We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Odessos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Odessos to your Saves list
Park Hotel Odessos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Sands, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Golden Sands
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just returned from 5 day stay at Hotel Odessos.

The hotel has a 4 star rating.

To be honest it is at best 2/3 star.

Our stay was at the begining of the summer season. We assumed that the accomodation would be in tip top condition.

Our room was acceptable with a pleasant seaview. However some of the public areas were in need of revamping. In particular the main bar area.

The 'All Inclusive' option is not worth the extra money. The quality of both the food and drink is so poor that you will inevitably choose to eat and drink elsewhere. Alternatives are cheap and plentyful.

I would strongly recommend not visiting the resort before the 1st of June as this is when the resort is expected to be fully open.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We went to this hotel in spring time, "all inclusive" 3 nights trip . The rooms are clean, new furniture and renovated bathrooms. I should say something about food provided. It was ok, a lot of salads, but seemed not to be enough (we were there on Easter, the hotel was full and it was hard for us to find a free table in rush hours. Oh, what we've been through to have our meals!!!! Horrible!) and there was no festive dinner in order to celebrate this holy day, no special programs! The barthender never smiled and always showed an excess of zeal in his job. The hotel has a spa area (sauna, jacuzzi). Thos was the best part of all!! If you travel by car, pay attention to the parking lots. There are only a few. If you travel in the summer, you must know that the pool is not very big, but clean and the beach is 15-20 minutes away. I wasn't very excited by Golden Sands! There was nothing to do there (no even bicycles to rent)! In conclusion, I would go back to Park Hotel Odessos only if it would be located somewhere else than Golden Sands.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The beach is 5 minutes walk downhill. Hotel at quiet end of a busy resort. Rooms fine, apart from disabled access. Food good mostly, if not vegitarian. Tourist-bland. A little more variety would help. Later arrivals at a disadvantage.
Pools ok, at 2.30pm in shadow, life guards come with attitude. Entertainment for children very good, if repetative (but kids like that). Bars ok, pool bar staff variable. Reception staff variable (depends who you get). Turkish Bath, excellent.
Clients, mostly German & East European. Staff speak English (in addition to German & Russian).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed there from the week of 27 June to 4 July 2011. Worst hotel experience in my whole life.
Food during lunch and diner was served cold. When we complained we were told to use the microwave since the Bulgariens and Russians eat their meals cold. This from a so called 4 Star hotel and we had the All inclusive package. We been to the Goldens Sands before and never heard of this.The rooms only received clean towels and a minor clean up. Althought we left tips everyday for the housekeeping the chweing gum in the bathroom was not remove for fours days as also the wrapper in the bedroom which we left as a test. Under the toilet bowl there had was still the droppings from the previous user. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned by weeks.
Steps by the pool was damaged and the hotel guest took the broken piece to the hotel employee and nothing was done during our stay. Neither blocke the step and trying to repair it. This hotel was build in 2004.

Room Tip: Please always check the reviews for the hotel and check your room upon arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hoathly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great value hotel in top location. Whilst the 150m to the sea is as the crow flies it is max 10 minute walk down the hill. On the way you will pass some restaurants and little shop units.

Hotel itself is only 6 years old and was built in 6 months. There are photos by the restaurant entrance and makes a great read. The quality has not been compromised in any way and the quality reflecting the 4 star (bulgarian) standard is shown. I would class this hotel as a 3.5 by UK standards.

We visited as the season was drawing to a close and that made the resort bearable. The pool area for the hotel is OK but would not wish to try and get a bed in high season. The loungers are free but if you wish to have a mat a charge of 2 lev is made.

Rooms are large and offer twin or double bed with some having sofa beds as well. We had a sea view and would recommend even if you have to pay a premium as otherwise you will be looking at a road with a restaurant and the odd shop unit below you. The pool is situated in the back of hotel which is a plus but the drawback is that the sun is gone by 4pm.

In room safe is chargeable at 34lev (1week) and 48 for 2. Would recommend the spa and tretments are reasonably priced. Breakfast is buffet style, hot and cold with plenty of fruit. Two sitting betweens 0730-1030 but you can turn up anytime.

The restaurants along the sea side offer a wide variety of choices and different prices. It is worth shopping around and do stop and talk to the people outside as some will give you deals. It cost nothing to look. Two decent places for the cheaper option Evergreen (nice mix grills for about £7 main) and Leonardo (pizza and pasta). Also for something more expensive but worth the visit for the sea view tables and the band (played for 4 hrs on/off) is Dolphin restaurant.

Sunloungers on beach are charged at standard 7 lev each, some charge for mats an extra 3 lv and umbrella at 7 lev. This is daily so bear this in mind. There is the odd 'free zone' basically just sand where you can spread your towel and enjoy. Alternatively the many beach side pool bars offer loungers and umbrella from 3 lev each and then you are with 50m of the sea.

To get to hotel from airport there is a direct bus No. 409 that goes to the Riviera resort (last stop at golden sands). From there it is a 5-10 minute walk uphill to the hotel. Road by bus stop by where cabs are parked. DO NOT GET A CAB FROM BUS. Alternatively the guide price from airport to Golden Sands is 30 lev for cab. Bus operates 7 days and between 6am-11pm and takes abour 1.5 hrs. Price is 3 lev each way with 1 lev charge for large bags. Hotel will charge you approx 60 lev for cab. We negotiated directly with cabbie and he took 35 lev from resort to airport. I must mention that I am Bulgarian so that would have helped get better price but ultimately the hotel will rip you off. I have the cabbie's number if you want it contact me and will disclose.

Other than that it is a fab hotel which is just perfect for enjoying the madness of the resort in high season but far away not to hear it if you wish to rest.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed for a week with our 5 year old daugther. On arrival the staff was friendly. We found parking space in front of the hotel (I considered "front" the side facing the street). I mentioned that just because in front of the hotel there is parking space only for 5 cars - maybe there is parking space also in the back).
Room was OK (pretty spatious), also bathroom. We stayed on the side facing the sea, at 4th floor (where wireless internet was not available. If they would install a 50$ access point at top floor they would make a lot of customers happy; another one by the pool would be also useful).
In addition to the bed, there was an extendable armchair which could be used by a third person (our daughter in our case).
Instead of the tiny minibar I would have preferred a small fridge.
TV had enough channels, unfortunatelly right the one I preferred was received in bad conditions.
Restaurant was OK, food was normal (I was about to say "basic"), nothing fancy, but enough meals to choose from. This hotel did not offer All Inclusive at the time of our stay, only half board.
The distance to the beach is not 150m as you can see on advertisements (not even by helicopter), but this was not a problem as we stayed by the two pools and we went to the beach only once or twice.
All in all I would say the hotel deserves a second visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The hotel is a 4* one, quite good with large twin rooms. If you have luck you will get a room with sea view at the top floor (5th). These rooms have a nice terrace with two chairs and a table. The inside pool is small and more appropiate for children than for adults. These were the good aspects of the location. Some of our complains are the following: we didn't have soap or showergel or anything to use for a bath!!!! and after talking with the receptionist 3 times in our first day there, we went to buy for ourselves.......of course when the cleaning staff discovered the next day what we have bought didn't consider necessary to fill the empty basket :); only 20 parking places for 150 standard rooms!; the food was quite the same for the entire stay (3 days) and insufficient (you had to go in the first 30 min in order to eat something).
The hotel is ok for the price but if you find some nicer hotel at the same base price you have to think twice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel Odessos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Odessos

Address: Golden Sands, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Odessos 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some 150 meters from the beach in Golden Sands resort on the Bulgarian Black sea coast and at the same time nicely surrounded by luscious greenery and centuries-old trees, the 4-star ODESSOS Park hotel provokes you to spend your summer holiday in its distinguished and cosy atmosphere.The guests should enjoy the sun-baths either on the sandy beaches of the resort or around the hotel’s swimming pool, having a lot of proposals for their spare time getting more pleasant in the hotel’s bars and restaurants, as well as with the varied and amusing animation and excursion programs with sports, musical and other entertainments suitable for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hotel Odessos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Golden Sands
Park Hotel Odessos Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Odessos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.