We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Helios Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Helios Park Hotel to your Saves list
Helios Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 105 Hotels in Golden Sands
bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hotel from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

When first arrived went to our room and first thing that hit you was the smell, it smelt of drains and also had a ant nest in the door frame. Cleanliness in room was terrible, and towels were very shabby and frayed . The food in the restaurant was always cold, mouldy bread, no cups always in dishwasher, tea machine always breaking down.Staff very unhelpful couldn't understand you. The drinks bar was always left unattended,so much for all inclusive.In the indoor pool area the tiles were very slippery, as i found out when i slipped on my bum.Advise anyone too never go to this hotel says it'sa 3star but is really a dump like a prison cell!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    1
    5
    10
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

On arrival hotel looks fine, staff unhelpful throughout. Room very basic musty smelling, the drains smelled terrible from within the bathroom, told our rep who said all the rooms were the same. Bed and breakfast board, breakfast not very good at hardly anything for the English, so after day two we skipped it. Smell from the drains made you heave everytime you went in the bathroom. Pool area fine no complaints but then it caters for the spa hotel adjoining. We had a four year old the pull out bed wasn't suitable so she slept with us in the double bed. Very noisy at night people playing loud music banging doors. Definately would rate this as a one star and wouldn't recommend it at all, I believe Helios Spa hotel is very nice don't be caught out like I was.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

After reading all this reviews i was afraid that my little holiday will be spoiled. Indeed the hotel is rather old but is clean, the satff are smiling, has large rooms, large balcony, and it's surended by green woods. has a verry large inside pool.
The food is not great but fair enough for the price we paid.
If you ask for a sea view room you will have a picture of all the resort. If not you will see the parking, little garden and the woods.
The hotel could be clasified as 4 stars and not 5 as they pretend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, N. Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a week in june 2008, their are two parts to this hotel the spa and resort, the spa is very nice the resort is not, our room was at the back of the hotel which had a view of trees, we also had a hornets nest close by, the balcony is not private and from a safety perspective you could jump into the room next doors very easily. The staff are very unfriendly if you have any problems they do not want to know, we went all inclusive and wish we hadnt becoz your drinks are very limited to one type of beer and cheap spirits, the food was also terriable and the selection wasnt great we chose only to eat in the resteraunt twice if you can call it that, its more like a school canteen, there was even a tree groing through the window into it. We booked our holiday through Balkan holidays, if you ever had a prob which alot of people had the holiday rep was worse than useless and nothing was ever fixed. On the plus side the hotel isnt two far from the beach, the pool is quite nice and we did meet some very nice people there.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Everything else, they should have paid me to stay there
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

My two teenage sons and I stayed here 5 nights as the final culmination of a 2 1/2 week family cultural heritage tour. It was to have been our resort portion of the trip. We were pretty dissapointed.

First of all, DO NOT CONFUSE THIS HOTEL WITH THE HELIOS SPA HOTEL. Although they share the same phone number, swimming pools, and entertainment....they are not the same. Our taxi driver let us out at the Helios SPA Hotel desk. After not finding our reservations, they finnally figured out that we were supposed to be at the Helios PARK Hotel. With upturned noses, they moved us off to the side and called for a desk clerk from the other part of the hotel complex to come lead us through the maze to the Helios Park Hotel desk

This led to many confusing situations. One Bulgarian friend tried to call us several times - asking for our room number and getting the room of the same number in the SPA hotel with different people. She never could reach us... and the staff never tried to connect her to us. Other friends could not find the PARK hotel lobby (you have to wind out and below the SPA lobby) and we had to hike up through the maze to meet them outside the SPA lobby.

We had booked this room far in advance through a Bulgarian friend, who booked it through a Bulgarian travel agency. We wired money from home (and incurred a rather large fee for doing so). This 3 star hotel was FAR far more expensive than any of the other 3 star hotels we had stayed at in Bulgaria. We provided the same honest details that we had for all of the other hotels. Halfway through our stay our Bulgarian friend managed to contact us to say that the hotel had called him saying we did not pay enough... that the boys were supposed to be charged adult rates, so had undercharged us. So we ended up paying even more.

Our room WAS spacious - but it was moldy, and had some peeling paint (we had NOT complained about this - but we came back to our room in the middle of the first day to find an unannounced workman scraping paint onto our toilet kits, and repainting parts of the bathroom - with the paint smell disturbing the rest of our stay).

It was a triple room - double bed was OK for two of us... but the third bed was a VERY narrow pull out bed that a small child would fall out of, and was too small for a teenager.

The room had a cement deck with one broken plastic chair - with outside access from a crowded public stairway used by lots of people (the kids got in this way once when they had forgotten their key.... which did not do wonders for my sense of safety).

The TV was black and white. There was air-conditioning, and it worked OK. Two of the 3 electrical outlets in the room were broken. The furniture was shabby and kind of wobbly.

Our room was next to some very noisy people, who blarred rap music in the wee hours of the morning. They did turn it down when we asked. Come to find out that they were staff that worked at the hotel.

The three pools were great. Too crowded to find a deck chair after 9am, and closed too early at 6pm... but they were great to cool off in when we could get there in time, and had two water slides that were open at least part of the time.

The evening entertainment was interesting... like going to camp. One night kids from the hotel daycare sang. One night was an Elvis look-alike performance. One night was a lip-synked musical put on by the staff. One nite was kareokee. And there was a movie, in English, with Bulgarian subtitles.

We ended up not eating much in the hotel. Most of the other guests were from Germany, a few from England, on all-inclusive package deals. Our deal was only "bed and breakfast". When we tried to eat dinner in one of the hotel restaurants everyone got rather confused. Finally they told us we had to go down and pay at the hotel desk first. The included breakfast was OK, when we could get there during the times it was served. But compared to the other hotels we had been staying at in Bulgaria... it was nothing special - with lots of stale breads. Trying to get a bite at the pool bar was also frustrating, they did not want to take our money since that too was mostly for the all-inclusive guests.... so we had to wait a LOOOOONNNNNGGGG time while they tried to figure out how to handle it. We tipped well, which I thought would encourage them to treat us a little better....but I guess that was not a good incentive.

There was one young bellboy who was friendly, showed one of my sons around, and was helpful. One female desk clerk was pretty helpful. The rest spoke English, but for some reason communication was still very difficult. It was hard to get information and help, hard to get a taxi, and generally wierd.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — cost, and unexpected costs. poor service. noise. dirty room.
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

at the first glance it seemes to be a lovely palce but you may face with some problem during your accomadation in that hotel. the room service is not somehow acceptable. I found my room without any towel and they balme that there were some at your room and they wanted tocharg me for what i didnt do (missing towel and galsses!!!!!)
the price also are somehow affordable but you can find cheaper palce with better services.
I recomend you to take the rooms in helios spa& resort (4*) instead of helios park(3*) and in upper floors because you may find some disturbances in lower floors from street.
the pools were good, the restaurant was acceptable.
the location was very good (near to the beach and city center)

  • Liked — its location in town
  • Disliked — services
  • Tips/Secrets — the last choise
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

on first appearance excellent then useless unhelpful reception,people running up and down corridors banging on doors all night, music blearing all night,when we complained was told that this was acceptable and that they could do nothing about it.9 rooms complained.i would never go to this hotel again how it gets 3 -4 star rating must be on appearance alone ,lifts hardly ever work and only go to sixth floor although there are 8 floors...,nice pool though and breakfasts o.k.as long as you like german sausages/frankfurters, self service,catering tins of baked beans were put in large bowl (not heated) and although covered were still there 3 days later,didnt see anyone have any!really got impression that brits were not welcome at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helios Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Park Hotel

Address: Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Helios Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Helios Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Helios Park
Helios Park Hotel Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helios Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.