We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of MPM Kalina Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MPM Kalina Garden to your Saves list
MPM Kalina Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sunny Beach Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 209 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Home
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I would NEVER stay in this hotel and would advise anyone to stay as far away from it as possible. I speak Bulgarian (but I'm living in the UK now) and could hear the staff talk about the gussets. What a disgrace. I don't want to repeat what I heard but you do not want to stay there. I could also hear them talk about how the food is used after expiration (food in this hotel is terrible). Stay away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
31
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hadera, Israel
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

we (me my wife and 2 daghters) came to the hotel just for a low cost vacation.
we did not have high expectations from the prior reviews but....
pros:
right in the center of sunny beach!!!!
good food - all inclusive.
great entertainment team
the spa was cheap and verrrry good
the staff was extreemly helpfull
everything was clean and shiny
cons:
the matress and pillows were ancient and needed replacing (not that we botherd - we fell asleep in 5 secnds)
the hotel has only 2 elevators for 316 rooms (only 3 adults an 2 children can use it - small ) and sometimes you wait for 10 minutes for an elevator....
the line for cofee in the morning was huge.............LOL

Room Tip: if you are coming with family - ask fo a suite .... you can get afree upgrade (we did)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel for 2 weeks from 4th June 2012.all inclusive.Had some good points but more very bad points.Reception staff and room cleaners were plesent and helpful, Bar staff were good and always had a smile.. Now the bad points the restaurant and snack bar were filthy.with no effort made to clean the tables,chairs and the floor, every thing was sticky to touch.and walk on.The food was very basic but this was the first time we have been to Bulgaria so we could no judge what EasternEuropeans like. The hotel does not cater for British customers at all.Breakfast,Lunch and evening meals were always cold as with tea and coffee and there is no way to reheat anything such as a micro wave. The temprature was in the middle thirtys and yet chicken and pork dishes which were susposed to be hot were about body temprature.The salad bar consisted of about 5 different raw onion dishes.I spoke to the restraurant manager about the food being cold and in danger of giving all the customers food poisining at which he threw his arms up in the air and shrugged and stopped speaking English. The toilets next to the restraurant, 2 were out of order with black bags wrapped round them and 2 had no toilet seats for the 14 days we were there the floor was covered in urine that was being walked through to the restraurant,the Bar and the swimming pool.I pointed this out to the managment and a piece of carpet was put at the exit of the toilet no effort was made to clean the floor or to stop contamination.it did not take long for the carpet to become saturated.this is as well as the cold food

Room Tip: Food Outside hotel quiet good and reasonable prices. EAT IN HOTEL AT YOUR OWN RISK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yummymummy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went for a week... 24 of us!!! Bulgaria is great! Cheap cheap cheap, my husband and I and our 2 sons only spent approx £250 for the week spending money n that includes all the food as we were only b&b. Nothing for the kids to do at night we went out to eat n had early nights every night!! Would b a good holiday for young clubbers

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is quite big, 6 floors – but only one elevator works! My friend and me got a room on the first floor, above the reception. When we were using the shower the pipes were leaking and flooding the reception, so they asked us not to use the shower! We waited 2 days for a change of rooms and had to constantly remind the receptionist about it, he didn’t care! After a few days we had a problem with hotel towels, the cleaning lady took them and didn’t leave any new. At the reception they said we lost them and they made us pay 40 euro for them or they wouldn’t give our passports back! Seems impossible? It’s just the start! The sheets and pillow cases are dirty, the doors leading to the room wouldn’t close without a huge bang (which was making the neighbors angry) and the bathroom handle was constantly falling off. When you go to the reception to complain they don’t really care, hardly anyone speaks English! When you want to see the manager they bring you someone looking like a cleaning lady who is absolutely incompetent and speaks only Russian. The only advantage of the hotel is it’s location – in the strict centre of the town. But if you plan a family holiday – it gets very loud in the evening. The food is dreadful, every day the same, the meat is undercooked – it gives you stomach trouble. We had all inclusive – and regretted it dreadfully. Outside the hotel food is good and rather cheap, and after 3 days we just couldn’t stand the hotel food. The same goes for the alcohol. It’s not original, it’s being poured to the original bottles of Savoy but you don’t really know what it is and it tastes horrible. The staff is rude and incompetent, only the bartenders were nice, probably because we are girls.
So if you really want to have a good holiday, do yourself a favor and choose another hotel! I’ve been to Bulgaria 4 times already and didn’t have any problems in other hotels, Sunny Beach is really wonderful so don’t get put off by my opinion – it’s only about the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Shame because this has potential to be a nice hotel. Great location, pleasant clean rooms and pool area. Thats it though, bathrooms all leak (we had 4 different rooms) and badly need regrouting (black!). Food is awful, cold, sloppy, same every day and night. Maximum two choices at any sitting. Dining room like school canteen, no staff only person clearing plates on a trolley. Only ever the one bar open with usually one person serving, occassionally two. Choice of about 5 drinks on all inclusive. No atmosphere at all. Big sign in reception offering late rooms, asked told 'no' (literally just that no explanation), asked for courtesy room, told 'no'. We therefore had to check out at 12pm and were told no where to put luggage as all storage space full. Therefore no room and no luggage store until we departed at 2 am (14 hours later!!!).
5th time to Sunny beach in 4 star and wouldnot reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

got moved here from the wela because it was over booked but This hotel was horrifying!!! not one good thing i could say about this hotel!! i dont know how anyone could ever say this hotel is a 4 star!! i would NOT advise anyone to ever stay at this hotel!!
There was definately NOT enough sunbeds around the pool,i had to get up at 7am to get a sunbed.
the food was standard,very repetive and VERY cold!
The bar kept running out of vodka,wine and coke and it closed at 11pm.
Alot of drunk young germen men coming home at 5am in the morning,running up and down the corridors, banging and shouting.
downstairs they were mopping the floors with dirty mops at 9pm when it was busy and slippy, with no wet floor signs!We were lucky to have the cleaner empty the bin and the ash tray!! she did do the towels and that was about it !
Well we also got robbed while we were stayin at the hotel!! One day we double locked the door and went out for the day to the beach,when we returned back to our room the door was unlocked and our case had been cut open and £350 had been stolen!! it wasnt a forced entry either so somebody had a key !! The hotel mangeress didnt care and did nothing about it!
The receptionists had an additude that stinks and didnt really care about any problems or complaints.
Definately the worst holiday i have ever had, prefered turkey alot better!
To much crime and noise around in this area aswell.
DO NOT stay in this hotel unless your a young germen person, that doesnt mind noise and doesnt mind taking the risk of a robbery!
RUBBISH!! NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: very noisy at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MPM Kalina Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MPM Kalina Garden

Address: Sunny Beach Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MPM Kalina Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star MPM Hotel KALINA GARDEN is situated in the heart of the biggest Black sea resort Sunny Beach, only 150 m. Away from the sandy beach and comprises of 320 spacious and stylishly decorated rooms. The Hotel offers open air parking lot against additional charge, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, video games, billiards, body and beauty treatments.Hotel MPM Kalina Garden operates All Inclusive Premium bases and features a Main restaurant, Snacks bar, lobby bar, outdoor swimming pool with integrated kids section, open-air fitness, mini-golf, kids play ground, entertainment and performance. Besides the meals the All Inclusive Premium package includes kids mini club, evening animation and show programs, daily sports animation schedule, thematic cuisine evenings, WiFi access in the whole property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your MPM Kalina Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalina Garden Hotel Sunny Beach
Kalina Garden Sunny Beach
MPM Kalina Garden Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MPM Kalina Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.