We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain for the wise and careful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Varshava (Warshawa)

Save Saved
You added Hotel Varshava (Warshawa) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Varshava (Warshawa)
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   southern part of Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
new new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A bargain for the wise and careful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After reading all the awful reviews here, I realized I had to try this place.
If it was any good-it's a bargain; if it was as awful as described- it's an experience I'll remember!

Here are the major 3 complaints and my findings.

1 Rooms are awful.
The old rooms are more reminiscent of army barracks, but if you make sure to book in the NEW PART of the hotel the rooms are actually very nice and comfortable.
I paid 6 Euros more for the newer room and it was worth it.

2 Breakfast is terrible.
Breakfast was OK, very simple stuff and meat of low quality, but what do you expect for such a low price?
Just concentrate on the good stuff like cheese pies and vegetables.

3 Loud and drunk kids.
I was there for the first week of September, and there were no school kids there, so I would say you can be on the safe side and not book during July and August.

Bottom line is: I paid 18 Euros a night for a great room in a great resort.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    14
    8
    36
See reviews for
21
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

nice people nice area but the hotel the wall lights where hanging off the wall my eleven year old daughter was give a three foot cot with no mattress to sleep on the sheets on beds either had excrement or blood on or both but on booking we looked on balken hols web site and the pictures shown are of the new three star part so don't be misled by them if it was for animals in England the rspca would close it down but youll not get bothered with bed bugs or mosquitos as even they wont stay there

Room Tip: get one in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

full of dead flies on the walls, blood on the bathroom door, which read floc on wcul dezinfected. parizel breakfast broken and boiled eggs, juice on tap horrible at Coke dispenser juices had access only those with all inclusive and coffee dispenser. the 12-17year kids yelling and screaming in the camps and do not mind filth. if their parents know under what conditions the ....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My hubby and me and another couple stayed at the Varshava 6th July till the 13th July. When we arrived I will admit it was a shock,the reception was in darkness when booked in and got the room keys we were shown to the lifts (which are very scary as no inside door on them so you have to stand at the back of the lift just incase you brush against the wall when the lift is moving) then Ivanna the massusse showed us to the floor we were on, when we went in the room we burst out laughing two single beds toe to toe a table with a tv on a chair bedside tables beside each bed the wardrobe (with loads of hangers) was on the left of the door and the bathroom on the right (toilet basin and shower no shower curtain lol).
Ivanna was always at the pool trying to get you to have a massage.
All the staff that we met were helpful but couldnt speak much english so it was fun trying to get what you wanted.
The rooms were clean with the maid coming in every day (if you want clean towels you have to leave the dirty ones on the floor).
There was always something to eat at breakfast time ok so they dont do a full english!
The beds are lovely and soft but the pillows a bit hard we slept well when we were there.
For £200 per person we are not complaining about any of the hotels facilities (what do some people want?) At the end of the day it is just somewhere to sleep.
You will have to go to Hurry Ramsdens on the front lovely food and service a bit of cheeky banter off gerry.

Room Tip: Try to get in the new block as them rooms have air con. The rooms at the back get the sun in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

It certainly should not be passed as a hotel as its more like a youth hostel. The only good thing was the rooms were clean. The balcony was approximately 12 inches by 6 inches with a view of a hill. Staff were not very helpful. I would not recommend anybody with children or walking problems to stay here as its on a very steep hill. You needed a taxi to get back to the hotel. The food was inedable and what salad was left from the night before you had that for breakfast!!! I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Well wat can i say! If youve read the other reveiws Ill agree with them,
Me and the wife whos wheelchair bound, saw this late cheap deal with Bahlkan Holidays in early July 2013 and booked it simply because we've never been to Bulgaria. When we arrived we found the hotel is on a steep embankment and we knew we were gonna have problems getting back with me pushing my wife in the wheelchair. The reception staff gave our appartment key, shown the lift for the disabled and we found our own way to the room. The room was very basic, shower/toilet room, two single beds a table to hold an old 16'' colour TV but it did have 50 channels. Entrance door to the balcony with a inland view of woods but no Aircon. And a large inbuilt cupboard for hanging your clothes etc. But it was clean and somewhere to sleep.
When we back downstairs, noticed alot of teenagers lounging around the reception. It looked more like an youth Hostel than an Hotel!. We went to the bar and had a beer but tasted as if it was watered down. We asked for a nescafe but they never heard of it. The evening meal wasnt much to be desired for, plenty of salad a choice of chicken wings, meatballs, boiled potatoes, rice and sliced ham. But everything was cold or luke warm and not protected from flies.When we were leaving we noticed there were more kids hanging around being boisterous showing their arrogance towards the other guests by pushing in while others tried to serve themselves, They also smoked while people were eating plus some were very liberal or wearing very skimpy bikinis. Must be my age!! These kids were in two three large groups and were either Romanian, Polish or Bulgarian.
Come the next morning we went down for breakfast and again plenty of salad which was dry and proberly from the night before, boiled eggs thin slices of ham or cheese which again was not protected from flies. Someone complained there was'nt any sausage beens or bacon but we are in Bulgaria! There was an electric toaster, must of been 20 years plus with no protective gaurd. When you put your bread on a circular metal rail it was supposed to rotate but you had to turn it yourself with a fork. Tea was made with watered down milk.
As the week continued more guests were complaing abouth the kids either of the noise they were making when returning from a night out or being intimidated I took my wife to the disabled toilet and found the lid broken, toilet paper stuffed down the toilet or left on the floor. Told the girl on reception but she didnt offer much help but a cleaner came. Another evening we were waiting for the disabled lift but had found the glass mirror had been heavily spat on.
The Varsharva dos'nt deserve a 2 star rating, its very basic, a place to sleep like the YMCA's There's no entertainment the bar closes at 10.00, the staff ar'nt very freindly or unsociable and everything seems to be to much for them. The food is'nt brilliant with no protection against flies and never heard of nescafe. Toilet cubicles have no locks plus one entrance for either sex. Not suitable for the elderly or disabled. If I had to pay more than 450.00 for one week for two I would seriously complain!
Golden sands has plenty of bars with entertainment, market. Jerrys bar "Hurry Ramsden" he sell alot of basic english dishs well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Book a room with inland view You will get the peace & quite but arent guarenteed aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

went june 22nd - july 6th 2013, party of four, one disabled. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL. worst hotel in golden sands. Nothing decent to eat at breakfast, did not have evening meal which we were glad about. Veranda 2ft wide maybe 3ft, rust on shower and taps, stood under shower and turned on but was still dry because water went everywhere else but on me. asked for plug for sink and was told we were not in england now!! toilet roll dirty grey colour. Would not advise anyone to stay at this hotel. we moved hotels after 4 days couldn't take anymore, which gave us best holiday. we would go back to golden sands but stay away from this hotel. Go to Jerrys Bar ( Hurry Ramsdens) near beach lovely food and friendly staff. wont let me add photos to prove this is bad hotel, but i have them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Varshava (Warshawa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varshava (Warshawa)

Address: southern part of Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty lodging in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Varshava (Warshawa) 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Varshava (Warshawa) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Varshava (Warshawa) Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Varshava (Warshawa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.