks great after the Flood. Great Job Minot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great progress has been made in restoring one of the Great Small Zoos in the Nation. I am sure the Zoo will make a full recovery and be better than ever in the near future.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Rebuilding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This zoo was devastated by the flood a couple of years ago. It is an inexpensive family experience. The Gibbons were hilarious the day we went. They were vocalizing and performing an intricate dance. We laughed so hard, we cried. There is a train that will take you around the zoo. Parking is free and close by. Refreshments are reasonably priced and there are plenty of benches and tables. Come on out and help this zoo rebuild!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roosevelt Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Park Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.