We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Nevis Clubhotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sunny Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aqua Nevis Clubhotel
Save
You added Aqua Nevis Clubhotel to your Saves list
Sunny Beach Resort, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 205 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My 7 year old son and i stayed here for one week from 18th June-26th June and we had a fantastic time.

Reading the previous reviews before we went had me in floods of tears and calling the head office of First Choice trying to cancel my holiday as i believed i was going to some dump but how wrong could i have been.

1. The hotel is built in an area next to a drinks distributor but it is a trendy clean hotel and when you are in the grounds you dont even know any different as to where you are as its gorgeous. People have to appriciate that Bulgaria is not a built up area such as Spain and other countries so please do your homework before going on holiday to a country like this. Considering that this is not a wealthy country yet they have managed to pull off a hotel like this is fantastic and i raise a glass to them as they are foing fantastic. A very big plus on the location is that there is a free hotel run shuttle bus you can use to take you to town and the beach if you cant face the short walk and there is also the little supermarket a one minute walk across the road which is so handy for night time munchies as well as sun creams and water floats etc. I wouldnt buy sweets and stuff from the hotel shop or use the mini bar, you get so much more from the supermarket for your money.

We had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the waterpark and it was so clean and trendy. These people that keep talking about the showers flooding the rooms have me in fits of laughter. Its a bloody wet room so point the shower down and get under it and the water will stay in the shower - job done! Your not meant to point the shower at the wall and hope it catches you - thats why YOU are flooding the place lol, think some people may need to learn how to shower properly. The only thing that went wrong in my room was my air con was leaking and soaked the floor so within 1 hour of reporting this to my Rep Tom from First Choice it was fixed. Its not about having a problem its how it is handled that matters to me.

3. I highly recommend the Turkish bath with the lovely Ahmed as it sets you up for a sun kissed glow throughout your holiday as well as total relaxation. The sauna and steam room is also there to use as much as you want as part of your package.

4. The food in the hotel is very fresh and there is plenty of choice for everyone. Yes we may be british but there are other cultures there on holiday too so some of the things that we think is weird is just every day food to them so please dont be rude about it. I think its wonderful that a hotel just getting started is bending over backwards to try and cater to so many different tastes.

The que at the loby bar can be quite long at night however there are waiters walking around with large trays of beer to cut the que down and a little bar is also laid out outside with drinks and punch. The hotel have taken on customers comments and feedback about things like this and are taking steps to make things better by making improvements here and there.

5. The entertainment kicks off about 7ish with the kids disco and lasts until 11pm-11.30pm and yes it is loud so dont expect many early nights if you have a pool view but come on, you are on holiday :) I always travel with ear plugs anyway so this wasnt a problem for me.

6. The waterpark is just absolutely incredible and my 7 year old son loved minute of it from the lazy river to the biggest rides in the park such as the kamikaze, my heart was in my mouth but he was addicted to them. You can get free bottles of water from the Coca Cola bar in the waterpark too. If you fancy some snacks between meals then head to the pool bar next to the restaurant for your all inclusive snacks or pay for food in the waterpark cafe.

Overall i would definitely return to this hotel but for longer than a week next time. The hotel is improving every single week and the manager is fantastic and takes all comments and feedback onboard in order to make her hotel worth the 4 stars it has been awarded. Dont let negative feedback put you off, go and have your own experience. Happy holidays :)

Room Tip: A pool view room is a must and some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    173
    63
    20
    18
See reviews for
371
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Still here in aqua nevis leaving early hours sat. Leave our room fri at 12 mid day and have no room for 18 hours with 3 children!!!!! Rep told me i shouldnt book cheap holidays!!!! Very rude rep called kirsty! Have made complaint as i think she is disgraceful and very unhelpful! Had kids dsi stolen from room and other belongings, had 15 hours in total with no electricity which means no lights lifts and with baby on 5 th floor is horrendous, not a enjoyable holiday ive paid for.
To top it all off my sons meatballs had a large metal bolt in his food..... Was mortified,nothing done about this as per aqua nevis style!!!!
All the animation team are fab on a good note and really work hard..... Kirtsy should take a good luck at them an learn some manners!! Just be warned no where near a 5 star 2 star is more the aqua nevis.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lovely hotel and very clean, food ok but drinks systems need sorting out,animation team work very very hard but alas nothing to do of an evening for our two 16 yr olds n they were bored stiff so would not return to this hotel because of this,feel let down on this issue,the adult entertainment was very boring sum nites even tho the animation team tried their best,ended up with a few early nites which is something have never dun before on holiday,the other major issue is "Supper" every other all inclusive holiday we have been on offered some kind of snacks until late but not this hotel, First Choice need to address this as it is not stated anywhere n shud be part of an all inc holiday,didnt have much to do with our first choice reps but they seemed ok, animation team lovely, most of hotel staff lovely n our 4 year old had a ball,wish same cud av been said for the rest of us

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Just started into our second week here. Absolutely lovin' it. 15 of us here aged 6 - 60. Entertainment excellent. Animation team have put a lot of hard work into performances and the kids love it. Everyone enjoying the food. My son is on his record of 3 deserts a night!! Don't understand the bad reviews. Even the night of power cut. The team here couldn't do enough to make sure everyone was ok. It was an electricity power station not owned by the hotel which went on fire. Was fixed in a few hours. Cleaners seem to work 24/7 to keep it sparkling. Make sure you have your drinking shoes on and get your butt here. We will be booking again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yapton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Was very apprehensive about going to this hotel due to early reviews and came very close to changing our holiday but I'm so glad I didn't.
We were a party of 8, three adults, two 16 year olds and three toddlers aged 4, 2, 2. We arrived 3am on the Saturday and were quickly checked in and taken to our rooms. We had 2 family rooms which were amazing, they consisted of a very large double bed and 2 single beds (these comfortably slept our 16 yr olds) which were partly partitioned by 3ft wall on each side, and a balcony overlooking the WaterPark and Amphitheatre. We had a huge modern bathroom with walk in shower, clean towels everyday if required by leaving used ones on bathroom floor (standard procedure in all hotels!) Our room was cleaned everyday and was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. We had no leaks, electrical or maintenance problems as reported in other posts, the rooms were perfect.
The food was lovely, plenty of choice, pork, chicken, beef, veal, fish, rice, pasta, and yes good old chips and always fresh and hot, we never went hungry and were perfectly happy with it. I'd like to know what else they could have served to the people who said it was repetative. My one complaint, and it really was a minor irritation was the loud music played in the dining room, they need to turn it down a little but as I say, minor complaint.
The pool was great, plenty of sunbeds and a cleaner is constantly cleaning up any rubbish left around. The animation team organized lots of activities for children and adults around the pool and waterpark, and dance classes for the kids in the afternoon at the amphitheatre. They work tirelessly and are very friendly and were very popular with our little ones.
The waterpark is fabulous and is a 30 second walk from the hotel reception through it's private guest entrance, never purchased food or drink in there as you can bring food in from the hotel so don't know the prices but in comparison to other European countries we've been to Bulgaria is by far the cheapest so can't imagine it would be that expensive.
The queue for the main bar could get a little long but we never used it as we used the pool bar which is a minutes walk and always empty!!! Staff are always friendly and eager to help.Can't understand people moaning about plastic glasses, it didn't bother us but it would have bothered me if one of my children had cut themselves on glass and being a family orientated hotel there were ALOT of children.
The stroll to the town took about 10 minutes and a further 5 to the beach which was beautiful (alot of seaweed though which put me off a bit!) There was a free minibus every hour but we only used it once.
All in all a great holiday was had by all of us. We probably wouldn't go back to Bulgaria as there are too many other countries to visit but If we had a hotel like this again elsewhere we would be very happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are currently on our holiday at Aqua Nevis, hence writing this report with 48 hrs left, as the comments made by people on this hotel are poor! Don't get sucked in to thinking that the hotel is just having 'Teething' problems.....it isn't, it is just a poor hotel.

Where to start:
1. Showers don't just leak, they leave a mini pool in your room, the toilet and bedspace, so you use all your towels barricading the water flow.
2. The walls are all plasterboard, meaning you can hear everything on your floor, above you and below you. I actually turned off the air conditioning last night to hear next door snoring.
3. The food is poor, really poor. Yes, if you like pork and chicken 24\7 you'll love it, but my eight year old son was living off chips and pancakes daily.......who has carrots for breakfast!!!!!! Says it all.
4. Ladies - Warning! The hairdressers is really cheap, which should be the combat indicator that they are rubbish. My wife went in for a trim and came out looking like she had been butchered. Toni & Guy to the rescue when we get back.
5. They had a fire in one of the generators, which was worrying on its own. This in turn knocked out all the electricity in the hotel. 12 hours later (0500 hrs) it was fixed, but none of us slept a wink......but some people will say these are teething problems!!!!!
6. It you have a Poolside room, prepare to be kept awake until at least 2330 hrs. The music is so loud, that there is no way either you or your children will be able to go to sleep and when the music does go off, the 'Balacony' security lights keep your room nice and bright!!!!
7. The queue for the bar in the evening is horrendous, but they have started putting tables out, acting as mini bars.
8. The wind tends to pick up in the hotel swimming pool area and to my horror, one of the umbrellas blew over and clouted my son on the head. You may be thinking, just an accident, but having been here eight days and watched the same thing happen daily, the swimming area is just an accident waiting to happen. Lifeguards........really, just there to oggle girls...please stay with your children.

Okay, here are the good things:
1. My son loved the Aqua Park.....but this isnt part of the hotel!!!!! It is a seperate company, so you have to keep coming out of the park if you want to get your all inclusive drinks.
2. The entertainment staff and hotel staff are the only thing that were really good. Yes a little repetitive, but the kids love it and they should be commended for all their hardwork, as without it, the hotel wouldn't be getting a 1 star!!!!
3. Weather is great, five minutes from the shops and ten minutes from sunny beach. Bourgas is definately worth visiting for the day and the beach is very good, but get there early.
4. We are fortunate that the hotel is new, because I guarantee in six months time that the hotel will be trashed. It currently looks very clean and is well maintained, but you can see it creaking at the edges.
5. Value you for money - What you pay is what you get! Having read all the reports prior to getting here, I dreaded the worst and actually it is just below that line.

I'm not the sort of person to moan and whinge at anything, but I am honest, so please don't read through the reports and think that they are all teething problems, yes there are a few, but overall I wouldn't come here again.

Room Tip: Away from the stage and not overlooking the Aqua Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just back today from a great holiday in the Aqua Nevis Club Hotel. The rooms are lovely really spacious and spotless, fresh towels every day, beds changed frequently and our room cleaner was lovely. The food was plentiful, very fresh, well cooked and always at a good temperature, during our stay they had started to introduce theme nights which were a good idea because sometimes the food was getting a bit repeitive, although there was a good variety and loads of salads, breads, soups etc.
The staff are lovely very helpful, polite and well mannered, uniforms are all spotless. The entertainment staff are great, to get the most from your holiday join in and enjoy the activities thay have on offer, such as water gym, shuffle board, darts, water polo, water games and pool party!! The staff really appreciate it if you join in. Yes, the entertainment at night could be a bit more varied, but it is a new hotel and they are trying hard.
The water park is excellent, very clean and safe and well run loads of life guards blowing whistles, they are strict but they are only doing their job.
The location of the hotel is out of the way, a bus service is provided which is great, and believe me if you are going as a young family you wouldn't want to be in the middle of tne madness of downtown Sunny Beach!!!
Whilst we were at the hotel changes are being made constantly, new bins, outside bar, new tables in lobby etc. So the management are adapting to customer feedback.
So ignore the bad reviews the weather we had was excellent, lovely food, lovely people, join in and have a great time!!

Room Tip: We were on second floor hardly any noise, use sleep button on air conditioning controls at night tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Nevis Clubhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Nevis Clubhotel

Address: Sunny Beach Resort, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Aqua Nevis Clubhotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Nevis Clubhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.