We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a time warp” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Grand Hermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Grand Hermitage to your Saves list
Melia Grand Hermitage
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Golden Sands
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stuck in a time warp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was a trip to the past. The decor was quite outdated, and could do with some perking up. I was there on an all-inclusive package. The food was terrible. I really think I've eaten in an entirely different hotel to that which has been previously reviewed. The vast majority of it was not edible.

Quite a trip from the airport and not particularly worth it on arrival.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    172
    86
    37
    24
See reviews for
201
216
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on an overnight visit to play golf at the Thracian Cliffs Resort. My wife and I had stayed here before a couple of years ago when the Miss Bulgaria competition was televised fro this hotel. So I did have great memories but this time I was overwhelmed.
The quality of service and choice of food was second to none and although it did seem a bit pricey this time it proved that you get what you pay for, you will not be disapointed.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for high level with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Melia Grand Hermitage for a week in august 2014 with my boyfriend. We were greeted with terrible service upon arrival. They had mixed up our reservation, so instead of a double room with a king bed, we got a room with twin beds. The staff didn't even inform us upon the arrival that there was a mix up. We tried to fix the problem ourselves, but there was nothing we could do as they had already given our room away, which was unacceptable. They offered to send up someone to move the beds closer together, to form a kind of a king bed, but no one ever showed up. We had paid for a standard room including a breakfast buffet. Apparently, each guest is given a bracelet upon arrival to separate the "premium"-guest from the rest. The luxury experience at Melia was called "The Level" which offered better rooms, a separate restaurant, separate lounge, separate reception, and separate pool area. This really separated the guests in to two groups, and made everyone else feel "less worthy". I get the concept of a luxury, premium experience at a hotel, but Melia was just short of offering the Level-guest separate bathrooms in the common areas. Not to mention the fact that there was a HUGE shortage of sun beds by the pool, because a large area was reserved for "The Level"-guest, where 2/3 of the beds were empty at all times. I mean, the logic behind this concept is...well...non-exsistant. The sun bed problem was a huge one. Even though the beach (which was exceptionally beautiful) was right by the hotel, there was a charge to use the sun beds (they actually took a separate charge for the sun beds, the mattress on top of the sun beds, and the parasols. Ridiculous.). But even if there by some miracle were unoccupied sun beds by the pool, me and my boyfriend never used them. Why? Because the pool was crowded with 5-, 3- year olds, and hysterically crying toddlers, where the sound of their crying almost reached the ridiculously high level of the music by the pool. Needless to say, the hotel was filled with screaming children at all times. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone traveling without children (or to anyone else for that matter).

But if I had to chose the worst thing about this hotel, it would be the service. I'm not even sure half of them spoke english.There were problems with our stay almost every other day, and there was no help to find at the reception or with the staff. Usually when I arrive at a hotel, I am given useful information upon check-in, like the location of the restaurant, where I can rent a pool towel, where the closets bus/taxi stop is, and stuff like that. We were simply greeted by a "hello" and sent to a room no where near what we paid for.

The rooms, though, were nice and modern, as well as the interior of the hotel. It had a relatively modern feel to it. This is very important to me when I travel, so I was pleased with this. But as good as the rooms were, they were no where near to make up for the thousands of other things wrong with his hotel.

If you've never traveled to Bulgaria before, I would not recommend spending a lot of money on a vacation here. The food is horrible, and there are extremely annoying salesmen at every corner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ms. Mina R,
we are sorry to see you have't enjoyed your stay with us and our Hotel.

The issue of the type of the room you have received was very carefully checked by our Accomodation Director and we have found out that there is no request for king bed in the booking received by your tour operator. In case like this, the room type is upon availability.

About the bracelets, each guest receives one according to the meal plan and the program bought. They were six types last season, differentiate Bed & Breakfast from Half Board and All Inclusive as well Standard program from Level program.

Regarding the problem with the shortage of sun beds we are aware that this is one of the most important drawbacks in the past season and we are already looking for new options to place more long chairs. About the Level pool area – it contains less than 10 % sun beds from the total number and it is consistent with the capacity of the Level program.

We would really like to apologize, that you were disappointed by the service during your stay. The staff attitude towards our guests and the quality of customer service is a priority for the management and we will work even harder to improve it.

We hope to have another opportunity to make your stay an enjoyable one soon.

Best regards,
Anna Gancheva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The perfect hotel in Golden Sands.The location is in the midle of all. The room was Large and very nice area for relax at the pool. The food is wow.The tapas bar as well.The best time ever. Will come back soon with my friends.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear MoritzBarca,

The whole team of Melia Grand Hermitage is happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to see you again soon with your friends and family.

Warm regards,
Anna Gancheva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Room: Very luxurious, very clean, huge TV, amazing shower (you can actually connect the tv and listen to music while taking a shower - how cool is that). Bed was quite comfortable and it does give you an overall impression of luxury.

Hotel: absolutely huge and very well managed. Plenty of entertainment, lots of restaurants/pubs nearby. I loved it. A lovely indoor pool and sauna (i quite enjoyed both). You had eucalyptus which you don't see in many saunas nowadays. You can call reception and pre-book.

Resort: lovely beach. I was so upset it was april and I couldn't dip in the sea.

Room Tip: Any will do. They were all very nice and we were a group of 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Alex669966,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking of your time to share your thoughts with us. Your feedback is important measure for us, as we are constantly trying to give our best and improve our services. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again at Melia Grand Hermitage.

We are looking forward to see you

Anna Gancheva

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

If you are looking for a luxurious stay in Golden Sands, Bulgaria, this is the place to go to!

My family and I stayed there for 4 nights in August, 2014 and were really satisfied with our experience.

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The staff is very professional and helpful. Whenever we needed some extra information about the hotel or the resort, we could ask any of the staff around us and they would answer in the most helpful way. Everyone that works at the hotel is multilingual and speaks great English.

We really enjoyed the outdoor pool area, it's a bit more social. There is a bar area and plenty of pool chairs to hang out. We also tried the Yhi Spa at the hotel as it was recommended to us by a friend. We were really impressed with the quality of service. We had the chocolate fondue treatment and the Rhodopski massage. We also enjoyed the indoor pool with our 2-year old. Our spa experience was the most serene and relaxing time we had during our stay.

We are definitely considering coming back to Melia Grand Hermitage during our next visit to Bulgaria.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Slavina K,

From the name of the entire team of Melia Grand Hermitage I would like to thank you for the nice words and high estimation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will be extremely happy to welcome you again.

Best wishes,
Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed 2 weeks end of July until mid of August at the Melia Grand Hermitage. Overall, we were happy with our stay: we booked the Level program beforehand as some insiders recommended this and it turned out to be paying. We had a nice and spacy sea view room at one of the last floors with a fantastic view on the Black Sea. There is also a reserved area of wooden matrace sun beds at the pool for Level guest which is very nice as there is no fight for available sun beds when you drop to the pool. The restaurant is separate from the main restaurant (which was very busy and noisy) with outside terrace, waiter services for drinks and once a week a piano player. You should be aware if you book a 5-star hotel Bulgaria you have to expect less services and standard as you might get in Switzerland or Hong Kong with hotel at a similar rating. This is a seasonal hotel with mainly half-professional staff. The hotel management is very friendly, available and helpful at any time.

The downside is the food: I understand that every hotel has tight margins per guest and per day. Maybe the majority of Russian guests do not complain about the food, I do. The main problem is the low quality of ingredients. Their cooks obviously have no clue how to prepare dishes with a little creativity. We stayed several times at a Falkensteiner hotel in Croatia: they have limited choices, but the quality and the taste are

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear DonCoqueto,

We are glad that you have chosen Melia Grand Hermitage for your holiday and we would like to thank you for your feedback here in Tripadvisor. It is pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with the exclusive LEVEL program and its benefits. About the food I would like to assure you that we are working with some of the best suppliers on our market but we are taking very serious your comments and we will continue to work hard to improve it.

Kind Regards,
Anna Gancheva

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
#9 Best Value Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the serenity you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available.If you desire for a unique atmosphere, longing to reach the perfect peace of mind with exotic SPA treatments or yearn for the serenity of sun and sea…Welcome to the Melia Grand Hermitage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Grand Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.