We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Cheap Gettaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LION Hotel Sunny Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added LION Hotel Sunny Beach to your Saves list
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 08240, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 205 Hotels in Sunny Beach
hertfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Nice Cheap Gettaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We Travelled to the Lion Hotel as a last minute gettaway. Having looked at the Hotel just before I went on Trip Advisor I was extreemly worried. My advice would be is to dont go with too high expectations, not just of the Hotel but Sunny Beach itself. If if you look at the top hotels such as the Majestic and Barcello beach, yes they are very nice, but even they are not going to be of the same caliber as the top hotels in the Caribean, Sharm el Shiek or even Turkey for that matter. Sunny beach itself is like a nice seaside town in the sun with lots of bars and a bit of construction work going on. It is not the place for a romantic, or exotic gettaway but it is a good place to chill out which not going to kill your bank balance in these hard times. There are alot of vendors trying to sell you things but generally you are never going to pay the same sort of prices as you do in other holiday destinations. One of the previous reviewers has left an idea of what everthing costs which is accurate.

The Hotel is located a small walk from the beach I found this to be ok as some of the top Hotels are situated right on top of the promenade where crowds of people are walking past and the Lion Hotel is out of the way and quite peaceful. A little a bit of noise from Sun City next door but nothing that disturbed our sleep.

I can understand people's complaints about the food there is not much choice that's true and we have had much better food at all inclusive resorts and this was half board but then we paid alot more to stay at the other 5 star resorts that we have been to. However it is really not that bad, the breads were nice, there was plenty of meat and veg and we never went hungry. If you are a seroius foodie though I would not reccommend Sunny Beach in general as most of the bars and restuarants and hotels serve simple meats, veg and junk food. The lunch time menu at the hotel was pretty good and we found the pool side service to be not bad at all. We never found the staff to be miserable or unpleasent. If you give out good vibes you will recieve them back. There are 2 small pools and a small bar outside.

The room was clean, and had good basic amenities. The house keeping was good.

Considering we paid less £650 (not each but for the 2 of us combined) this was pretty good. Its not the sort of place that I would book my one and only a holiday that I have been wating for all year for ! or my honeymoon ! but for last minute gettaway it was good. To sum it up, this Hotel is basic but good and reminds me of a decent Premier Inn standard Hotel in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    24
    17
    2
See reviews for
17
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Me my partner and young boy went to stay at the sunny lion hotel 27 august to 6 september we arrived in the early hours of the morning and were showed to our room which was on the 5th floor when we had persificly asked for a low floor because we had a child when we rang reception we were told it was too late late and there was nothing they could do and the phone was put down on us,the next morning we went down to the reception again and complained that look half an hour as the english was terrible and they couldnt understand a word that you said eventually we were moved to the 2nd floor.The room in which we were moved to was above the kitchen and at nite when trying to sleep all we could hear was the staff sat below chattering and laughing.The food is atroshish i wouldnt feed it to my dog there wasnt anything that was edable. If your looking for a hotel that has entertainment this isnt it it doesnt have any what so ever the hotel is clean and the rooms are nice and there is a bar man called martin who is polite and will make you feel welcome but the other staff are very rude and arrogant and there are no other english families in this resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craiova,Romania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

It was my first time in Bulgaria. The hotel was very very nice, quiet, great services, very clean, very good food, gret staff, large rooms-pool view, huge bed, clean bathroom,free wireless internet. I do not understand why this hotel has so many bad reviews!!??? The only "bad" thing about Lion is probably the fact that is about 5 minutes from the sea and that the water in the pool is very cold :D. But of that , the hotel shows its 4 stars. Although i was expecting less of it. I will go back there anytime. Perhaps next year....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 week in June 2010. We knew its location prior to going having been to Sunny Beach on numerous occasions. We had read about the steep bridge at the entrance and whilst it may be a problem for elderly or infirm it was not a problem. Check in was very quick and even though we were only B&B were told that there was a meal (salad) waiting for us in dining room which was very welcome as we arrived at approx 12.30 at night (nice touch). Only had breakfast on one morning and it was adequate.
We really only used the hotel as a place to sleep and in that respect it was perfect. Cleaned every day. Hire of safety deposit box 4lev a day and they are located behind the reception. The hinge on our balcony door was broken one evening. We reported it when we were going out and it had been fixed on our return.
The bus stop is only a 2 minute walk and from there you can get bus to the centre or into Nessebar for only 1lev. Supermarket is across the road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just returned home from staying in the Lion Hotel Sunny Beach with my gitlfriend.

The hotel was basic and definitely not a 4 star hotel
the bar area consisted of 3 tables and chairs and that was it in the foyer and horrible smoke!
There was no entertainment
there was one pool table that was the gamesroom
food was bloody aweful cold and was unrecognisable on some nights,
The waitresses was so rude they took your plates before you had time to finish.
Often all tables in the restaurant are full and you need to wait for a table and ponce (terrible) the person on the door to restaurant takes your room number and lets you enter a full restaurant. breakfast was aweful if you like eggs you might like it.
the food was most of the time cold,
Generally the meat was under cooked for us english folk.
often didnt get asked if we wanted drinks once we found a table.
Zero atmosphere.
POOL was very very cold bare in mind if your not going peak its unuseable. we walked into a 3 star near lion hotel and seen people using the pool when it was a cold day this pool was heated in a 3 star hotel. (go figure)
everyday the HOT water will run out after people come back in the afternoon and maybe in the morning.

if you want my advice. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for our 21st birthdays in August/ September 2008 for 10 days. On getting to the hotel there was quite a steep bridge to get over - no problems for us but if anyone went who has a disability then they would struggle. On arrival we were provided with sandwiches and a drink which was lovely. The rooms were very spacious and the pool in the evening looks lovely. On our second day we decided to have a walk to the beach but it took us quite a while to find our way - the beach is approximately a 15min walk but is worth it when you get there - I would recommend one of the massages that they do on the beach! In terms of nightlife we discovered the main strip which again is about a 15minute walk from the hotel - the main strip is lively with bars and clubs - we found a lovely one called 'Cocoon'. In terms of the resort itself I would not return - I think that it is simply a 'sunny Blackpool' and was not as cheap as my family and friends who have been made it out to be. I would not recommend the food at the hotel - although it was sat on hot plates it was very cold and breakfast wasn't the best either - I stuck to croissants and bread! Saying this there are plently of places to eat out and there are some lovely little restaurants. Another thing to add is that we got a bike ride off one of the lads along the beach front however do not trust these people - he said that he would charge 15 for us both but when he dropped us off he insisted on 50 each - we went to get the hotel manager though and by this time he disappeared - don't trust them at all!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

All the staff were polite and friendly. The hotel rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard. Buffet style breakfast & evening meals. There was a variety of cold foods, hot foods, soups & bread, local foods- very tasty! We reported that our shower hadbroken- this was repaired a few moments later! A choice of water parks close by, which alsoprovide a free bus service. Plenty of places to walk to, or travel to. The beach was quite crowded- but by the time we've built our sandcastle & had a swim we're off! Not a shoppers paradise. Along the beah of an evening it's a bit like " Turkey meets Blackpool!" Far too many hotels. Shops sell much the same thing along the walk.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LION Hotel Sunny Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Sunny Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 08240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Sunny Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LION Hotel SUNNY BEACH opened at the beginning of July 2005. The hotel offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation in wonderful surroundings. Ideal for unwinding with a drink at the pool bar or a walk to the nearby sandy beach or the resort center. This stylish, modern complex is located in the north part of Sunny Beach resort 300 m from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your LION Hotel Sunny Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LION Hotel Sunny Beach Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LION Hotel Sunny Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.