We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kaliakra palace golden sands may 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaliakra Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kaliakra Palace to your Saves list
Kaliakra Palace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 105 Hotels in Golden Sands
bishop auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“kaliakra palace golden sands may 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

after reading some reviews on this hotel i was a bit worried in what i had booked . but from setting foot in the hotel doors we were made to feel really welcome . rooms were lovely you could have anything you wanted to drink and the food was really good .pool areas roomy and great location would defintly go back

Room Tip: only down fall you are charged for a sea view but could end up looking at very tall trees instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    19
    16
    22
See reviews for
34
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel has been renewed this year, so everything looks clean and fresh, the rooms are quite spacious, so is the bathroom, beds are big and comfy. We also had a big sea-view balcony which was really nice. The space in front of the hotel is some steps above the main street, but is quite big, has lovely sea view and to make it batter is under the spotty shadow of some big trees. The pool, that was working when we were there, was very charming - sunny but at parts under a pine tree. The atmosphere was really nice. Location couldn't be better. However, if you're traveling with a car, parking is a nightmare - not only does it cost a fortune, but is quite small as well, so if you manage to find a spot it is quite likely that when you want to go somewhere with your car you will have to find the owners of 2-3 cars, that have blocked you, before you're able to get out. The other problem for us was the noise - sea-view rooms have to suffer till 23:00 (and sometimes a bit later) for the animation show to end, and it is so loud, even with windows closed! But i guess this will not be such a problem if you don't need to go to bed early, since people who were watching the show seemed to enjoy it. Despite being a 4* hotel it actually doesn't have a fitness centre - there is an wooden hut or something, 10m from the hotel, that has a sign fitness and has maybe a stack of weights to lift, but thats all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Despite the good quality of rooms and position, the problem was the followings:
1. Dirty lingerie
2. Very very small restroom, and you have to FIGHT for your table and food.
3. Low quality food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebago, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I've been there in May 2011 with my husband's colleagues for 3 days and we were happy we didn't book for longer stay. The hotel is old with some refurbishments done but it is far from a nice hotel. We are not picky but they need to change something before we go back.
Food was ok but nothing to remember. The resort offers other nice restaurants, there is no problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Between 30.12.2011 and 02.01.2012 I had accommodation in Kaliakra Palace Hotel.
During this period, the entire hotel has hot water just for 1 day at most (few hours on 30.12.2011, and few hours on 01.01.2012). in the rest of time, the water temperature was about 20 degrees Celsius.

Moreover, during the entire period, all the rooms experienced a lot of power failures.
When I got in the room, it was no soap, no remote control for TV, no remote control for AC.

I think they were not ready for opening, or, at least, not ready for 100% hotel occupation.

Pros: it was obvious that the hotel staf tried to do his best; the restaurant was nice, the food was not amazing, but ok, fair enough, but even though, I don’t want another check in there soon.
Sorry, but I can not recommend further this hotel !

Room Tip: the floors 3-7 has new furniture and are restaured the park view was no nice at all; all you can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Last minute all inclusive job booked a few days beforehand, we'd been to most of the other Med countries, so thought we'd give Bulgaria a try, also recommended by travel agent, can't wait to call back into the shop to put them straight. An absolute disaster from start to finish, if I won a week's free all inclusive I would burn the tickets, I would not even give them to my worst enemy! Both flights with Balkan Holidays terrible, transfers even worse, arrived at hotel via steep back lanes that are unbelievable, dropped off at 'tradesmans' entrance at rear of hotel! Why didn't they take us around the front. Lady on reception was the most ignorant, unhelpful, miserable person I have ever met when checking in, she's the 'face' of the hotel, I wanted to drag her over the desk and 'explain' that we are guests not inmates! Room not cleaned, hairdryer held together with plasters and would switch on at will, concrete pillows, food as got to be seen to be believed, pork and chicken every meal, fish once or twice, cows not yet invented in Bulgaria! Staff, ignorant, unhelpful, miserable, we played a game with a few friends trying to get the barman to smile, didn't happen all week, even when tipped. Dining room is boiling hot, they do not like switching the air con on, flies everywhere, also crawling on food, WORST FOOD I have ever had in any hotel, cold, repetetive, whole hotel smells of cabbage! Drinks just as bad, they must distill it themselves and mix with antifreeze and meths. Golden sands is twinned with Blackpool.The only good point about this holiday was the sun shone.

Room Tip: Floor 7 only is acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at Kaliakra Palace for 14 nights in September. We had read the reviews on here before going on holiday and were slightly nervous.

As it turned out we had nothing to worry about. The staff are friendly and most of them can speak English.

Our room was on the 4th floor (one of the refurbished rooms) and had a sea view whch we requested when booking the holiday.

Our room was cleaned every day.

The 3 pools were cleaned on a daily basis.

The food was sometimes a little cold but there was a microwave to heat up the food if required.

I will be returning to this hotel at some point in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaliakra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaliakra Palace

Address: Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaliakra Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Kaliakra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaliakra Palace Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province
Kaliakra Palace Hotel Golden Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaliakra Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.