We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero to your Saves list
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bolero Street 1 | Varna, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Golden Sands
Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a family of two children, age 12-14, and two adults, age 49. We spent one week at the Bolero in July -13. Golden Sands is a crowded and noisy place, but the Bolero stands out as an oasis with the buildings in an almost closed circle around the garden and pool area. It’s a completely different world than outside. Inside everything is more quiet, very clean and pleasant, and the whole staff is friendly and professional. The receptionists were extremely helpful and spoke English, French and German. Rooms were nice and kept spotless, very good air condition. Pools also nice, children’s at the ground level and a more adult one at the upper level. Plenty of sun beds and usually no problem to find one. Beach towels are included and you can change them every day if you want. The hotel also has its own area at the beach. It’s about a 150 m walk from the main entrance and has parasols and sun beds plus a small bar that is included in the package. The restaurants were great, good variation and high quality. Don’t forget to try the Bulgarian which is small and hidden behind the big grill restaurant, and try the chicken kebab. Delicious! The main restaurant has a strict dress code, men need long trousers, otherwise casual. The three others are not so strict. Everything is all inclusive, with a few exceptions: You have to pay 49 Leva for the safe deposit box, and 10 Leva for 12h of WiFi in the rooms. The last thing is parking which is a big problem in the whole Golden Sands area, and therefore expensive. It’s 20 Leva pr day at the hotel. Lastly there is the Spa department where you can get several kinds of treatments at extra cost. There is free WiFi in the Lobby; it was reasonably fast and reliable. The WiFi network in the rooms was less reliable and fell out from time to time. Except from this I would say that all in all the hotel standard was at the level of good Western Europe congress hotels.
Only once was I reminded of the old times Eastern Europe mentality: When you order soft drinks like Coke in the pool bar you get it in small glasses. When you order beer you get a big glass. I like diet coke, and the bar was a distance from where we had our base, so I asked to get coke in a big glass. This was not possible, I could get as many small glasses as I wanted, but not coke in a big one. The only explanation was that this is the rule. It was almost charming…
On our day of departure we had a very late flight and the bus left the hotel at 21.30. Even though check out time was 12.00 we were told that we could keep our all-inclusive rights the whole day, and we could use the showers and lockers in the spa department. Very convenient.
A few tips: Don’t use the money exchange service in the hotel, the rate is OK, but they have an 8% service charge. There is a bank machine down at the beach, just to the left when you get down from the hotel. There is also an exchange service at the airport, don’t use that, the rate is terrible!
Rent a car for a couple of days and have a look around. We booked one from Avis from home with delivery at the hotel. The point is that the hotel has its own rental service with Technocar wich is much cheaper (68 Leva pr day for a class B, Hyundai Getz), and then you get free parking as well. The only drawback is that you may want a GPS and I don’t know if Technocar can provide that. Don’t miss the Aladzha Monastery which is built in caves, just 4-5 km from the hotel.
In conclusion: One of the best holiday resorts I have seen, we loved it and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrifidBolero, Guest Relations Manager at Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such great things about our hotel and service. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and had comfortable stay with us and that You recommend us. We all hope to see You here again.

Best regards

Grifid Bolero Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    80
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
131
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dej, Cluj, Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 day stay and I can say that it was one of the best hotels I have stayed during the years.
Personnel was very helpful and always at hand with whatever information needed. One extra remark for the animation team went to great lengths to keep people interested.
The hotel was very clean and well maintained, rooms spacious (at least for us it looked that way: 2 persons plus our daughter), kept spotless by the chamber maid which also did all possible to keep our young daughter happy.
One small negative remark concerning the internet service, which was free I the lobby but against payment in room and not very reliable. I hope this small issue will be fixed until our next visit, as we intend to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were a family of 4 staying for two weeks in June.

We were upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival (thanks Rossi). Our room was quite spacious, comfortable and met our needs entirely. The Bolero is in an excellent location in the more quiet part of town and very close to the beach. The hotel is very well suited for children with the only downside beeing that it has a lot of steps that we had to carry the stroller up and down.

Bolero has 4 restaurants (Chinese, Buffet, Bulgarian and Grill). They were all good and the chinese a la carte was my definite favorite. Book at least 1-2 days in advance.

The animation team was fantastic, my 3 year old daughter loved to be a part of the minidisco everynight and also playing at the kidsklub with her favorite animator Gabi. Those guys worked pretty hard all day and I hope people who are coming to this hotel appreciate their efforts.

The Spa and indoor pool area was very nice, the gym was a bit dated but not to bad either. The hotel even had its own photographer who took wonderful pictures of our kids.

Cleanliness was at its best at this hotel, turndown service was efficient. However the maid pulled out a bag full of euro-coins at one time and insisted in me exchanging levas with her which I found a bit odd for a facility of this type.

As feedback to the hotel, we missed some lighting on the porch and some food options for people with different kinds of allergies. Wifi had poor reception in our room.

Most of the guests were in their 60s and 70s, and came from almost any country in Europe with the dominance of germans, french and russians.

To sum it up, these are the pros that might help you choose this hotel:

- Lovely pool area
- Good food in the restaurants, tasty kebabs and pancakes from the snack bar
- Excellent service, from anyone in the reception to the animation team, barstaff etc.
- Excellent value for money
- Good spa with a lot of treatment choices as well as a good hairdresser salon.
- Good location

On a rainy or cloudy day book a taxi with the hotel and head for the two big malls in Varna. Some really good shops with affordable prices there.

We will problably go back to Bulgaria and Bolero some day!

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower level, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are an active, a lot seen 27-37 international (USA/Finland) couple that normally doesn't like all inclusive too much. Reading from the reviews and travel agents description we were actually expecting a little less than we got. Bolero is a superbly clean, surprisingly well located hotel which really tries to give it's guests a good stay. Mostly it succeeds much better than most all inclusive resorts/hotels.

We asked for a quiet room. We got one. Like everything in Golden Sands, pool bar and the "nightclub" can be quite loud at times and I can imagine some rooms might not be so. Room itself was large, somewhat old fashioned and not too well equiped. Bathroom was nice. Room had a small fridge that has 2 beers, a water and few soft drinks and it's refilled every day. Internet (wifi) can be bought for extra charge. Same for safety box.

Breakfast was good and there was enough choice for everyone. Lunch is essentially same every day, with little variation, and it's "buffet average". You can also eat sandwiches and hot dogs at the snack bar. Dinner was mostly good. Service restaurants, where you have to reserve a table, offer essentially the same buffet choices as main restaurant (excluding the Asian), but it seems almost like a la carte.

Animations team is very active and they arrange a lot of different activities during daytime (waterpolo, ping pong, archery, etc.). There weren't by any means too many children for our liking. Nighttime shows are cheap, but mostly entertaining. Disco is simply too loud, in fact over the dangerous dB levels, and smells quite rotten.

You have decent selection of drinks. They don't have lime (the fruit) or mint (for mohitos) and they operate mostly on their own coctail-menu. Every day they have some special drink or thing going, so there is something new to try.

Beach bar is bad. They don't have any benches/tables, so it's only for people actually in the beach, not for those who like to sit at the and look at the view. But the fact they have one, well, when at the beach it was nice.

Hotel was for us almost superbly located, only 5-7 minute walk from the "party town" but still at the more quieter and should I say nicer part of the resort. Service especially at the reception desk was excellent.

We can recommend Bolero for couples if your not expecting to not spend any money. Rent a car, don't eat all the time at the hotel and go out. It's great for that. I can also imagine it would be really great for families with children between 0-14. Teenagers would get bored.

Oh, btw, rent a car at the hotel. It costs a little more, but you actually get it cheaper than anywhere else as you don't have to pay the parking fees.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, some rooms might be loud. They also have 6 suites that seem mostly unlisted. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hello! We were four swedish adults (23,25, 43 and 44 years old) staying att Bolero for one week, 10th to 17th of June 2013.

We arrived late at night, by 23.00, but the staff in the reception was very helpful and also spoke great english. They had arranged a small dinnerbuffet just for us. We had two rooms, two persons in each. The rooms were very large and clean and there is a safety box that you can use for 49 levas/week. There is also a small fridge where you get one bottle of water, two soft drinks and two beers. This is free, and they fill it up every day. However, the air condition in one of our rooms wasn´t working when we first arrived so we told the staff in the reception before going to bed and the mender came to fix it first thing in the morning, really good service!

Over all, we have no complaints at all about the room. The balconies are nice, and the sound from the evening shows wasn't very disturbing at all. It was actually only one night that we heard the sound from the show and it only lasted until about 23.00.

The food was just excellent, every morning they had some special breakfast-surprise, like omelettes to order, pancakes to order, freshly made juice etc. But the standard-supply was great as well. They had small pancakes, fried eggs, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, lots of bread, yoghurt and everything else you can possible wish for.

The lunchbuffet was great, both in the main restaurant and the poolrestaurant. It was always to sorts of pizza and two soups to choose from and a lot of other dishes.

The dinnerbuffet was similar two the lunch, and excellent as well. There is also three more restaurants within the hotel were you can reserve a table and eat for free. First we tried the Grill Restaurant. It was very good food, but they had a set three-course-dinner so you didn't get to choose from different dishes. Next day we tried the Asian restaurant, and it was just excellent. You could choose from maybe 5 starters, 5 soups, 5 main dishes, a few sallads and three desserts. We ate here two times and everything was amazing! :D We also visited the Bulgarian restaurant once, and it was the same concept as the Asian, you could choose from different dishes and everything we tried was superb!

The poolbar was also very good and between 12-17 you could order sandwiches, hotdogs, hamburgers, pancakes etc. The pancakes were our favourite! :D

Over all, amazing food. And the free drinks is very good. However, if you like cocktails they are a little bit better when ordering them at night, in the big bar, than they are in the poolbar. This is only because the glasses are bigger at night, and therefor the drinks are not as strong as they are when they are served in the smaller poolbar-glasses.

I have only been to one all-inclusive-hotel earlier and that time I was really sick and tired of eating the same food every day... That wasn´t a problem at Bolero, the menus varied from day to day.

The activities at the hotel was also good, the animation-team arranged stuff like air rifle-shooting, waterpolo, boccia, volleyball, zumba, aerobics every day. You can also reserve the tenniscourt and borrow rackets in the reception. There is also an indoor pool and a fitness room that you can use for free. The fitness room actually excelled our expectations, you find everything you need to stay in shape here. You can also buy massages and other treatments in the spacenter, but this costs extra, however, we tried the hot stone massage, well worth the money!

The location was also great, close to the beach, were you get sunbeds for free, and there is a lot of shops and restaurants along the beach.

The day of the check-out, our transfer was leaving by 19.30 and we presumed that we would have to buy our own lunch and dinner that day, since check-out is at 12.00, however, the staff did more than we could dream of and told us that we could stay and eat as much as we wanted, and also use the sunbeds and pool if we wanted, as long as we left the rooms by 12. We could also use the showers in the gym if we wanted, but we decided to pay an extra 60 levas to keep one of our rooms until 18.

One other good thing was that you received two "towel-cards"/room when you arrived. In the morning you left these to the "towel-guy" and got two pool-towels, which you returned in the evening and then got two new towels for the next day. Very nice to have clean towels at the beach/pool every day! And also nice to not use the same towels at the pool as in the room.

Over all, this is the best place I have ever visited! If you stay at Bolero you can just relax and enjoy your holiday, the staff will help you with any problem. You have everything you need, and more, included in the price, the only cash you need is for shopping ;)

The only "negative" I can think of is the fact that there is a lot of stairs within the hotel, which can be a problem if you are old or disabled, but I guess you could get a room on the bottomfloor if you inform the staff in advance. For us young and healthy the stairs are actually quite good, you get to burn at least a few of the calories you eat in the amazing restaurants, while walking up and down to the room ;)

One small advise for the hotel is regarding the water. As I said you get one bottle of water every day, in the fridge in the room, but otherwise you only have small glasses that you can fill with water by the pool or beach... It would be great if it was possible to get additional water-bottles instead, they are way easier to carry around than the glasses ;)

However, all of us are superhappy with our holiday and I am pretty sure that we will visit Bolero again, soon! :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We already travel a lot and per long time this is a best hotel to compare price and service. WE stayed 2y ago and already booking trip for next year. Everywhere is so clean looks like housemaides just not give up to giving u best service. Receptionist will be helpful any time of night. Animation team is just amazing and entertaining u all time. Its just nothing bad what i can say just go and have your best holidays

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me and my wife, we spent a dream holiday at this hotel. Beginning with the spacious room with balcony, from where we saw the internal yard of the hotel with the huge pools, we appreciated the best quality services of every member of the staff. And I saw the hotel manager everywhere all the time.
The hotel have superb restaurants – a particular mention for Argentinian, or Asian restaurant, but all restaurants are excellent. The staff from the bars (one - near the pool and the other – the covered bar) prepared very fine drinks.
I warmly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony toward inner yard are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero

Address: Bolero Street 1 | Varna, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#1 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#1 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
#1 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultra all-inclusive Grifid Club Hotel Bolero enjoys a great location in a quiet area of Golden Sands just a few yards from the sandy beach, offering plenty of facilities and dining options.The recently built, modern complex provides tastefully furnished rooms and impeccable services with many recreational and entertainment possibilities. Grifids facilities include 2 swimming pools with a Jacuzzi, sun terraces and lounge chairs, sun umbrellas and pool towels.If you like sports, there are tennis courts, a multipurpose sports field for soccer, volleyball and basketball, water polo and aqua-gym and many other options available in the area. Unwind in the spa with a steam bath, massages or beauty treatments.Close to the Grifid Club Hotel Bolero there are many shops, bars, restaurants, nightclubs, a casino and the beach with many options for sports and entertainment.If you need any recommendations how to spend your day, do not hesitate to contact the reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifid Hotel Golden Sands
Grifid Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.