We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel and lovely holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel to your Saves list
Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria (Formerly Hotel Ralitsa Superior )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Albena
Dobrich, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel and lovely holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was our third time at the Ralitsa Superior, we have also stayed in the 3* Ralitsa as well.
Our room was a Superior Family Room with two Balconies that overlooked the pool, the sea, and with views of the neighbouring town of Kranevo and inland villages. The room was spacious, airconditioned, with television, fridge and bathroom with toilet, bidet, sink, shower/bath and a seperate room with an additional toilet and sink. The room was cleaned daily and towels were changed every day.
The hotel has excellent facilities, 4 pools to choose from with sunbeds and umbrellas, cushions for the sunbeds and the pools were all well kept. The restaurant and bars are all clean and tidy with a good range of drinks available, food whilst a little bit repetitive is of a very good quality for Bulgaria.
The staff are generally polite and helpful, the only exception being the male bar staff in the lobby bar, who can be rude. Strangely enough over the four years we have visited the staff are the same.....including the rude ones!
There is a great childrens club, and the entertainment team work really hard putting on 6 super shows each week. The theatre in which they are held is also good
The hotel is owned by PrimaSol and guests are predominantly German, Russian and Romanian. Some people have a problem with this, but they are far preferable to mainly British guests. Over the four years of visiting we have never witnessed any bad behaviour or drunkeness by any of the guests other than the British, and even then only one family!
This is a family hotel that can be easily recommended. There is little noise at night and the hotel is very quiet by 11.30pm with most people and their children having gone to bed. Though there are also younger groups and older ones too.
The Ultra All Inclusive Package is excellent, it is very difficult to spend any money.
The hotel also has a beach area with a free bus service where you can enjoy, beach beds, umbrellas and food and drinks at the beach all included in the deal.
I hope to return in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is my first foray into All inclusive and Bulgaria and have to say I wasn't too impressed with either. It's probably easiest to give a list of good and bad points!

Good points:
Albena is a pretty resort
The hotel had 3 lovely pools which were never too busy
The entertainment staff were friendly and polite
The hotel provided free loungers on the beach which again were plentiful and the beach bar down there was part of the all inclusive so you didn't need to go back to the hotel fo lunch or spend extra on the beach for ice creams and drinks.
There were plenty of options for where and when you could eat
Most drinks were available on the All inclusive deal including a good choice of cocktails (though many of the bar staff didn't know how to make them!)

Bad points
Some of the bar staff were very rude and didn't like it if you asked for more than a couple of drinks or anything too complicated.
While we were there the entertainment including kids disco was in a hall where you couldn't take in alcohol. My sister chose this resort so she could take the kids to the disco while she enjoyed a couple of drinks on an evening and was disappointed when this didn't happen.
We were in the infamous k block! The rooms were definitely not 4 star and were very small particularly for my sister and her family who had to accoomodate 4 in there. Though the rooms were clean our toilet smelt of mouldy cheese for two days when we first arrived.
The food was fairly boring. I don't eat meat and struggled to find enough variety each day. Even the pizza's and pasta would be covered in meat which was frustrating. Everything is oversalted and covered in dill. I also had a stomach bug which put me off the food even more!

Overall I don't think I would reccomend this hotel and don't intend to return. It's not 4 start but the price you paid probably should have told you this.

Also I don't mind Bulgaria airways, they were a little slapdash and the food options are a bit rubbish but the alcohol is pretty cheap for an airline (£3.50 for a small bottle of wine!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This review is for the 4* Ralitsa Superior. I'm sure other people who have stayed here have put reviews down under the other Ralitsa, which is a 3* but on the same site. Actually, getting used to the layout of the hotel complex - which also includes a third hotel called the Vita Park - is half the battle when it comes to staying here. There are various facilities such as pools and bars which you can use if you want if you are a guest here, whereas other facilities like restaurants you can't - and I'm not sure if their guests can use the 4* facilities as they are supposedly "better" - confused? You will be!

Basically this is a decent standard package holiday hotel which offers what it calls Ultra All Inclusive. That means all your food and drink is included, and there is a good selection of all the alcoholic drinks you could possibly want available, as well as quite a few cocktails. Food is generally good - the veal in particular was delicious, although choice was not quite as wide as other all-inclusives I've been to. The canteen was perfectly acceptable, but I do wish they would pension off the "entertainment" who were there most nights. If I heard "If You Leave Me Now" once, I heard it a thousand times. Oh, that reminds me, I hope you like Titanic if you stay here, because you will be hearing "My Heart Will Go On" thousands of times as well. Do they have any other CDs?!

The rooms were small and smelt of smoke when we arrived, although this dissipated during our stay. Unfortunately I don't think the concept of non-smoking rooms has caught on yet in Bulgaria. The room was a bit frayed around the edges - my bedside light was broken and never got fixed, although I reported it. And the towel rail fell apart as well, though they did manage to fix that. Aircon was very good - efficient and quiet, and our room (which wasn't in the dreaded K block - see other reviews) had a pleasant, quiet outlook over a wooded area. The main issue with the room was the very hard foam mattress, which was too firm for comfort and also got quite hot and sweaty during the night - and not in a good way! Having said that, it can't have been too bad, becasue I did actually sleep very well while I was there. I looked at it one day and it was an orthopaedic mattress. This makes sense as most of the guests are of an older generation.

The best thing about the hotel was the pool. It was a good size, with plenty of sunloungers for everybody (going in September no doubt helped with that.) I found it incredibly relaxing and an ideal place to nod off or read a book. Mainly because of that, I actually had a lovely, relaxing holiday here and came back feeling very refreshed. Certainly not always the case after a holiday.

I am aware this review swings from being critical to being positive quite a lot, but that is what this place is like and, in many ways, what Bulgaria is like too. It is a place very much in transition from the old, Communist days into what I hope will be a very bright future ahead. The service in the hotel also reflected that - sometimes very helpful, cheerful and accommodating, but sometimes surly and almost eye-rolling. It was impossible to predict what you were going to get from one day to the next. On the whole it was fine and the front desk spoke good English, although German is definitely the main foreign language spoken here.

Overall, I would recommend it here, but people need to be aware that it is not fully up to Western standards in every single area and must be prepared to live with that. The cheapness of a holiday here makes up for that, in my opinion. The really important things - good food and a relaxing ambience - are here for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the K block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just returned from a week's all inclusive stay in the ralitsa superior. We stayed in the k block which is badged as part of the 4* hotel but situated with the neighbouring 3* accommodation. the room was minute & once my daughter's sofa bed was set up in our 3 bed family room it was impossible to move around without jumping over the beds. The bathroom was modern but the size of a broom cupboard - the room had no other facilities but I was assured by the management this was a 'superior' room. Guests were almost exclusively german or russian & the restaurant buffet was geared around their needs. Almost identical food was churned out day after day although the final evening's offering was livened up by the presence of a 1 inch long bug in the pepper dish I had the misfortune to select - 4 of our party of 8 had stomach upsets during our stay. We hadn't expected wildlife to be part of the package yet a pack of dogs roamed the hotel grounds throughout. A smattering of beatles, ants, cockroaches & a wasp nest on the bar terrace completed the offering. With a few exceptions the bar staff were rude & either unwilling or unable to deal with simple requests for drinks in english. The outdoor pool is good & worthy of the rating yet other facilities are inadequate e.g. the pool table has missing balls & a plastic cue, the table tennis table has no net. This is simply not a 4* hotel - don't be fooled.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the k block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, Lancs
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Fantastic value for money, ultra all inclusive 24 hour bar and international brands included. Just returned from 2 week holiday here with family & friends. Hotel very clean, choice of 3 outdoor swimming pools and 1 indoor. Hotel lobby bar, bar next to restaurant, outdoor bar with pizza & chips served all day and pool bar. Free bus to beach or a nice 10 minute walk parosol, sun loungers and mattress free with beach bar open 11am til 5pm for inclusive drinks and food. Animation team very friendly but not pushy 1 show on most nights. Included this year 1 al-la-carte at hotel this was a lovely meal, also 2 lunches & 2 dinners at local restaurants in Albena inclusive of beer or soft drinks all brilliant. Albena is a lovely quiet resort with a nice golden sandy beach with lifeguards on watch, lots of trees and very green. The bulgarian people are very friendly and honest and not harrassing you to look in their shops, etc. This is our 3 time at this resort having stopped at Ralitsa the first time and Vita Park last year we will definately by back at the Ralitsa Superior next year.

Room Tip: Request when you book the holiday or at check in but all the rooms we saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

It was quite nice actually to be there. A bit too far from the sea front, but if you are with the car - it doesn't actually matters. One of the great things we loved there is the food. Restaurant was great.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had a very relaxing holiday at this hotel. We had Ultra All Inclusive. The service was great. The staff is ok. The rooms are cleaned daily.
The food was great, a wide variety. With UAI you can basically have something to eat anytime you like, until 2 am.
The swimming pool was lovely. It was cleaned every morning, there were plenty of sunbeds. We also had free sunbeds on the beach.
The only downside is that the hotel is far from the beach, approximately 850m. We walked to the beach - 10-15 minutes. The hotel offered a free shuttle service, but you had to wait for the bus and we never really took it.
I definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday, having everything you need at your disposal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel

Address: Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria (Formerly Hotel Ralitsa Superior )
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Albena
#8 Family Hotel in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modernly built family Primasol Ralitsa Superior is quietly situated at 800 meters from the beach in Albena. The hotel has 2 main buildings - a 6-floor building and a 5-floor building. The 246 rooms and apartments are air- conditioned and modernly furnished. Guests can rent out a fridge and a safety box at the hotel's reception. The Primasol Ralitsa Superior offers Ultra All-inclusive services. Beverages are available all around the clock. A sunshade and 2 beach chairs on the beach are included in the room rate. There are 2 outdoor and 1 indoor swimming pools with a Jacuzzi area as well as 2 children's pools. The Spa Center in the hotel consists of 12 treatment rooms, offering a variety of massages and treatments, a steam bath and a fitness room. Buffet restaurant with a terrace, a bar, 2 a-la-carte restaurants and a lobby bar are also located at the premises of the hotel. All guests staying at the hotel receive free entry and access to the water attractions of the adjacent aqua park Aqua Mania. Rich animation program is offered six days per week. The Primasol Ralitsa Superior offers a shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach restaurant Rai where guests can enjoy lunch. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in the hotel lobby and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ralitsa Superior Albena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primasol Ralitsa Superior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.