We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read This First” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evrika Beach Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Evrika Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evrika Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Club Hotel Riu Evrika)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 204 hotels in Sunny Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Read This First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Arrived back yesterday from a 10 night stint at the Evrika, I was alarmed at the amount of negative comments on trip advisor hopefully this sets the record straight.
We arrived at 22.00 hours check in was painless and we were offered a spot to eat in the Bulgarian restaurant which was continental breakfast after a long trip it was appreciated.
Food no complaints Asian good but not enough still hungry when came back out, Bulgarian was the same as in the main restaurant and Italian didn't use due to all the adverse comments. The main buffet restaurant food was great no complaints there is plenty of choice you would struggle to go hungry you are allocated a time when you arrive if this is not suitable see the restaurant manager and he will change it no problem . Drink was okay lager and white wine were just about drinkable I ended up drinking Evrika Visions a vodka based cocktail - lethal. Two pools- noisy and quiet to get a sunbed at the noisy pool you need to get up at the crack of dawn no such problems with the quiet pool and the beach. Entertainment not my cup of tea but my youngest enjoyed the kids disco which is on six days a week. Be aware of the photographers in costumes as cartoon characters its ten levs a photo and they take four they are not just at this hotel but on the beach too and after a while a pain in the bum!!.
Weather was fantastic the whole stay ,wasps were a pain but you cant have everything. Would we go back? - YEAH

Room Tip: don't bother with a pool view can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvrikaBeachClubHotel, Online Customer Service Representative at Evrika Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

On behalf of the entire staff and management team of DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel, I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent holiday. We greatly value your support and kind comments.

Our team was thrilled to read your heartfelt words of candid appreciation for your Evrika experience. We are delighted to learn that you and your family have enjoyed the hotel facilities, activities and services. Our main goal has been achieved – obviously we have turned your stay into a memorable holiday and you are already looking forward to the next season.

We remain at your entire disposal for any questions or requests you may have before your next visit.

Warm regards

Online Customer Service Representative
DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    132
    52
    16
    14
See reviews for
194
118
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at the Evrika hotel Sunny Beach for 14 nights with friends; had great time. Hotel was clean, food was plentiful - something for everyone, could really not complain. Asian and Italian restaurants were great although not so impressed with the Bulgarian as was pretty much the same as main restaurant. Would like to say a big thank you to Head chef, Valentine, in the main restaurant - he was extremely pleasant, approachable, helpful, nothing was too much trouble and always had a smile on his face. Entertainment staff tried very hard and were also extremely friendly. Rooms were very average but clean. Only disappointment was no free wifi! Overall, most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvrikaBeachClubHotel, Online Customer Service Representative at Evrika Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write this review and share your positive experience with TripAdvisor community. However, I just want to comment on some aspects of your summary.

We are glad that food was to your liking. We truly regret you missed out on some delicious Bulgarian dishes and pastry such as bean soup made with special Bulgarian spices and herbs, fried zucchini with garlic yogurt sauce, gyuvech, which is a stew similar to the French ratatouille, banitsa, a cheese and eggs phyllo dough pastry, tikvenik, a sweet pumpkin strudel and etc. If you had asked anyone from our staff, they would have recommended you a dish to sample and get a real taste of Bulgaria. Further, your compliment will be passed on to Valentine.

We are sorry you felt rather disappointed to find out that Wi-Fi is chargeable. To avoid any confusion, we clearly state it incurs an extra charge. Thomson’s website also confirms that this service is not included in your All Inclusive package. Evrika is not a business hotel and our pricing is in line with similar establishments. Nonetheless, please rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best regards

Online Customer Service Representative
DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone food was great so much choice not like most buffet layouts they serve food for most part of the day and the lunch menu was great lots of snacks the Bulgarian restaurant is a must also the staff are lovely so friendly and the maids do a great job. Five bars on site the beer is locally brewed and very refreshing also great selection of cocktails me and my girlfriend went mojito crazy if staying here I would recommend getting up early and getting a bed by the pool beach ect. The only downside of our hotel was the doctors if you go in with anything they just put you on a drip to get money off your insurance company so don't go near them unless you are very very sick. Also our rep was very friendly and recommended a catamaran cruise which was amazing seen two lots of dolphins free drinks lunch swimming and an awesome dvd with some great memories would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvrikaBeachClubHotel, Online Customer Service Representative at Evrika Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We send you warm greetings from Sunny Beach! Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We could not be happier with your feedback on our hotel and staff.

It is particularly gratifying to know that you felt very well attended. At DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel we encourage a friendly attitude because we are aware it will give us the competitive edge that will help us succeed.

We appreciate you mentioned the fact that delicious food is served throughout the day along with snacking options between meals. Further, your advice on visiting the Bulgarian restaurants suggests you have enjoyed our traditional dishes to the fullest. We realize taste is an individual thing and our locally brewed beer has a different flavour, however we are pleased to hear you found it refreshing and of course there is nothing better on a hot summer day than a cool mojito.

Once again, many thanks for choosing our hotel. We are glad we have succeeded to turn a satisfied customer into a repeat customer. To make sure your next summer holiday experience is even better, we would like to offer you a personal booking guidance. Feel free to contact us by email prior your arrival.

Warm regards,

Online Customer Service Representative
DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I visited the Evrika hotel with my girlfriend and various other friends and family through a reasonably affordable Thomson package. Upon arrival first impressions were decent. We were in the D block to begin with which was clearly the pick of all blocks as it was renovated quite recently. Had a lovely view of the beach. Beds were comfortable and housekeeping was of a high standard daily. After a day though the problems occurred with the shower landing where pools of water were ploughing through the cracks in the floor and into the main area and this soaked our clothing which was in that area at the time. The pull out bed in which my girlfriends brother was sleeping on broke during the night which I accept was bad luck now but at the time added to the growing concerns.

Contacting our Thomson rep about this was useless. Possibly a guy who's been too long into a job and needs a career change ASAP. Didn't care one bit and came in late most morning due to a 'rough night'. In the end I went direct to the hotel myself with the problems which was difficult at first but eventually got a family room change in the A block on the 3rd day. The room was supposed to be an upgrade but with view and quality lost it felt the other direction. But in the end we weren't planning to stay indoors on our holiday.

The resort itself is clean and modern. Water park is decent with plenty of beds but during peak times good luck in finding one. The all inclusive food and drinks are a disappointment. Alcohol was a joke and was often left frustrated that the kids maybe having something stronger. Food in the main hall was okay but the booking restaurants were rubbish. Chinese was a bland buffet with no flavour and the Italian was a massive disappointment. They tell you to book early but go round the corner and treat yourself to a couple of nights to a few of the nice bars. The fat cat bar was a particularly good one.

The entertainment team seemed great for kids and were in good numbers but some of the adult events (water polo eg) the entertainment crew insisted on playing and really ruined the experience as they were quite clearly better than everyone else and they HATED losing. The bar staff were laughable.....continuously trying to smash glasses and plates when they could. I watched to my amusement 2 stooges trying to throw glasses when the other wasn't looking for what reason I could not say.....but ended with eyebrows raised from everyone.

Lots of negatives I know but this was meant to be of 4 star quality and it felt borderline 2/3. The resort itself is really nice but a review needs to be done of the quality of food/drink/staff as it feels like cheap batteries are running an expensive toy.

Recommend highly trips to the Nessebar, Quad bikes and to Khans Tent in particular which I advise not to go through the Thomson rep as the tickets are more expensive and his service is awful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k_mihova, Manager at Evrika Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel for your summer holiday. Please allow me to respond to your comments regarding the room change.

We remember it all very well looking back. You have booked a double room with sea view, which is equipped with two regular beds and a pull-out sofa or an extra folding bed. This type of room sleeps up to three adults. However, as soon as you have reported your issues to reception (which otherwise could easily be fixed), our front office manager has agreed to offer you a free upgrade. There must have been a misconception when booking because you told us you thought a double room meant a room with two premises.

We truly listen to our guests’ needs and try to adapt our services in order to make you feel at home. Therefore, we advised you to move into a family room as soon as one is available without any surcharge. This room category actually costs extra and sleeps up to four people. Further, it has a living room and a separate bedroom to ensure our guests’ privacy. We regret you have not mentioned directly on the spot that the family room was not exactly to your liking. Kindly note that all of our family rooms have park view because it is much quieter compared to the poolside or the seafront.

We are committed to ensure our valuable guests the best experience during their holidays with beautiful facilities, international cuisine, dedicated service and attentiveness. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope that you will consider choosing us again when planning future travel to Bulgaria.

Best regards,

Online Customer Service Representative
DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Evrika Beach 08.07.13 for 11 nights.
This was our first family holiday with our 2 little ones though we were a party of 6 - Myself, husband, 3 children (16,5 & 2) & mum.
We had 2 rooms - I had asked for them to be next to each-other, but they weren't, though we were on the same ground level, & in the same block. There are 4 blocks A-D. We were in block B with a garden view which was really nice - private & quiet. In fact even though it was one of the older blocks (blocks C & D newer) I'm glad we were there as it would have been very noisy I think in one of the others.
The first day we were up about 9.30/10am (due to arriving early hours of that morning) & we had no hope of getting a sunbed so we went to the beach. This was fine as it was our first day & so were getting used to our surroundings. The beach has lots of free sunbeds, and also a beach bar selling soft drinks & beer. It was relatively clean & there was a nice welcome breeze coming in from the Sea as it was very hot. However - with our younger children we decided we would be poolside for the rest of the holiday as sand & nappies don't go together! So given that the sunbeds were already taken late morning we guessed we'd have to be up early to get a sunbed. And we weren't wrong. If you want one - you need to get there about 6am - no joke. The hotel say that they control sunbed reserving, and will remove towels if they see any reserved - but this is not the case. It happened once - about 5/6 days into our holiday. So then what you had to do was sit with the sunbeds until 8.30am when you could then get up & leave them. Not a problem for us as we're always up early but not good for people who want a lie in!
The pools themselves were great. The kids waterpark was fab - shallow enough for our 2 year old to walk around in. The water jets etc were on for 2 hours in the morning & 2 hours in the afternoon. The 2nd pool with the waterslides was equally just as good, and it also had a lazy river going round the perimeter. My son who was 5 (& able to swim with armbands) was able to go on 1 of the slides but not really the other 2. We all loved the lazy river especially my 2 year old daughter. The main pool was huge. This is where you had a swim up bar, and also pool entertainment. This would be on & off throughout the day with a Wednesday being quiet as it was the animation team's day off.
The food was great - yes it did get a bit repetitive week 2 but even so there was plenty of choice. You had to book to eat in one of the themed restaurants (Asian, Bulgarian & Italian). We ate in the Asian (OK but saw no Asian's cooking!) & the Bulgarian. The Bulgarian was definitely the best meal we had whilst there - clearly because they know what they're doing! It was delicious. Casserole type dishes with lots of flavour.
Breakfast was full of everything imaginable.
The children loved the Ice Creams - you could have them everyday from lunchtime through to tea-time. Lunch times would always consist of freshly baked pizzas, salads, kebabs, chips (but you could have chips with every meal!). Fresh Fruit. In the afternoon they would have cakes & fruit, some savoury bits.
Dinners they would have 2 sittings 6-7.30pm & 8pm-9.30pm. To be honest you're better off getting there at the beginning of either one -that way then you'll get a seat. If you turn up half way through you'll struggle to get a table.
The kids club was OK - my son went a few times. However he was the only English boy! The hotel mainly had guests staying from Germany, Holland & Russia.
The evening entertainment was OK - they did put shows on but the only one we went to was the one with the children in it. They usually wouldn't start til about 9.30pm at night and when you have little ones it gets a bit late. We would usually have a few drinks in the bar after dinner, then go for a walk along the strip. There was a childrens disco @ 7.30pm for 1/2 hour - was lovely to see children from different nationalities dancing & having fun together. Both of my little ones loved it.
The strip that runs along the beach is made up of hotels & bars, and is very commercial. You're constantly being asked to go into bars/restaurants which does get a bit annoying. But its busy & lots going on and a different scene from the hotel.
We went to Nessebar one day. First choice do a trip but its expensive. You can get a bus from outside the hotel for 1lev (about 50p) and it takes you to the town - its about 20 mins drive. Its lovely there & well worth a visit. Its what I imagined traditional Bulgaria to be like. We got a boat back & that was fun - Sea was a bit choppy but it was good. That was 10 levs per adult & 5 per child. It's all quite cheap outside the hotel.
All in all I'd say this was a fab family hotel and a great choice if you're after a relaxing family break with something to keep the children occupied.

Room Tip: Block B room 179 is a quiet room! Bit dated but very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k_mihova, Manager at Evrika Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We appreciate your compliments on our beach, pools, water park and food. We try very hard to please all of our guests. An extensive review like yours is always helpful, especially as it sounds like you really enjoyed your stay here.

I am very glad that you were pleased with your rooms. As you well mentioned, block B is indeed quiet, it is beautifully situated among trees and peaceful surroundings. We are grateful you have recognized us for our hard work providing you comfortable accommodation and rooms being close together.

All our customers agree that the beach bar is a nice feature, which is included in the All-Inclusive package. As of this year, working hours have been extended. The number of sunbeds is consistent with the number of adults. Although we try to make sure reservation of sunbeds does not happen, we apologize if we failed. It can be a daunting task at times. Please, remember you can always ask our pool staff to assist you in finding one.

I am delighted that the Bulgarian restaurant, its employees and gastronomical offerings provided you with such a positive experience. It showcases the very best local and regional dishes and produce available. Your kind words will be passed on to our entire team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and amazing support. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Online Customer Service Representative
DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgill, Scotland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall summary was that this hotel didn't live up to expectations or the price we paid.

Food choice I thought was good, quality was decent but it was always lukewarm, which may be how Bulgarian's eat but it won't suit the majority of Brits. The soup, pizza and kebabs at lunchtime were the best food items.

Drinks in the main were awful from cocktails, coffee and even the soft drinks which were invariably warm. Ice must be expensive in Bulgaria as either they never gave you any or if you were lucky you may get 1 cube. Although the plastic cups were so small, you probably wouldn't get 2 cubes in!

The pool was good, sunbeds as everywhere are at a premium and the waterpark was a nice extra. However why it was only open for 5 hours a day seemed a tad strange. The pool was the dirtiest part of the hotel as it did have an insect cemetery floating around in it which never seemed to go away.

We had 2 rooms for a family of 5 and although I asked if these could be together or close, sadly they were not which did make our holiday a little worse. We had a newer room and an older room - bonus was beds were comfy, air con was good and you also got a small fridge which was handy.

The entertainment is simply not worth watching - worst I have ever seen by a country mile. The evening entertainment venue was also a problem as it was an auditorium with benches - no tables and not even close to one of the bars.

For the first time on an AI we ate out and drank out a few nights. Around the hotel are lots of shops, bars, restaurants and the little tourist train stops rights outside and it will save you a 15 minute walk to the centre area. Most people speak English and happy hours that last all day, make cocktails reasonably priced. Local beer is also cheap. I didn't think eating out was much cheaper than back in the UK. Definitely buy your travel money here, the small foreign exchanges will rip you off - I got charged an extra £60 fee for £500 and apparently they can charge as high as 20% legally.

Trading standards has clearly not found Sunny Beach as it was knock off city, so if you want cheap replica strips, this is the place to come. You can haggle on price with the locals if you want a little fun.

We also usually go a lot of excursions but apart from Khan's tent, there wasn't anything that great to choose from.

All in all, the hotel wasn't terrible but it wasn't great - the hotel has a lot of work to do, to make it a true quality establishment.

I hate being negative, so to finish on a positive point, we enjoyed our holiday here but we won't be back - too many better places in the world.

Room Tip: You can email hotel in advance but I think if you are a package holidaymaker your request is politel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k_mihova, Online Customer Service Representative at Evrika Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel. We truly regret to hear that your expectations were not met during your visit to our hotel premises. We would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay so we could have helped you to enjoy a pleasant holiday.

We have already discussed your comments on drinks with the bar manager and it appears you are referring to either the pool bar or the beach bar since we have no glass policy there for safety reasons. All bartenders kindly ask our guests whether they would prefer their drinks served with or without ice. This is rule number one when standing behind the counter, apart from ‘Always wear a smile’, of course. Unfortunately, there is currently no ice at the beach bar, although the post-mix includes a refrigeration unit. However, we realize ice cubes are a must, therefore, soon our guests will be able to enjoy their soft drinks at the beach with plentiful ice. Moreover, two different sizes of plastic cups are available right now. Please know that at our hotel we genuinely care about each and every single guest.

Furthermore, we were very surprised to read that you found the pool to be not properly cleaned. Evrika Beach Hotel works with a private company that offers pest control services and regular checks are run. Additionally, their employees stay at our disposal only a phone call away, if needed. Our sanitation methods include filtration, disinfection and regular testing of pool water, including chlorine and pH levels. Despite the above-mentioned please note that insects seem to be related to plants and trees, and as you know, vast green areas surround our hotel’s facilities.

As for the opening hours of the water park, we consider they are reasonable because silence must be kept between 12 pm and 3 pm. Evrika Beach Club Hotel is a family-oriented establishment, hence, we observe the silence rule and we do not want to allow any disturbance of our guests’ afternoon nap. On the other hand, we are grateful you have pointed out that there are enough sunbeds and the benefits of the water park.

I am sorry that we were not able to offer you two rooms side by side. As you have stated, we have received an e-mail with your guest wish. I would like to emphasize that we thoroughly read all the questions we get, reply back and we do consider them when making the allotment of rooms. I have reviewed our logs and please rest assured that the front office manager has done her best. These rooms were the only one available on the same floor on 28th June. Moreover, it does not seem that you have informed reception later on, otherwise we surely would have offered you to change at least one of them. I hope it did not detract that much from your enjoyment of your holiday, although we are glad that you were pleased with the furniture and the appliances.

Also, the amphitheatre where some of the night shows are held is designed to sit as many people as possible. Spectators are encouraged to get beverages in plastic cups of course, however, a show only lasts an hour and afterwards three bars are still open. Evrika Beach Club Hotel is a large hotel complex, which occupies considerable land areas, comprising four buildings, making it virtually impossible to locate all facilities in close proximity to each other.

We are thankful of your feedback as it helps us identify areas we need to improve. If we get the opportunity to welcome you again, we will do everything within our power to win you back.

Warmest regards,

Online Customer Service Representative
DIT Evrika Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went for a week at the beginning of July with our 1 year old boy for our wedding anniversary.
First impressions were good. Hotel was clean. Room a little small but adequate. View from the balcony was pretty much another hotel, some tree's and the back of a sex shop! Also the balcony had glass panels. Obviously our 1 year old was never allowed on as it looked very unsafe. We were on the 3rd floor. The lift only took you to the 2nd floor then you have to go up a flight of stairs. Not ideal with a pushchair but we managed. The hotel is all inclusive and is supposed to be 4 star. I would say it was only a 4 star because of it's size. The 'local' drinks are average at best. Beer is pretty naff. If you want anything 'decent' you have to pay extra.
Now for the food. We went to the themed italian restaurant which was lovely. Food was freshly made and served to your table (unlike the asian and bulgarian, which are buffet style). Only gripe on this one is it took ages for our desserts to arrive. We could see them sat on the side but the staff kept by-passing them. Eventually I went up and complained to a waiter but said I wanted fresh as there had been flies around the ones that had been sat there.
The main restaurant was always really busy. Very difficult to find somewhere to sit, plus we always had to 'hunt' someone down to get a high chair. On our 2nd night our baby was constantly vomiting so we ended up having to take him to the on site doctor where we were given anti-sickness drops. The next day he was a little subdued but stopped vomiting. We put it down to something possibly disagreeing with him. The following day my husband and I were both unwell vomiting. We had only eaten in the hotel so came to the conclusion we had all contracted food poisoning. 3 days wasted of a week long holiday is really unacceptable. We informed our Thomson rep and we had to fill sickness forms in to go to risk consul. We decided we weren't going to eat in the hotel for the rest of the week even though we had paid for this all inclusive place. On one of the days as my husband passed the main restaurant before it opened for dinner he witnessed 2 chefs 'testing' the food but putting their hands in different items. Sorry but they are now contaminated! The hotel itself was always spotlessly clean and the maids cleaned our room everyday. Both pools were far too busy. You literally had to get up in the middle of the night to 'reserve' a sunbed, even though your not supposed to reserve beds. The staff never removed any towels. We went to the beach most days which was very crowded but always got beds. The resort now. If you like places like benidorm this is for you. Not our thing really. Too busy, overcrowded and full of twenty somethings from Russia getting drunk every night. We only went along the strip once at night. Once was more than enough. On a plus point the weather was glorious, but at the same time we were having a heatwave in England. Wish we had stayed in our back garden for a week!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k_mihova, Manager at Evrika Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

On behalf of the entire staff and management team of Dit Evrika Beach Club Hotel, I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent holiday. We always welcome any comments and suggestions, therefore, we appreciate you taking the time to review us online.

We are delighted to hear that you have felt comfortable in your room. Moreover, it has recently been refurbished. Although all balconies have glass panels, the hotel as a whole corresponds to state safety regulations and requirements. However, you should have contacted Reception to request a room change. Bearing in mind the pushchair we could have offered you another room with a view to your liking at our earliest convenience.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Unfortunately, it is not uncommon that guests need some time as sudden changes of a diet might upset one’s stomach. We do understand that food and drinks are an important factor in your holiday experience, and we offer a varied assortment of options to please every guest. In trying to meet everyone’s needs, we have introduced import and bottled drinks, which are chargeable but at reasonable prices. Nonetheless, we constantly check the quality of local beverages on offer.

The staff by the restaurant door is always happy to help you. Have you addressed the restaurant manager to assist you in finding a table? As far as high chairs are concerned, we appreciate feedback and we would gladly order some extra. Since Evrika Beach Club Hotel is a family-oriented establishment no high chairs are unnecessary. The F&B department, the maître and the executive chef, in particular, have been informed in order to revise and improve the procedures so that they will be completely in accordance with quality standards.

Hope to welcome you soon again in the future, we assure you in advance that we will do our best to improve our service and thus offer all our guests an outstanding experience.

Best Regards,

Online Customer Service Representative
Dit Evrika Beach Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evrika Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evrika Beach Club Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Club Hotel Riu Evrika)
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Evrika Beach Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea. 2-storey main building plus 2-&-4-story adjoining buildings. Situated on the beachfront and the promenade. Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach. 500 m from the centre of Sunny Beach. 25 km from Burgas airport. Mini-train, regular service (additional charge). Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Evrika Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Evrika
Riu Evrika Hotel
Evrika Beach Club Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evrika Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.