We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book The Level at Melia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Grand Hermitage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Grand Hermitage to your Saves list
Melia Grand Hermitage
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Golden Sands
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Book The Level at Melia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have no words to describe my enjoyable stay. Me and my wife were checked in at the special reception from a very nice lady who prepared for us some special juice, it was fantastic. When we went to the room our first reaction was Ooo ... there were some chocolate candies which was very warm welcome for us. The Level program is the best thing that you can do for you to feel more than special. The staff is friendly and smiley all the time. For sure we will save money to come back next summer.

Room Tip: Book The Level program
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for finding time and writing on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the Level program and the stay at Melia Grand Hermitage.
I can definitely recommend the Level program. It is specially developped and it is a great way to treat yourself. There are many benefits that the Level program offers such as private reception, the Level lounge, separate restaurant, free mini bar and many more. All of our guests enjoy it very much.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Melia Grand Hermitage.
With kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    172
    86
    37
    24
See reviews for
201
216
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucaurest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are planning to visit Bulgaria you better book your stay at Melia Grand Hermitage in Golden Sands. The hotel is surrounded by green trees and if you book a room facing the sea you will have a chance to meed the beauty of the early morning sun rice.
My wife and I were stayed at Melia in August and we'd really had a good time there. The rooms are big enough , clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful all over the hotel. The food in the Restaurant is tasty so that we even put some weight on :) The Animation staff are professional too. Nothing more can be done. We will be back next summer.
I'd highly recommend Melia !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for investing of your time and writing a review on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for the nice words.
We are constantly working towards achieving our goal, which is delivering excellent experiences for our guests. We will continue in the same direction.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Киев
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

First to admit- is the location, it's perfect for families with kids, not very loud, but a lot places for fun. The hotel is huge. Room service is ok, not perfect, but not bad. The main problem - is a food, there was no variety at all. All time was the same menu, so do not take the "all inclusive" - much better and cheaper to go to the nearest bar "parmy bar", very tasty food and pleasant stuff. The overall feeling - I don't regret anything, good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for sharing your thoughts about Melia Grabd Hermitage on Tripadvisor. We are are glad that you enjoyed your stay. All of our team members are devoted to providing best possible experiences to our guests.We will continue to follow the same goal.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was just perfect. A huge variety of tasty food in a restaurant, nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, a large swimming pool.
The only thing I can complain is that the juice in a restaurant were half-mixed with water :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for sharing your opinion about the Stay in Melia Grand Hermitage on Tripadvisor. We are grateful for the nice words. We are sorry to know we didn't reach your expectations about the type of juice that we offer in the restaurant. We work with very well known foreign companies for fuite juice from concentarate, which guarantees good quality and taste.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in Melia Grand Hermitage.
With kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at Melia Grand Hermitage hotel for 4 days at the middle of August. The room (located on the 4th floor) was large with a big bed and it was also clean. The room had a fridge (empty – no minibar), safe box and free internet access and Wi-Fi. The balcony did not have sea view but we did not care. It was comfortable enough for someone to stay and relax or even to put the swimsuits to dry.
The bathroom was big and clean. However, after the first day the cleaning lady did not pay a lot of attention (e.g. the bathroom wasn’t clean enough and at one day she didn’t even refill the toilet paper).
The breakfast was a typical buffet with quite a variety, but with poor quality (the typical quality vs quantity issue!). In other words, the breakfast was not a five-star hotel breakfast. Unknown firms of products, low quality of pastry etc. In addition, there was no refill after 9:30 (the breakfast stopped at 10:00). The lunch and dinner were way better with plenty of options as well.
The staff of the hotel (bar, restaurant, reception desk and bell boys) was polite and helpful.
The swimming pool was clean and substantially sized and we were provided with towels from the hotel. However, the downside here is that there is not enough space for all these people to gather around swimming pool. In order to get a sunbed you must visit the pool at an early hour (well before 9:30) since most of the people go and “reserve” the beds simply by putting their clothes or towels on them. In fact, I have witnessed fights between people claiming the same sunbed, which is something you do not usually come across in 5-star places.
Another negative characteristic of the pool was that it was surrounded by a black plastic material which, when combined with water, leaves incredibly difficult stains on your feet. I understand that it must serve a purpose for being there, however there surely must be a way of replacing it somehow.
The alternative option to using the pool of course was to visit the beach, which unfortunately does not to the hotel and you need to pay in order to get a sunbed. The price for two beds and an umbrella was 12.5€ per day.
The parking was underground and costs 10 euros per day, however is better to pay the money and secure the car since car theft is not an infrequent phenomenon around these places.
Last but not least, we found out that there is a clear division between regular hotel visitors and Level visitors, where ‘Level’ stands for additional luxury and privileges procided to those who are willing to pay a higher price. Nevertheless, nobody bothered informing us about the benefits/cost of this program, although it was evident that this was an economy and luxury separation inside the hotel. Something that I didn’t like at all.
In conclusion, Melia Grand Hermitage is clearly not a 5 star hotel (maybe only by prices) and I did not find anything attractive in order to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for investing of your time and writing a detailed review on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate our customers'feedback.
We do have great and spacious rooms and all of them a have balcony. The rooms with sea view position have great view to the Black sea.
The mini bar in the rooms is empty because we have different types of mini bar packages, which are at disposal depending on the guests' choice.
We are sorry to know that we didn't reach your expectations on the cleaning of the rooms and the food in the restaurant. We do follow specific standards and procedures which guarantees good quality. The food that we offer in the restaurant is freshly made and with products which are well known on the national and international market. The refilling of the buffet is made when the dishes are finished and it continues until 10.00 when the breakfast is over.
In the pool area we have sings informing the guests that it is not allowed to reserve sun beds. On additional signs it is shown that sunbeds left unattended for more than 40min and reserved with towels can be used by other guests. The cover on the floor by the pool is a type according to the Bulgarian safety standards and it offers safe and comfortable environment for everyone.
The Level program that you mention does not aim dividing the guests. This is a specially created concept in order to offer more intimate and relaxing atmosphere.The program offers many benefits such as separate restaurant, private reception, special lounge areas, free mini bar, the level Lounge and many more. All of our guests enjoy it very much and would recommend it.
All of the team members work very hard in order to provide the best possible services to our guests. We are sorry to know that at some poit you haven’t felt this. We will be glad if you give us the opportunity to welcome you again and feel the difference.
With kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent one week in Melia Grand Hermitage and It was the best holiday that I had ever.
We booked a Deluxe standard room and first they accommodated us in one room on 1-st floor but we want to be in room with sea view and we paid extra on the reception "Upgrade" and the nice lady on the reception moved us in a wonderful room with excellent view to the see. All the staff at the reception is helpful and always smiling. The food at the restaurant is delicious but the desserts could be more various and with chocolate. The swimming pool area is very nice and clean. We loved to stay their and drinking cocktails from the pool bar.
I totally recommend the hotel and just one advice I can give: If you want to know something about the hotel or you need some other information please ask at the reception - they know everything and could assist you with pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for spending time and writing a review on Tripadvisor. It is very important to have the feedback of our guests. All of our team members pass special training following the procedures and standards by Melia Hotels International. Thus we can assure great quality services. Your words serve as a great stimulus to our team members. On behalf of all of them I would like to thank you.
With kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had an unforgettable holiday in Melia Grand Hermitage. This was my first visit in Bulgaria and i am so impress. From the entrance of the hotel the only thing that you can say is "Wow"- huge Lobby, very big and clean room, amazing swimming pool and just a couple of stairs to the beach. We were on HB and really enjoyed the Thematic dinners- especially the Bulgarian:). The animation was very nice and the staff always smiling. For sure we come back in Bulgaria and again in Melia- wait for us....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for writing on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Melia Grand Hermitage. We are very proud of the facilities and the services that we offer to our guests. Our aim is to make our customers feel the Melia experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
#9 Best Value Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the serenity you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available.If you desire for a unique atmosphere, longing to reach the perfect peace of mind with exotic SPA treatments or yearn for the serenity of sun and sea…Welcome to the Melia Grand Hermitage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Grand Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.