We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family ski holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of True Alpine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savoie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
True Alpine
Save
You added True Alpine to your Saves list
D113 marteray | Espace Diamant, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 650 Specialty Lodging in Savoie
market harborough
1 review
“Perfect family ski holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Mark and Michelle helped make our 1st family ski holiday a huge success. We have skied the area before so knew the skiing was great but were nervous about our first time taking children. We didn't need to worry. Mark, Michelle and Emma were fantastic. Mark was a 'big kid' with infectious enthusiasm who insisted the children sample his toboggan luge within 10 minutes of arriving. He helped teach the children to ski with unfailing patience but also guided the adults around the area when we wanted. Michelle was lovely. She looked after us so well. Her food was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The chalet is beautiful. Couldn't recommend it enough. We've already booked for next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truealpine, Owner at True Alpine, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We work very hard to make every guests stay with us enjoyable and memorable and are so pleased that you and your children enjoyed your stay at True Alpine. We look forward to skiing with you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Over the last 15 years we have spent many weeks in Megeve and often looked over the valley to the nearby resorts and wondered… Five years ago we took the plunge and are now sold on the area. This is due in no small part to True Alpine with their fantastic chalet and hosts Mark and Michelle. Michelle’s food is superb and Marks guiding a revelation. Megeve is not busy outside the holiday period but seems as busy as the 3-valleys when compared to the Espace Diamant. We have skied in many resorts in Europe and Canada but True Alpine is the one place we have visited each year for the last 5 years as it is simply too good to miss.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, just depends if you want a twin or a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truealpine, Owner at True Alpine, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review of your stay at True Alpine on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the skiing and in particular skiing the Espace Diamant ski area. We look forward to skiing again with you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Mark and Michelle exceeded our expectations for a fabulous ski-week in March. Absolutely as stated 'on the label' ! Great accommodation, exquisitely presented food, great accommodation and superb ski guidance for all abilities. Mark and Michelle enjoy a good rapport with their community, which so benefits visitors. I can see why so many make it an annual visit. Thanks again! Barrie and Rachel Smallcalder (Dad and daughter)

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truealpine, Owner at True Alpine, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for having taken your time to place this review and it is a great pleasure hearing that your stay turned out to be a rewarding one which exceeded your expectations. We are always thriving to try and exceed each and every guest’s expectations and are certainly pleased to hear that we succeeded with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I can only agree with the review before from kitlewis. This is a great place to stay for a skiing holiday. This was our second visit and we had a brilliant time yet again and can't wait to go again next year.
I would recommend it to anyone apart from those who want a very lively apres ski nightlife as it is situated in a small village - but perfect for us.
I guess my two favourite things about it would be the fantastic food that Michelle cooks and the great ski-hosting by Mark. We certainly covered alot of miles skiing - many more than if we had been doing it on our own and pondering over a piste map trying to work out where to go. Instead we just followed Mark!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truealpine, Owner at True Alpine, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review of your stay at True Alpine on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the skiing with the ski host and the food. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Outstanding chalet, brilliant food, great skiing and fantastic hosts. Highly recommended.

I’ve now been here three times (Feb 2009, Feb 2010 and Feb 2012) and the service the owners and hosts – Mark and Michelle – give their guests is incredible.

A bit more detail:
- The accommodation: very nicely finished five double/twin bedroom chalet. All rooms are en suite and very comfortable. There is also a warmed boot room to store equipment and get ready for the day. The living area is comfortable and has a log fire. Lots of the wooden features (including the massive 12-seater dining table) have been lovingly made/restored by Mark.

- Food: good breakfast and afternoon home baked cakes (daily). Exceptional three course evening meal with wine (every day except Thursday). These tend to be a mix of local dishes exquisitely prepared by Michelle. Guests usually head to the local village restaurant on Thursdays (2min walk).

- Skiing: l’Espace Diamant is a huge ski area. The resort has less tourism and more local use than many other resorts of its size. It also caters for all abilities - there are difficult blacks right down to simple greens, snow parks and more. Every time I’ve been the snow has been great.

- Ski companion service: When we first visited we were a mixed ability group (some complete beginners, some more advanced). Having Mark, a qualified ski instructor, skiing with you was invaluable. He drives you to/from the slopes, guides you to the best pistes for particular conditions, give little tips to help your technique, etc.

In conclusion, it’s great to visit somewhere that is owned and run by a couple so passionate about their work. They’ve lovingly restored the chalet and clearly really enjoy their life living in the mountains.

If you love skiing and great food as much as Mark and Michelle then I’d thoroughly recommend True Alpine to you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truealpine, Owner at True Alpine, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so humbled by your comments regarding True Alpine. Thank you for taking the time to comment on the ski hosting service, the chalet and the food. We look forward to skiing with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Truly outstanding, fully catered accomodation offered by delightful hosts. Ski touring with a very experienced guide thrown in. 15 minutes to the slopes. Our party comprised a baby, child beginners, adult beginners, seasoned veterans and a non skier - all had an unforgettable holiday, for all the right reasons. Looking forward to my next week at True Alpine in March 2012!

Room Tip: Attic rooms - restricted head height but charming. Only other criterion is whether U want a bath or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truealpine, Owner at True Alpine, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review of your stay at True Alpine on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to True Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about True Alpine

Address: D113 marteray | Espace Diamant, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 650 Specialty Lodging in Savoie
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our True Alpine Ski Chalet is situated in the idyllic unspoiled mountain village of St Nicolas la Chapelle in the Espace Diamant ski area. The beauty of our location is that each day we can start skiing from a different ski resort. The chalet can accommodate 10 people. There are 5 bedrooms all of which have modern en-suite facilities. The large open plan lounge and dining area have lovely views over the valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
True Alpine France/Savoie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Alpine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.