We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Germans Paradise For The Sun Loungers... But fantastic otherwise...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bellevue Hotel to your Saves list
Bellevue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 205 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Germans Paradise For The Sun Loungers... But fantastic otherwise...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

the service we experienced was pleasent... Could of been a bit friendlier with a few smiles thrown in but all in all was very pleasent. What we noticed on arrival was that we were the only british people in the hotel at the time and felt slightly alienated. we soon got chatting to a scouse family who were fantastic. we played many games beside the pool (that is if we got sun loungers) like darts and water polo and budgie spotting. if there was no loungers beside the pool the beach was the place to go as they were free to all inclusive guests. The food on the otherhand was not very pleasent. If you like your eggs slightly warm and in very big quantitys then this is defo the place to go... the meats they offered were not proper cuts of meat. Fatty and chewy. The chef cooked omlettes or pancakes for you everyday... He would of been mor approachable if he would just smile a little bit more. The room we stayed in was small but perfect size for a couple to stay in. The maids were absolutely fantastic. Rooms cleaned every morning. 24 hour cleaning in the hotel. Wecame up to our room some nights to find they had made sculptures out of towels and the bedding. The ponly downside was the lack of entertainment and the long walk alont the promenade to find some... The people outside in the shops, fast food resteraunts and the pubs were amazing. not hassling you too much but just enough to get you in. The location of tyhe hotel was beautiful. RIGHT ON THE SEA FRONT!! Literally a five yard walk and you were on the beach, which had an all inclusive bar on the beach which meant no long walk back to the hotel on hot sand. what we liked best about this hotel was the family we met and the location we were in. not too far but far enough. our overall expeirence was great. only points i will make are if you want a shower get it befopre 6pm or else its a cold shower and if you want a sun lounger get them before 6am.... german paradise...
hope you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: get a lower floor number as lifts are tempremental
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    77
    51
    26
    6
See reviews for
63
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just back from a two week stay at the Bellevue Hotel. On arrival we were separated from the other members of our party despite a booking request to be together. We were allocated a room on the ist floor with a lovely view of the air conditoning duct. The air conditioning in the room was not working and on our first morning I reported this but was told the hotel was full and we couldn't move rooms. I was not allowed to speak to the Manager! I reported the problem to the Thomas Cook Rep and four days later received a call from reception saying the Air con was broken and that we could move rooms. Moved to the 8th floor which was a bigger, brighter and better room all round. Safety deposit boxes are 5 lev per day. Now to the food, breakfast was scrambled eggs, fried eggs or hard boiled eggs usually served warm, a selection of meats and cheeses, croissants and the odd sausage, usually smoked and not cooked properly. Dinner was pizza, omlette, a couple of meat dishes (usually ok but only warm) and chips, rice or roast pots served with carrots, sweetcorn and sprouts! After 7 nights we couldn't stomach it anymore and ended up eating out a couple of times. As we were not all inc lunch proved an issue - Kebab, pizza, hot dog or jacket pot seemed to be the only options. Not a sandwich shop in site. The rooms were clean, as were the sheets and towels and all changed on a regular basis. We asked for extra pillows and these were provided. Beds not too uncomfortable but if you have a room for three people then the third bed is a sofa bed on the floor so my daughter spent 2 weeks sleeping on that. If you wanted a sun lounger by the pool you had to be there by 8am and we ended up doing breakfast in rotation. The pool is shared with another hotel and if you had a green lounger then their was a daily charge of 5 lev. The blue loungers belong to the Bellevue and there are not that many. The beach is nice although there is a 21 lev charge for two beds and an umbrella. The beach was better as you are crammed in round the pool with only an inch or two between the loungers. There are too many stalls selly cheap tat and people hassling you into their bars and restaurants. It was nice to get away for 2 weeks but we certainly won't be returning in a hurry. Best to take plenty of Immodium with you as several of our party suffered with very bad sickness and diahorrea and still have it now despite being back 3 days. On the positive, the weather was great and good tans obtained. Christian on reception was very friendly (seemed to be the only one) and his english was good too so he did manage to resolve any problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Just back from 2 weeks at the Bellevue Beach Hotel, had a room on 11th floor and had a nice view of sea. Room was kept very clean and towels and sheets changed daily.Now the bad news the food/menu was at times unedible and lukewarm, there was on occasions a chef available to make you an omelette but he growled at you if you dared to ask for one!

Beds in rooms are very uncomfortable and if you want a warm shower you need to make sure you have one before 6pm as after that the water is cold.

Bellevue Beach Hotel is in a good location well away from the chaos of the centre, would say it 3 star at a push but never 4 star!

The pool area was small as you could only use one half of it as the other side belonged to the hotel next door and you were charged 5lev to sit there, the beach was just across the road and was kept very clean be warned if you are not alll inclusive it costs 21 lev for 2 beds and a parasol which to be honest was well worth it as at the hotel it was crammed like sardines.

As for Sunny Beach thought it was very dirty and found the majority of people to be rude and uninterested even when you were in their restaurant buying food it appeared that it was a hassle for them serving you. However, ate twice at the Bombay Palace and food and service was first class, nioce to get some proper food and service.

Bus service was frequent and very cheap at 1 lev, do not use taxis as they rip you off!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed at the Bellevue with my family for two weeks, asked for rooms next door girls were on the 9th floor and we were on the first floor asked if possible to have rooms next door told NO! Girls didnt eat anything but chips all week. You sat at the pool like sardines at one side of the pool and paid 5lv at the other side? Wouldnt rush back. Was tempted to upgrade to AI for £11.83 per person per day before we left but decided against it but wished we had as the sunbeds on the beach were 21lv (£10) for 2 and a parsol per day so that leaves £6 which you will spend on drinks, tried to upgrade in Bulgaria but wanted £18 per person per day slipped up. Hope this helps future travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Nice hotel and friendly staff. The warnings about the food were spot on - not great and as a vegetarian I had to rely mostly on the soup and salad. Most annoying to book half board and then have to pay for drinks with the evening meal - even for water or tea or coffee. Then they don't like to give change and twice we were overcharged.
We had a room without a balcony for which they apologised and offered a room with a balcony but two single beds on opposite sides of the room. When we said no thanks they tried to get us to sign a statement to say that we had been offered an alternative and refused it!
The worst thing about the week was due to booking with Travel Republic. Although we saved about £200 over booking with Balken, I wished we had paid the extra because when no transport arrived to pick us up at the airport, no-one had heard of them and there was no local contact so we had to pay for a taxi to the hotel. When I emailed them about it they wouldn't let us book a return so again we had to book a taxi back to the airport. We lsot the saving and wasted our preciousholiday time.
We had a great week though because the hotel is in a good location with enough to do for a week - two water parks, a trip to Nessiebar, the swimming pool, beach and activities.

Room Tip: My sons had a balcony but no view of pool or much of sea. We had a view of pool but no balcony. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

Staff really helpful. Hotel very clean. Food was a little limited. If all inclusive would struggle greatly. Location is ideal close enough to night life but far enough to not really hear it when u want to sleep! Had a great week. Would go again! :-)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

my husband and i spent a week on the 10th july 11, we have put this hotel on our never to return list, as everyone else does i checked out reviews and thought it sound good, but the only thing i agree with is that the hotel is spotless and staff are friendle. but we had a lovely sea view which is what we paid for. as for breakfast dont expect an english breakfast the closest you get to english is on a wednesday which was an english sausage..we basically lived of pizza and watermelon in the day.food was rubbish.no evening enterainment.beds VERY UNCOMFORTABLE ON FOURTH FLOOR..we love sunny beach but there was a lot of seaweed which we didnt have two years ago when we stayed at the evrikahotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.