We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fenix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fenix Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fenix Hotel to your Saves list
Fenix Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sunny Beach, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 209 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Airdrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fenix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

i was there from the 23 july 13 to the 30th july 13 well i have traveled and stayed in many countries and hotels in my day.i am the sort of person that calls an ace an ace and a spade a spade.i was at this hotel
with my partner and a 17year old .hotel is spotless the cleaners work 24/7 non stop cleaning rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels ect..the pool is massive and is cleaned daily.the hotel is a 5min walk to beach.everything is so central.hotel staff lovely.the breakfast was basic.the hotel has a supermarket and is ok for pricing.we had a fabulous week weather in the 80s most days.i would return back to this hotel,

.jean x

Room Tip: make sure you book a balcony with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    133
    78
    34
    19
See reviews for
112
117
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

20 year old couple from Glasgow stayed at the hotel 24 jun- 01 jul 2013.

We found the food absolutely revolting. Breakfast has most fry up items although they all taste distinctly different to what youd expect. Scrambled eggs were like cardboard. Bacon not nice at all. Dinner wasnt much better, the cuts of meat were horrendous and once found a bone in my vegetable stir fry. GO SELF CATERING.

As far as the cleanliness and maids go... we werent impressed in the slightest. Room was generally tidied well and we recieved clean towels most days. It took until the final day of our stay for the maids to give us clean sheets. This was after we made several complaints to the rather ignorant staff. The language barrier doesn't help as most people there speak poor english.

Location of the hotel on the other hand is ideal, a mere couple of minutes walk from the beach where you'll find yourself having to pay 8lv each for loungers and parasols to get a spot close to the shore.

Weather was perfect when we were there 30°c plus everyday barr one when it rained overnight then cleared up around midday and was then sunny with patches of cloud.

Sunny beach itself was very lively with great weather and a very good nightlife. Although we wouldnt recommend it for a couples chillout holiday as it would be more suited to a group of friends looking for a party holiday.

If you choose to go to sunnybeach chose a hotel with a better rating. For 650 a week we expected alot better from a "four ☆" hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Third stay at this hotel which is located close to the sea shore, large spacious room but carpets need replacing. Breakfasts were reasonable but adequate. Not worth going full board as it's cheap to eat and drink out at most restaurants. Despite the 'no booking sun bed' sign, most sun beds taken by the usual lonely towels! Several sun beds also need replacing. Booked through Balkan holidays and experienced good value for money, airport transfers were very good, no complaints.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the pool. Corner suites have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

First time in Bulgaria, was pleasantly surprised, given some of the reviews. The hotel was in a great location, staff were friendly. We were given an apartment, even though we booked bed and breakfast, huge sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and separate toilet. The rooms were clean on arrival but the shower, bath was never cleaned over the week we stayed. Also on arrival a small cake of soap and a small bottle of shampoo wereon offer, they were never replaced. Towels were replaced every day. Take your own beach and pool towels. The breakfasts were not very interesting but edible. Eating and drinking out was excellent with a huge choice, never once were we disappointed. The food was always hot, well presented and good quality, the prices were great. Drink was cheap everywhere, beer varied from 43pence to on average about a £1 for 500ml. Cocktails were buy one get one free and all at great prices. Overall a great resort with a lovely clean sandy beach, the people were friendly, much better than Spain or Greece.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was clean, staff were friendly, location is great.

The food was edible but nothing at all special. There was a very limited choice (maybe because the hotel was no where near full) and the food was quite boring.

There are plenty of places to eat out in the area and most of the restaurants have live entertainment every night as well. We went most nights to the Lansdowne restaurant, which had great music and beer for 2 lev (less than a pound a pint). The Mexican restaurant near to the hotel was pretty good as well.

It is about a 20-minute walk along the promenade to the resort centre, where there is a permanent covered market.

We went on a trip organised by the tour operator to a local market, Sozopol and Bourgas. Sozopol was well worth the trip but the market and Bourgas were nothing much. It would probably be better to do one of the local tour company trips to Sozopol and the river boat trip.

Nessebar is a really nice place to visit, you can get there by doing a trip, catching the little 'train', getting a boat across or by local bus.

We would happily stay again in the Fenix, but would probably do bed and breakfast rather than half-board, and eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a pool view, you also then get a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fanstastic,Great view,nice and quiet,big pool and the cleaning lady was amazing,we tipped her for her effort .Every day we came back,she had made animals from the new towels,elephants,crocodiles,swans,a heart,a boat in water and a shirt with tie.It was the most clean room ever.I can recommend this hotel to every one.Not at one time did i feel unsafe regarding my suitcase or the money left in the room.S thank you from Denmark and we will surely come again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from a one weeks last minute holiday at the Fenix Hotel Sunny Beach Bulgaria. We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews of the Fenix but found the hotel to be quite good. It was very clean and always smelled nice. The marble floors were immaculate on the ground floor. No mean feet with the number of people passing through.

The room was spacious with a very good bathroom, comfy beds and we were given an extra pillow on request. Decent balcony but the room carpet needed replacing. Would have been better tiled like the rest of the hotel.

The staff were mostly very pleasant and helpful. and the location of the hotel was ideal. We had room 622 with a view of the beach and the pool.Being set back from the road it was very quiet.
The pool was really good. very large and clean but the water was easily the coldest I have ever experienced anywhere.and we are very well travelled.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the food.Not good! However the scrambled eggs were fine on toast with a few beans. We did have 2 breakfasts out and they were great and huge. Although we were half board we only ate in the hotel 2 evenings. the rest of the time we ate out at different places. the food being of quite a good standard and cheap.

the Bularian spirits were excellent and my husband said the beer was OK too.It was buy one get one free for cocktails and Bulgarian spirits.

As a quick cheap and cheerful brak we can't fault it, but would go self catering or B&B next time.
Oh and would go a couple of weeks later as the weather wasn't very good. £ days of sunshine out of 6 full days there. We had wall to wall rain, thunder storms and Hail as big as marbles. We went out on the 30th May.

Room Tip: Room 622 was very good. Good views and quite. Air con was fine and quiet. Bathroom and shower excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenix Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.