We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivana Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ivana Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivana Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sunny Beach Complex, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 204 hotels in Sunny Beach
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Staff very friendly, hotel very clean, breakfast ok, could always find something, rooms very nice, quite roomy and modern feeling, spoke to others staying who have returned a number of occasions. Nice pool, sun beds always available, was described as best 3 star in Sunny Beach, can see why.

Room Tip: was in room facing out front, pool bar stays open late so noise could be a bit of a nusceince
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    87
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
81
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Been back almost a week now....Stayed B&B but would have been happy with room only as the brekkie was pretty poor...Made the effort on the second morning to be greeted by a long queue and little to enthuse over when we reached the buffet...salads,cold beans,what could have been hash browns and sort of fried eggs...bits and bobs of other stuff ...ended up with a few plums and a juice. Plenty of cheap places round the immediate area.
The room itself was bright and spacious...no probs on that score and with the air con and a fridge all seemed pretty good...
Going to go against the grain of other threads as regards the cleanliness of the room....
Perhaps i hold higher standards than others,maybe i'm nit picking or maybe it was just our set of cleaners but after decided after 10 days to have a word with reception about the thoroughness of the cleaning...
Wasn't happy that on returning to the room after the cleaner had been in that you would be walking round the tiled floor and would be picking up hairs and dirt that hadn't been swept or mopped...they balcony most definitely wasn't cleaned throughout our stay.
The bed linen on questioning reception they say is changed every three days...i would state a fair few bob that it was changed twice in two weeks....the sink in the bathroom was never wiped down and finally the shower curtain was mouldy...
After a word with reception followed a couple of days after by a chat with the Balkan rep....sheets were changed,basin was wiped....the rest it seems they couldn't give two hoots about.
Beware if unsteady on your feet the bath is very high sided and there are no handles to grasp to help yourself up,in and out....The floor ended up swimming in shower water even though we did our best to stop it going beyond the curtain.

The general hotel areas were pretty decent for cleanliness...both bars were fine and well run by a good team but is higher priced than other hotel bars close by a large beer is 3 levs which is fine but most places charge less as i said...the hotel does employ a lot of teens in the restaurant and reception and perhaps could be a little smarter than be seen in the jeans and hotel polo shirt's some of them wore.

The little shop is ok for an emergency item but for most part use the Zora supermarket just a few mins walk left on the main road traffic junction ..it's much cheaper.

I used the in house salon for a pedicure..the lass did a great job but again was pricey compared with a place just 5 mins left on the main road.

The pool is superb...cleaned every morning and is crystal clear....the paving around it isn't so clever...it is uneven and basically has been poorly laid and collects every bit of dirt going.
Little bit anxious that there is no life guard on duty of any sort especially with so many young children around and unless i'm mistaken there was no life saving equipment around..adults can stand fairly comfortably in the whole pool area.
You can have a massage if you wish just away from the pool...only saw one taker in a fortnight though.
No perimeter fence so anyone could approach the pool area from all directions..which again was a slight worry.

On the restaurant side there is a small outdoor play area for the young uns which included a battery operated car ...would never have got me off it if i was of that age.

Next to the hotel is a 24 hour medical facility ..(whether they charge huge amounts or end up taking you to one of the lesser standard hospitals if futher treatment is needed) you would be best to ask if at all possible.

The bus into town and to Nessebar is just round to the right on the main road and is a lev ....to town or the for the longer journey to Nessebar.
In the opposite direction the bus is 1lev 20 stinkies and it takes you to Sveti Vlas (sweaty lass) or Elenite ..check the bus sign... Vlas is in my opinion a much nicer resort because it's less hustle and bustle....it has a nice marina a few restaurants,souvenir shops and bars...Try the Miami if you can we had an amazing lunchtime in there...went in for a drink on recommendation,ended up having a three course meal with the family making us most welcome with the pierce de resistance a Baked Alaska for pud..what a fanfare that had.
It's hilly in Vlas so if you make it to the beach then marina and decide you can't be bothered with the walk back up for the bus then do what we did and catch the hourly ferry to Nessebar at 15 levs each....killed two birds with one stone as it were ...Nessebar is lovely but perhaps too many souvenir stalls...they should try to consentrate on making more of the fantastic views from high in the old town...watch out for drinks prices here...and with other places watch that they bring your change as more than once places took a note ..say a 20 lev...and conveniently didn't bring back whatever change it was until questioned.
One night you must go on is Khan's Tent....don't book it through Balkan though...plenty of places do trips...we booked through a place just past the Zora Supermaket on the way to the beach at 65 lev each...can be got cheaper still...it's closeish ti the Ivana up in the hills but what a view,what a show.

Friends Hotel opp Ivana is nice and family run....you can use their small pool if you wish as it was a little quieter...the food and drinks there were fine too.
Facing The Ivana on the pool side is The Efir Hotel..Georgina & Petr run the bar there...they are such a lovely fun couple and unlike some places we came across have a good command of the English language...please say hello from Dawn & myself and do ask for a Chi Chi cocktail.

You will find that British are very much in the minority in The Ivana...mostly Russians but all sorts of nationalities hold sway...which did make it difficult for us when maybe we would liked to have sat and chatted sometimes...

Would i go back.....??? Possibly is the answer to that ...not one for going back to the same place twice....would honestly prefer a more intimate,smaller and in my opinion more friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: We e mailed the hotel and asked for a pool view on first or second floor and that's what we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreghorn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A great hotel staff were incredible.Loved every minute until just leaving for glasgow had a wee spat with the staff after they tried to charge me for a glass i never had but apart from that this place was great minutes from everything and the pool and service was second to none.....would definatly return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Went there in july 2012 with family . travelled with my husband and 2 kids, 9 and 4. Decent place, good breakfast (though same everyday), spacious rooms and very clean place
Swimming area is very good, lobby just ok. We stayed half board, but went out to dine everyday , the dinner was not worth it .... without salt and bland. the best option is the friends bar just opposite the hotel. will write a review on that too in the restaurants section. check ou the zora super market at the corner and dont buy things from the kiosk ... zora market is much cheaper. Do not make any phone calls from the hotel room, they charged us 3 lev for a minute and we landed with huge bill at the check out.
from the hotel, sunny beach center is about 3 bus stop. bus stop is just round the corner and costs 1 lev each for getting to sunny beach center.
staff very friendly at the hotel,small room for toddlers with more than enough toys.
exchange is the best at ivana palace and no need to go out to find some other exchange place
convinient hotel...would give it 3*

Room Tip: Choose the room facing friends bar, there you get the view of the balkan mountains, and the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Me and my girlfriend arrived back on sunday after a week at Ivana Palace, This is a great hotel. We couldnt have wished for a better holiday. The Hotel is very, and the cleaners are busy all day long, we had fresh towels in the room every, as well as the room being cleaned every day. Always hot water, even for a bath. The rooms are of good size, with t.v, with a few english channels, not really that important as i dont go on holiday to watch t.v. The room also has a fridge with a mini freezer in. Also lots of room to unpack and hang your cloths how you wish too. Air conditioning was great as was so hot, and was on 24 hours a day, even when out of room.
Breakfast, was a good choice of food, and was very nice, with juice, water, tea and coffee, also their is no shortage of table and chairs.
Inside the hotel, you have a great little shop, selling all the things you need. Also the lobby bar is set out nice, with nice table and chairs. The hotel offers internet, washing service, gym and a few other things at a small charge.
Outside, the pool is a good size, and kept very clean, with plenty of sunbeds, we were always down by the pool by 9.30, so never had a problem finding 2 empty sunbeds. The pool bar is fantastic and the people who run it are so friendly, and make you feel so welcome. All drinks are cheap, Beer is just over £1 a pint, and cocktails a little more expensive but still cheap.
We didnt have a evening meal in the hotel, (as we were staying BB) but we did have food around the pool during the day, including pizza, soup, chicken and chips, all the food we had was great, and as it was so hot, you didnt feel like eating much during the day.
After spending the day near the pool we would head down to the beach front in the evenings. If you are looking for a meal near the Hotel, their is Friends pub and resturant striaght across form the hotel, the food is o.k but not a large choice. If you head to the Beach front, you have the Island resturant which is on the left, but head right and the first resturant on the right called EMONA, is a good place to go, the food is great, lots to choose from, and very well priced. We ended up eating in thier 5 nights. Along the main front you have so much to see and do, plenty of shops, and many resturants to try. After eating we headed to a bar called Jamboree, where their is karaoke, beer and cocktails.

This Hotel is a great location, very friendly, very clean. We will be returning summer 2013 for 2 weeks, 1 week just wasnt enough.

Room Tip: I dont think it matters which room you are in, all seem to be very quiet, and the music from the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just back after 10 days at the 'Ivana Palace ' it is in a very good location the beach is only 5 mins away, with main resort centre and strip 15/20mins walk away so quiet enough at night and away from the bustling strip.
Plenty of restaurants to choose from, so many bars and beach bars all the way throughout sunny beach which is a massive resort and too big to see everything, we went to Nessebar old town which is beautiful a MUST see!
Hotel was very clean, the rooms cleaned every day, pool good size and pool bar with friendly staff! the bar in the evening was run by a very lovely couple who always had a smile, were very friendly and always had a warm welcome for us no matter what time it was (early hours) bar open till late eg 6am sometimes later!
We booked BB only, but did not get to any of them as late nights for us however you can find english breakfast anywhere along the beach front was a good choice and cheap.
Defo go back to Bulgaria, and would reccommend the Ivana Palace the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

my husband and i have just returned from a fab 11 nights holiday at the ivana palace , the hotel it is about a 10-15 min stroll to the beach and main bars & restaurants , and its one of the cleanest hotels i've ever stayed in , maids clean your room every day and towels are changed regulary , all the staff apart from the very angry restaurant lady (wearing a brown jacket) are very friendly and helpfull .The prices at the hotel and in resort are extremely cheap ,but if you walk towards the beach and turn left and keep walking to the far end of the beach you will find a lovely quiet area where you can relax , top up your tan and enjoy a beer for 1.50 lev the cheapest in sunny beach .
If you like to get out of the main resort occasionally then there are few lovely places to visit just 1 lev on the bus will take you to nessebar or st wass where you will find picturesque harbours and quaint little shops and restaurants .The main centre of sunny beach is very lively if you like that sort of thing but their are lots of alternative areas to try if you dont .
One last thing ....make sure your up early to claim a sunbed because they go very quickly around the pool area !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ivana Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivana Palace Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach Complex, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 204 hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivana Palace Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Ivana Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ivana Palace
Ivana Palace Hotel Sunny Beach, Burgas Province, Bulgaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivana Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.