We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Sunny Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Royal Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Royal Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Royal Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #12 of 209 Hotels in Sunny Beach
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Paradise in Sunny Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our second visit to this Hotel and i have to say we had an amazing time.We stayed the last week in september the weather was fab glourious sunshine everyday .We had a room on the eight floor complete with sea and pool view simply stunning.As return guests a lot of the staff remembered us from last year and the service yet again from each and everyone of them went above and beyond the call of duty.If you want true five star in Sunny Beach this is an Oasis of quality cleanliness and top class service.The food is excellent its the small things that make it so special like the crispy bacon at breakfast and i found i didnt like the oil eggs were fried in and every moring the Chef(Maryan) cooked my eggs to perfection without oil and they were delious.Buffet restaurant was very efficently by the manager Nikolay who went out of his way to do everything he possibly could for you.The service and food at the pool Bistro and bar was fab,we stayed on the all inclusive package and the value for money was fantastic .Everyday tou had a great choice cooked order for lunch everything from prawns fresh pizza delious meat skewers pastas fresh salads ect ect.A big thank you to the staff at the pool and bistro for there amazing sevice and freindship especially Petetar , Ivalo ,Petra and constanio.We ate every night in the Ala carte restaurant and this was one of the best part of our holiday The food was excellent and the service was top class .Its managed by Ogygan and the head waiter Styno who now feel like old friends to us thank for going above and beyond the call of duty and making every meal memorable.What makes this hotel so special is the very hard work and commitment by the general manager Joseph he is on the floor from early morning to late at night making sure everything runs smoothly and is always on hand to deal with any problems guests may have A big thank you to Joseph for everything.The exuetive Chef kustev is fantastic he cooks from the heart and it shows in every dish he prepares .While we were there it was our anniversary and he cooked a special meal for us which was out of this world (especially the soft shelled crab ) Thank you Kustev as far as the food is concerned he makes the Barcelo royal the fantastic food experince it is .Public relations is run by the lovely and friendly Natalie who keeps that side of the hotel in tip top condition.The Bar service is excellent and the friendly and efficent staff cant do eneough for you .We found the service from the front desk staff exceptional especially Martin thank you for all your help it was appreciated.Finally a special mention to the Twins Constanio and petra they welcome you into the restaurants and make sure all is perfect for you .Thank you again Joseph and your amazing team cant wait to return next year Regards Greg & Jacqui

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get on the top floor for amazing pool and sea views lying in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    123
    37
    24
    17
See reviews for
157
176
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here the last week of September for our honeymoon! I cannot fault the hotel one bit! Sunny beach however, as a resort, is AWFUL! Back to the hotel though, we arrived at half 1 in the morning and were greated by friendly reception staff and porters. Check in was quick and we went straight up to our room where there was champagne on ice and a lovely selection of breads, meats and cheese waiting for us! We were on the 4th floor and our room was lovely! Very spacious and modern. The view wasn't the best as was overlooking the street in front of the hotel instead of the pool and sea but this was compensated by the gorgeous sunsets in the mountains every evening!

The decor of the hotel in general is very sleek, comfortable and modern.

Clean Towels are provided for the pool every morning and the sunbeds are great and plentiful!

We went all inclusive and found the food to be tasty and enjoyable if not slightly repetitive. But the a la carte restaurant and the pool bar provided something a bit different if you fancy it! All in all the food tasted great and the drinks were kept flowing. Drinks from the bar in the evening were by waiter service and the staff doing this were all very friendly and courteous! Most evenings while we were there, there was a pianist playing which was nice.

Outside of the hotel is a different story! It really is like 2 separate worlds!

We will be returning to this hotel, simply because of the quality of the decor, food and service provided! Top class! Definitely worth the 5*!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went back to this hotel again on September 8th for a week. Had the most fantastic holiday, beautiful room, with a huge balcony. Spotlessly clean, and the room service was superb! I cannot fault this hotel, it offers everything that you need for a really relaxing holiday. From the fluffy bath robes, luxury toiletries, to the huge comfortable bed. The staff were always smiling and so pleasant. When my husband and I go on holiday we want to see value for money, enjoy ourselves and to also look back and ask ourselves would we would go back again! Did this holiday meet the criteria? Yes, and more so, and we will definately be returning!! I felt like a millionaire, happy, loving the luxury, and totally content and relaxed! Thankyou Barcelo for providing us with such a wonderful time. You definately have the WOW factor!

Room Tip: Sorry, but I want to keep secret the room that my husband and I had, otherwise I may not be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Barcelo Royal Beach from 7th to 21st September 2012. We found the hotel to be beautifuly clean,the rooms were large and the food was excellent. It was very convenient for the beach--about 100metres away-- and the 3 hotel pools were very well equipped with plenty of sunbeds always available. We were all-inclusive and although we were there for a fortnight, the meals were never repetitive. While the buffet meals were good we found the food in Le Caprice restaurant to be much better with excellent service. The staff overall were very attentive and congratulations must go to the General manager Josef and his senior staff. Any minor problems were always sorted out efficiently and wih good humour.
We would warmly recommend this hotel.

Leo and Therese

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are worth paying that little bit extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are currently at the Barcelo Royal Beach hotel and have been here for the last week. The hotel itself is very grand and the lobby looks very beautiful. We arrived late on Monday due to our plane being delayed by 3 hours. After reading lots of reviews on here we were expecting a tray of food to be in our room on arrival, however this was not the case and we asked for a meal, being that we are half board. we were told that the chefs had gone home and we would not be getting any food.

However that has been on only gripe with the hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect, it is right in the centre of sunny beach however it is set just back from the beach so it is nice and quiet in the evenings. The food in the buffet at night is good, not amazing and certainly not 5 star but it is edible, all be it a bit repetitive. Do not expect glorious desserts though as they are all disgusting, which is a shame for a sugar fiend like myself!

The pool area is lovely, plenty of sunbeds with nice cushions and 3 big pools to chose from. Yes they are very cold, but they are not so cold you cant use them like some of the other reviews have said. The best way is to go to the smaller pool first then go into the larger pool if you really can't stand the cold. However being that it is 30 degrees plus in the day the cold pool is actually lovely.

We have found all the staff to be lovely and very helpful. In fact we have found all the Bulgarians to be very friendly people and not rude in the slightest. However they can be very annoying trying to get you into their restaurant!

Sunny Beach itself is pretty horrible, unless you like cheap bars and dirty looking food. The beach however is lovely and it is not completely covered in sun beds either, there are plenty of free areas to sit on. Watch out for the nudist bit though! Was a shock.

The coast is beautiful and Old Town Nessebar is stunning. If you are up for a walk then the walk along the beach front to Nessebar is glorious and a brilliant way to take in all the scenery that this resort has to offer. We would love to visit Bulgaria again however we will not be staying in Sunny Beach.

All in all we have had a good holiday and the hotel has been very nice. Yes it isn't a 5 star hotel really, 4 star at best, however it is defiantly the best hotel in the resort without a shadow of doubt. Plus for the money we paid you cannot really go wrong. We have also been lucky with the weather and have had clear blue skies and temperatures of over 30 degrees every single day.

We would recommend this holiday if you want sun and sand and didn't mind how tacky the resort is, however if you are looking for that full 5 star luxury experience then do not choose Bulgaria.

Room Tip: Ask for Block D, room 410 was amazing. Pool and sea view in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week in August in one of the apartments, hotel itself appears very swish, but the standard of cleanliness, equipment levels in the apartments and in house prices let it down. Access to the beach is great, within 100m of the hotel, the hotel is very big, with a great pool area and quite a few restaurants near by. The walk to the main action areas at night is within about half a mile. There wee not enough towels provided in the room and thus varied in a daily basis, the equipment levels and quality in the apartments was poor and made self catering ( breakfast and occasional lunches) awkward. It can be a long way from the hotel room to the pool if you forget anything. The staff on reception could be a little more helpful, though I am unsure if this was due to a language barrier!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just come back from this so called 5 star hotel what a total joke rooms are dirty staff are rude,pools are to cold to even put a toe in.Kids club closed pool side bar closed and 70% of there shops were closed never even got a welcome pack after arriving at 3am.Fridges are locked in rooms with nothing in them lol and this is a 5 star hotel no wonder the russians left it behind as for Thomas cook well dont know were to start we will never ever book with them again as the saying goes we have had your money we dont give a [--] So please Please dont even think about this hotel it looks good on the outside but hand on heart is not inside its a 2 STAR at that and dont use Thomas cook.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Royal Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Royal Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Royal Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Sunny Beach
Barcelo Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Royal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.