We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we were lead to believe by Expedia” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Romance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Romance Hotel to your Saves list
Romance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saints Constantine & Helena Resort, Saints Constantine and Helena 9006, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not what we were lead to believe by Expedia”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012, and it was not what we expected at all. We had booked a deluxe room with queen size bed plus an additional person with an extra bed. When we arrived the room had two singles and a small camp bed. When we questioned this with reception they were extremely unhelpful and said any issues we should contact Expedia directly as we had booked with them. We had a print out showing what we had booked but apart from the complete lack of interest and stand off attitude, they did say that Expedia had booked a standard double. So what can you do when you are stuck in between them?! We had a very cramped week and truly felt for the amount we had payed (the additional bed whilst for a child was charged at adult rates and still just a camp bed) that we should have had better as we had thought we booked. We had a lovely holiday I just wished we had not gone to this hotel. We could have paid far less and got far better.

The hotel in itself was clean and the pool area is nice which is why I have given it an overall rating of 2. The cleaner was the most friendly and hard working member of staff that we saw. The hotel is also well located for the beach and other activities in the area. The spa facility is not free to hotel guests.

TOP TIP - do not book half board, we booked half board and that was a mistake of mine - the food was not good in the hotel, and food is close by and extremely inexpensive outside the hotel. So although we had half board we ate at the local places.

I have never written a negative review before but thought on this occasion I should. I would definitely go back to Bulgaria just not this hotel. The manager is particularly unhelpful. Oh and one more thing the hotel literature said you got tea/coffee making facilities in each room, but this is not the case. When we asked at the desk they just said that must be a mistake and yet it’s even in the literature in the room!!! I had to laugh in the end they were so useless. To be honest not sure if it is Expedia’s fault or the hotel. Either way I won’t be booking with either again

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
15
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in November during a business trip. Very quiet, nice staff, excellent indoors pool, excellent price.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a deluxe room for two at the top floor, and it was very spacious and clean, with a big balcony and wonderful view. Unfortunately, as in most Bulgarian hotels, the carpet was peppered by burns and spots. Also the railing for the curtains in the room and the bathroom was rusty in places. The rooms do not have safety boxes, one has to rent a box at the reception area. But none of this could offset the excellent appearance of the room, of the hotel lobby, and of the hotel pool area. The pool was very nice --- shape, size, water, and service alike, much better to use in a hot day than to go to the beach (5-10 minutes walking). The beach is crowded, the sea water is dirty, and almost always stormy. Among the receptionists some were very nice and helpful, some not so. Our stay was pleasant overall. The hotel restaurant is nice, and the breakfast menu is reasonably large and good. The only negative experience was the transportation from the hotel to the airport: they offered "their own" transportation, paid to the hotel, but it turned out they simply called a taxi cab for us, and it was very small, smelly, and hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A large party of us stayed here for a wedding recently. My wife and I spent 5 nights here and found the rooms clean & spacious - and the maid who did our rooms each day was lovely (even made towel-sculptures for others in our party!).
Breakfast was included & pretty good (although the staff were perhaps too efficient at clearing it all away at 10am!).

Pool outside was great, if a little chilly, and the spa downstairs did a good massage & facial so I'm told.
The location of the hotel was excellent - only a short walk to the beach.

Overall was a good stay, and the staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a pool-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My family ,my friends and I stayed at Hotel Romance for 3 days to celebrate Eastеr.We were pleasantly surprised from the good facilities in the hotel.The swimming pool is with mineral water,the spa center is wonderful with a very good staff working there. The rooms are enough spacious ,very clean and quite.The furniture is selected with great taste.We had food for 3 times a day and it was prepared very delicious. I would like to visit this hotel again and will recommended to my friends.And the North coast of Black sea is very beautiful.You should see it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in august and had a great time. Loved the pool area and location is great too -- few minutes walking distance to the beach and other places

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

If you're travelling on your own and have no previous Bulgaria experience, finding the place can be a hard one. Even though the "Russian Hilton" type of architecture strikes you initially as a potentially risky experience, it proves being not quite like that. The rooms are big and solidly furnished, with a mixture of old and new, gold and crystal, digital and mahogany, finally heart touching.
Everything is impeccably clean and if you leave your pyjamas on the bed, you're in for a treat! You'll find them arranged in the most amazing shapes: birds, butterflies, etc.
A good experience overall. Oh, one more thing: the music on the hotel network is exquisitely chosen, at least for our taste.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have a great view, higher the better. The opposite side overlooks an unfinished build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Hotel

Address: Saints Constantine & Helena Resort, Saints Constantine and Helena 9006, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Saints Constantine and Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Romance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Romance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Hotel Bulgaria/Varna Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.