We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo Royal Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Royal Beach

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Royal Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Royal Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 204 hotels in Sunny Beach
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Barcelo Royal Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a long weekend in Barcelo. Our room was an apartment,but no the hotel room( The have some apartment complex rooms/apartments which they also renting for guests). Anyway I was ok. The apartment was fine. Nothing special or something to write about. As we were in apartment we didnt have anything included so every time we ate outside. I cant really say something about food. We use the pools and we liked them..not too crowded..The outside of the hotel we liked more that the inside :). The location is spot on in the city center of Sunny Beach..Maybe if you get high floor room you might see the sea.
I might visit,again but this time get a room with a view and some food so I can give more through review. For us this was very good hotel in excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    95
    29
    22
    15
See reviews for
126
154
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked our holiday around the middle of september as to miss the craziness and hipe of the season. This hotel had the highest star rating and thats why we picked it, as we had never been to bulgaria before and didnt know what to expect with regards to food, bars and entertainment. We were in for a shock!

The hotel was a ghost town
The inside and outside pools were freezing and couldnt be used.
There was no entertainment on at all.
They closed the bistro and nearly the ala carte but kept it open due to complaints. We only had the buffet and the food was awful!!
all restaurants and surrounding bars closed and were boarded up along with the mall and supermarkets.
There was absolutely nothing to do in the day but sleep, watch tv & stay in the hotel room. They were closing down the pool area and there was no day time activities to do at all.
For an all inclusive 4/5* hotel it should stop booking guests in if its at the end of the season and they cant cater for them. for the price we paid it wasnt worth it at all! Worst holiday experience and will never go back to bulgaria or hotels like this again!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed last August at the Barceló Resort on an half board plan. A family of 2 adults + 2 girls ages 9& 6.
The hotel is located a short walk from the beach and the promenade and right above a shopping mall .
The hotel itself is huge with several swimming pools suited both for children and adults. Besides the usual problem of empty chairs occupied by lonely towels , I can say we had a great time by the pool. There are plenty of restaurants and buffets both at the hotel and outside . So if you are not on the all inclusive plan - you won't starve.
The room we got was actually a one bedroom suite with a small kitchenette and it was quite large , clean and well kept.
I read the reviews that if you are not in the AB building, you might get the lesser rooms - not true. We were not in the main building and yet - everything was perfect, and actually enjoyed the walk through the shop promenade every morning and evening to the dinning room.
The food was fresh and tasty. The service was great.
All in all very much recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful! Large rooms and clean! Food is terrible!! My wife got sick three times so we started eating out! The staff ans security are very rude especialy that big security guy! He was a real [--]!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Sadly this hotel did not fulfil what I expect of a 5* All-Inclusive. We stayed the second week in September, nearing the end of the season.

Bad first impression of the hotel - the toilets at the reception area were dirty!

Food/Drink: We had to sign for all food and drink items as there were no all-inclusive wrist bands, which was a hassle for us and the staff. It looks like this might change next season.
Buffet food was repetitive and rarely hot (which might be the Bulgarian way). We were never shown to a table in the buffet restaurant which often left us waiting for a table with plates in hand. BBQ night was much the same as the buffet but at least the food was hot.
Alcoholic beverages were limited in choice with one ‘cocktail of the day’ available. There was no consistent snack bar, we arrived at 4pm and struggled to find something to eat and before eventually finding some little pre-filled rolls sitting in a chilled cabinet at the bar.

Room: Tatty here and there with the bed headboard missing several buttons, and the balcony area untended so there were piles of leaves by the end of the week. The room fridge was empty with no info to say you could request bottles of water at reception. There were no instructions on how to use the digital safe. Bedclothes were only changed on the day before we left and I never felt the bathroom was cleaned properly – e.g. the soap dish was never wiped. Air conditioning wasn’t cool enough.

General: Outdoor pool was beautiful and large but too cold to use. The entertainment was lacking, although the performers were enthusiastic. Reception bar was frequently unstaffed.

Things they got right: The view of the pool from our patio was excellent (see attached photo -taken around 11am – a cooler day so pool area was quiet). The staff were generally friendly, the hotel was quiet and we were recognised by the staff after a day or so which helped us feel more relaxed. The A La Carte restaurant was 5* quality. Free Wi-Fi was good. Bar staff were generous with drink portions. Hot drinks served until 12:30am. Good black out curtains in the rooms. We were given a packed breakfast when we left at 4am for our flight home which was a very nice touch.

The resort - not reflected in the hotel rating: Sunny Beach resort is noisy and the promenade lined with tacky stalls. Do not buy from the clothes shops in the ‘Mall’ – my husband bought a good looking pair of Jeans which literally fell apart at the seams – after about 5 wears.
The Aqua Paradise water park a few miles away had a free bus and was fantastic, best part of our holiday. Useful to know that you can travel on the local buses for 1Lev (about 50p).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and My husband stayed at this hotel on 16th sept-23sept 2013, we requested either a pool view or sea view and were disappointed to get neither as we thought we may get one as its quiet this time of year, instead we got a view of the main road and most nights kept awake by traffic or horses trotting by.
The hotel and hotel room itself were gorgeous, very clean and tidy, very modern, spacious. The hotel staff were helpful and always polite.
Breakfast was always busy and sometimes u were left wondering around with food in ur hands but no where to sit as all the tables were full, by the time u were seated ur food was cold although the food was never hot anyway it was always luke warm.
Although at the buffet there was a vairety of food it was the same variety of food every night and after the 3rd night it become unappetising and we ate out. The all inclusive drinks were great though, unlimted amount of drinks at any time and any drink. all though the waiters would help themself to drinks and put it on ur receipt and when confronted they would just smile and say"well you dont have to pay for it ".
The pool in the day was far to cold everybody at the poolside complained and even days when it was 32 degrees people wouldn't go into the pool and some even made formal complaints.
The entertainment at the hotel was non existent, there was always a board up in reception listing pool side activities and at what time but they never happened and by the 4th day i asked a member of staff and got told "we dont bother anymore as everyone just says no because they are sunbathing". There was very little cheesy entertainment at night such as a cheap childrens plastic bingo machine to which the winner of bingo would win a cocktail even thought they were all inclusive anyway. I was very disappointed by the lack of entertainment and most nights were just spent having a drink and watching tv in reception unless you wanted to go out clubbing on the strip were the drinks were expensive and you have to pay to use the toilet in all the clubs.
The hotel was full of old couples and there was nothing for younger couples although im not sure if that is because of the time of year we went.
The shopping mall inside the hotel is average although alot of the clothes are tacky but very expensive.
The spa in the hotel was very nice although again very pricey and you get pestered everyday to have a treatment as a rep walks around the pool n trys get u book n pay, in the end i gave in and paid for a 15 min back massage which cost 75 lev.
The beach is only 50 metres away but its a nightmare getting to it as you havr to walk past, clubs , shops restaurants to which someone will try and drag you in even tattoo studios so it was really off putting.
I would consider going back to this hotel but only in peak season when there would be more entertainment and more younger people around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the Barceló for the last week in September and again had a wonderful holiday. This was our third year in a row here and we were not disappointed. Check in was quick and efficient we were taken to our room which was the same room as last year so it was perfect.Next morning went to breakfast and it was lovely to be greeted by some familiar faces and some new ones .Our days were spent lounging by the pool and having some great lunches cooked by Chef Boqn the fresh mussels were fab as were all the dishes he cooked for us .The service at the pool bar was superb provided by stoyan and valin thanks a million guys you were great. There are a lot of new management this year but they all looked after us extremely well we would like to thank Deputy general manager Daniel Bielsa Gibaja Operations manager Christo Food and beverages manager ivo and Bar manager ivalo Thank you for everything .As previous years the cleanliness of the hotel was amazing .We spent some fantastic evenings in the Al la carte restaurant with outstanding service been provided yet again by our dear friend Styno he deserves an award for his impeccable service and attention to detail. The terrace bar for after dinner drinks was a great place to meet up with people and have a chat and sometimes a little sing song .Again great bar service was provided by Ivalo theo and Borislan thanks a million guys .We met some wonderful people there and had a great craic .Last but not least thank you to Martin on reception and his fantastic team who went out of there way to help in any way they could .Looking forward to returning next year Hope you all have a great rest after your long season Jacqui & Greg Phelan

Room Tip: eight floor with pool and sea view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Royal Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Royal Beach 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Royal Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Sunny Beach
Barcelo Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.