We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sunny Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Palazzo
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 205 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very very basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo in the middle of September for a fortnight. The Palazzo is geared for the 18 - 20 year olds and therefore very basic. Its clean enough with two decent sized pools.
We however found:
* Double beds are two singles put together.
* Bedding and pillowcases are clean but holey and frayed.
* Sinks have plugs that don't fit.
* Cuttlery consists of two knives and forks (even though there were three of us)!
* The sofa bed was too uncomfortable to sleep on!
* The sunbeds were full of flies due to not being cleaned!
* No beach towels are provided and sunbeds don't have covers on.
* The safety deposit box was stupidly expensive and we kept all money and passports with us!
These things probably wouldn't matter to 18 year olds, and the hotel is liveable for a fortnight, but if I was going to Sunny Beach again I would choose a nicer place to stay.

The hotel is a ten minute bus ride to the centre of Sunny Beach and costs 1 Lev (50p). We preferred quieter Nessabar, which is a town that's full of bars and shops and is 15 mins away on the bus (again 1 Lev). Both are walkable in 30 mins. Don't pay more than 10 Lev £5 for a taxi to either!

We found bars with beer for 50p and shorts are cheap too! Every toilet in Sunny Beach charges 1 Lev and most don't even have toilet paper or shut properly!! Sunny Beach is like Blackpool with loads of bars with entertainment on, places to eat, a funfare and shops! The place was starting to close down for the season as we left (20 Sept).

We loved the beach (5 mins walk away). Its the best beach we've seen for ages and great to swim in the sea. The sunbeds however are 8 Lev £4 a day with a further 8 Lev for a parasol! As there were three of us, we brought cheap lilos and sunbathed on them.

To sum it up, I would go back to Bulgaria tomorrow, but stay in a nicer hotel nearer the centre. We enquired about an extra room as the hotel was only 20% full. We were told it charged £60 per night which was more than the cost of the holiday and flights put together!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
9
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

staff were very rude and took pleasure in telling u about additional costs eg 10 lev per hour to hold onto room for last day that was the only time they smiled .On our arrival the receptionist was fairly tippsy all the nite staff seemed to be sitting at the bar and the music was so load you had to raise ur voice when checking in at (1.30) in morning. We had to ask to have room cleaned, the rooms are lovely and spacious and the hotel decor is beautiful , but the staff not id never stay there again

Room Tip: rooms on the south are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here with 3 other girls from the 29th July until the 13th of August 2013. Was such a good holiday for young people.
On arrival we checked in, paid the 200 lev deposit for the room which you get back at the end of your stay as long as theres no damage to the room. Also handed a form to fill out and hand in the next morning with any damages to the room therefore you don't get charged. Passports were taken off us on arrival but had no problem getting them back the very next day. Palazzo 1 pool we found was a lot easier to get a sunlounger at as well and was the quieter side. We ended up with a room on this side and were kind of glad. Check out was fine as well we got our 200 lev back and we had a glass missing as it had broke the night previous. Only downside was check out was at 12 and out transfer to the airport wasn't until midnight. There is a locked room to keep cases in when we went out through the day and when we got back at about 9pm we just took our cases and sat beside the pool.

The hotel itself is very good for a twentys/18-30's type hotel. It's clean and has everything you need. Towels were replaced every second day for us sometimes everyday same with the bed sheets, however if you are still in your room when the maids come round they wont replace anything apart from toilet rolls. 24hr bar is handy also, and they usually have deals on for certain days of the week i.e. Tuesday was 3 sex on the beach for 10 lev which works out 5 pounds. Only down side to the hotel is the distance from the main strip, however you can either get a bus for 1 lev or a taxi for 15 to 20 lev. Worth going to the welcome meeting and buying the package as you save a lot of money. The reception staff weren't to helpful and spoke broken English sometimes making it quite hard to communicate with them. There is fines for behaviours around the pool however I never saw one person being fined. One tip would be don't get on the wrong side of the security as they are massive and take no nonsence as we discovered, apart from that they are fine.

Wifi is available at a charge, its worth getting the 24hrs wifi for 20 lev as when you sign out it means it isn't being used and you can sign back in so don't loose the piece of paper your given with password etc on it!!

Nightlife was good as there is a wide variety of places to go. You'll find a lot of the time walking up the strip you'll be stopped every 2 minutes with club/bar promoters trying to get you into their place, we just found out what deals were on offer and went with the best. Would recommend doing the bar crawls as well as they also give you a good idea on the places to go.

Taxis- when getting taxis watch and make sure you are getting them from taxi ranks as there are a lot going about that aren't legit, people we met at the hotel and became friendly with for the rest of the hotel told us they were on the way home one night and were offered cocaine and ectasy, so just bare this in mind. There was another occasion where one of our drivers was smoking a joint while driving, however overall they are fine! don't let them charge you more than 20 lev for a taxi to the strip or home however when your desperate and drunk you'll pay anything.

The locals are alright although we were on a night out and a friend we had met on holiday decided he would do the toilet up a quiet ally to then be confronted by 5 huge bouncers demanding 50 lev off him to which he never had. They took it down to 20 as he had no money on him but one of us paid and the bouncers left him alone.

Hope you found this useful!!

Room Tip: Get a room on palazzo 1 and as for floor 1 and up as ground floor rooms don't have balconies. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Palazzo between 22nd-29th of July as a group of 8 lads, as we checked in we knew we had to pay 200 lev per room which was not a problem, we got a sheet at the reception asking us if there was any damages to note them down so we were not charged for them. The next day we handed the sheet back and got our passports back no bother. Rooms were clean, only got fresh towels twice during the week but I'm not one for complaining. Never bothered with the welcome meeting as we knew it was just going to be a sales pitch. The 24 hour bar is perfect if you want to come back from a night out around 5 or 6 in the morning and fancy having a few before your bed.

At the Palazzo you're a fair bit away from the main strip but get a taxi from the hotel for 15 lev, the guy with the glasses in an animal on the road. Nightlife is excellent, I would definitely recommend the party crew bar crawl, can't remember how much we paid but it was an excellent first night. Drinks are extremely cheap, you could get 2 double vodkas for 7 lev from the Irish bar across from Iceberg which is around £3, you'd struggle to find a single vodka for that price in the UK these days.

The locals are extremely nice and always up for a laugh and a photo, although we did run into some bother with a couple of big bouncers but that's because a friend broke their daft punching machine, gave the guy 50 lev not to kick our head in and he was sound with that. Beware of the fruit sellers though, my friend took one off a guy and we both got the whole contents of our wallets stolen.

At checkout we got our full deposit back even though we had broken a few glasses and plates, the reception staff were fine with us paying the fine for breaking them instead of taking the full 200 lev from us. Checkout was 12 in the afternoon and as we had a 4am flight this was a nightmare, we left our cases in a locked room and went into the centre for a few drinks, came back around 9pm and paid 20 lev for 2 hours so we could have a shower and have a little nap.

Only seen two people get fined, one on arrival as a boy had been sick all over himself and a girl for jumping in the pool as we were getting on our coach to leave.

All in all, great holiday, we'll be returning to Sunny Beach next year but probably a different hotel closer to the strip.

Room Tip: Give the bar staff a 2 or 3 lev tip and they'll be your best mate the whole holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komjatice, Nitra, Slovakia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The best place we have ever been. Id recommend it to every group of young people who want to experience the best holiday ever. Hotel Palazzo is full of young people partying all day and all night. We were a group of 5 girls and we spent there 10 days... We met so much gorgeous people, the atmosphere in the hotel is indescribable. Non stop bar, supermarket, change, beach 5 minutes by walk, city centre 5 minutes by bus which costs 1 leva (0,50€), 2 big swimming pools (We havent seen bigger in other hotels). City centre is full of tourists, bars, discoclubs, restaurants.... Its really made for young people. Prices are not so high but be careful, Bulgarians try lot of time t cheat you and ask for more money as they should. We were cooking on our own kitchen and it was cheaper... However we were also in restaurants...its not so expensive, but if you want to save your money and spend it for example on night life, you can cook on your own. If you are not sure wether you have made a good choice to choose hotel palazzo dont you worry...You absolutely wont regret it... NEVER

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We are currently still holidaying at the Palazzo in Sunny Beach & have just received the most appalling service.
Before we arrived we read lots of reviews and decided we would be better off in Palazzo 1 (quieter, older guests, separate from the hideous '2wenties' scene) so we requested this weeks before our holiday. However, when we arrived we were told by one of many MISERABLE, UNHELPFUL staff members on reception that they did not receive our request and were told there were no available rooms in Palazzo 1 even though we could see clearly that it was not full up!!
We accepted this and decided to make the most of our situation. The room was adequate, but not cleaned properly. The floor was constantly filthy, the beds were changed ONLY ONCE in our 11 nights stay and there were never enough towels. (The towels we did have were stained yellow and pink?!!) no shower curtain meant the bathroom was flooded every time we wanted to shower.
The wifi packages are ridiculous. They charge for 30 minutes, 1 hour, 24 hours or 1
month!! No where in between!!
The noise from the '2wenties' hoodlums was unbearable. One night we had to endure 2 hours of screaming, swearing and shouting right outside our room as we were trying to sleep. We called down to reception to get some security up there but nothing happened. As the room doors do not lock from the inside, we had to drag a heavy table across the door every night before going to bed just so we felt a bit safer! We spent everyday at the Palazzo 1 pool, after being assured it would be more quiet and not full of noisy youngsters drinking beer from glass bottles (that were not allowed around the pool?!). However, during our second week a huge amount of youngsters arrived and seemed to 'spill over' to our pool, meaning we had to endure shouting, chanting, beer drinking, footballs flying everywhere and general hideous laddish behaviour. They even managed to smash a beer bottle and just left it on the ground around the pool, where young children were playing!!
We asked a member of staff to clear it up but again, nothing happened. There is a list of fines for bad behaviour at this hotel and we witnessed at least 4 of the rules being broken. However, when we enquired as to why these rule breakers had not been fined, yet another miserable, unhelpful member of reception staff informed us that if they don't see the rule breaking, they can't fine anyone. We pointed out that if they actually had members of staff around the place then this kind of unacceptable behaviour could be spotted and prevented!

Finally...what has inspired us to write...we have been told that we need to check out by midday tomorrow even though we are not being picked up for the airport until midnight. We considered this unacceptable as 12 hours with no room is terrible customer service! We were told we can keep the room for 10 Lev an hour... A complete rip off. It would have cost us 120 lev to keep our room. The rude receptionist seemed to enjoy telling us this. So we walked 100m down the road to The Sea Grace hotel and booked a room for 100 lev for 24 hours! So we are checking out of this hell hole in the morning to spend a day around a beautiful, quiet pool and use a spotlessly clean room all day, for a lower cost than the dirty, rip-off, miserable staffed Palazzo!!

To summarise, we have had a great holiday as we have made our own fun. We are 2 best friends, girls in our early 30's. We have enjoyed a few crazy nights in the main part of Sunny Beach, but also plenty of lovely meals and shopping in the beautiful nearby old town of Nessebar.

If you are looking to holiday in Bulgaria... If you are over 30, you may want to avoid Sunny Beach, opt for Nessebar as it really is gorgeous. 20 something's will love Sunny Beach. But whoever you are, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE AVOID THE PALAZZO!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading some negative reviews of this hotel/reps we were very sceptical on arrival, however this was not the case when we left. On arrival we were ordered to pay 200 lev for our room deposit which was expected and was paid back in full on checking out. Following this we had a meeting with one of the reps Chris who was friendly and polite and did not pressure our group into buying any of the trips or bar crawls after we declined after telling him we had read some negative trip advisor reviews. After this we did decide to do our own thing at night but found that the strip was abit too European for our liking. The morning after we decided to give the school disco night a try and found this to be our sort of night as it was much easier to meet new people and get talking to fellow guests especially four lads from huddersfield who were absolutely hilarious. This had done it for us and for the remainder of the holiday we went on the organised days/nights out with the reps and did not experience a bad night with them. As for the hotel itself it was clean comftable with great service including the bar girl Betty who was a massive help in serving us our drinks, as for the security well that was the only real downside as they did try pose a fine on myself but once I refused to pay it they soon got the message. All in all a very good stay at a very good hotel and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo

Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 205 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Palazzo Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Palazzo Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.