We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Albena
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An honest review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Following a recent 2 weeks stay for a very cheap price at the hotel Magnolia and reading some of the reviews from guests I feel I have to comment.
Albena is a lovely town, quiet and very child orientated. The area is clean and tidy, with nice cheap bars and restraunts lining the beach. The hotel offers free sunbeds on the beach with access to free drinks and snacks from a local hotel (we never visited this but people reported the food was the same as in our hotel)
On arrival we were met by friendly reception staff. The room was basic but clean, well maintained with fresh towels and bedding changed regularly. All staff met on the holiday were pleasant and polite. Yes they may not speak fluent english, but they know enough to say hello and thankyou if you treat them with same respect you wish to recieve. We had no problems at all with any of the hotel reception / bar / restraunt staff.
The food. After travelling to Bulgaria twice before and other similar countries (Turkey), we knew exactly what to expect. Yes the food was not brilliant, but what do you expect for the money you pay for a 3 star hotel. Fruit and salad was consistently available, with options of meat and fish available daily. The food in these countries is served at room temperature, but a microwave is available if you wish to use it, although we never did. As a fussy eater, I found something to eat every night.
The only downside to the hotel is the management and upkeep of the pool. The pool area itself had pieces of tiles missing, resulting in instances of cuts to feet and legs. As we were leaving, these were however being repaired. The hotel lifeguards, as noted in a previous review, spent more time sat than watching the pools but children are the parents responsibility, they themselves should take responsibility for watching their children, after all, not all hotels have a lifeguard!!
The entertainment is what you would expect for a 3 star hotel. The songs and activities are repetative but the children appeared to enjoy the dancing on the bridge and they are not played all day, a couple of hours in the morning, an hour on an afternoon. The entertainment does continue on a night, but in the ampitheatre a 5 minute walk away with a mini disco and a show of some sort.
A few reports have mentioned the armed police turning up. I would just like to report that this WAS NOT a regular occurance and not for the reasons mentioned! This incident took place during our stay and the police were called as a result of the behaviour of some of the hotels english guests, (we were sat at the pool bar still buying drinks and were not asked to move by them) We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and had no problems at all after 11 and were definatly not escorted back to our rooms. Drinks are available as is stated in the hotel information at a charge after 11. The bar staff were very willing to stay working the bar until you have finished, we were out until 1 on occassions.
For a cheap value for money hotel Magnolia is the perfect place. If you want 5 star luxury, pay for it!!!

Room Tip: There are no good views. Most of the rooms back onto trees (on the pool side) or the restraunt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    23
    23
    17
See reviews for
35
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

To start off Albena is a lovely town, its not very big but you're able to get to golden sands for a small price in a taxi. If you're going to this hotel make sure that you fly to Varna airport and not Bourgas as we flew to Bourgas and it's a three hour transfer, the holiday was terrible to begin with.
To look at the hotel it looks lovely, well maintained and very clean, other than that it's terrible. The staff are unfriendly, they will not smile, welcome you or speak to you. This hotel hosted very rude and arrogant individuals, not only from Russians/Germans/Polish etc, but from the Bulgarian staff. Worst of all the food in the hotel was terrible, not catered for the English at all, when we were lucky enough to get chicken/burgers/sausages etc, they were always raw in the middle causing a member of my family to become very ill while on holiday, the cooks do not use gloves or tongs to place and take off the uncooked and cooked foods causing a possible chance cross contamination, very unhygienic. The lifeguards walk around posing instead of actually watching the young children in the pools. They play the same music every single day which the majority of it is for different nations. Then lastly do not even attempt to have a good time after 11pm as not only do the hotel switch the lights off on you but will also send armed police to send you to your rooms. Besides meeting some lovely people this hotel was terrible and will never ever return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The flight and transfers to hotel were just right. But then it all goes down hill.
Lets start with the food.
If u can get past the Russians who are so rude and greedy u get a basic spread of pork, chicken and eggs. The chicken is very under cooked as it is still pink in the middle just like the rest of the meat. The eggs are till see through. So ur stuck with under cooked chips and veg. The tables have food all over them. As for the snack bar that had pizza u would be lucky to get a slice as again the greedy Russians pushed and shoved u out of the way. We had to pay to eat out every day so we did not starve or get ill.
Now for the staff.
We never got a good morning or a hello but if u were Russian u got a hand shake and a hello. The staff are rude and unpleasant to the English family's that were there.
Do not try to enjoy yourself there after 11pm as the staff called the armed police out to us to force us back to our rooms.
The drinks are always running out or they say they have no more cups.
This hotel needs removing from all our travel agents. If ur English do not go.
If u do go please check ur beds as ours had blood on it. Albena it's self is a very nice play if u get the right hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms were very nice and maintained well by the cleaners, who were very pleasant. The food was dire, it did not cater for English people whatsoever. We lived off eggs for breakfast as nothing else looked palatable or, frankly, the least bit tempting. The lunch and evening meals were not much better. One night we were over the moon to have pork steak! There was no veg apart from overcooked cauliflower and broccoli on one occasion. There was always plenty of salad but even salad lovers get fed up of it for every meal. The staff had a very limited English vocabulary so communication was difficult. There was also no evening entertainment so we ate out the majority of the time. As this was an All Inclusive holiday we expected it to be a holiday at a reasonable cost but it worked out expensive as we had to eat out the majority of the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Why oh why do we get so many negative reports. Positive positive POSITIVE. A week at Magnolia in Albena was my first trip there and was very pleasantly suprised. Staff were friendly if you treated them with the civility they deserved. Hotel was clean and pool area great for adults and children. Food was basic and enjoyable plenty of it with nice wines in the all inclusive deal.The path to the beach was directly outside the hotel, 5mins down 10mins up. If that was too arduous then a FREE shuttle bus stops outside hotel and right in to the centre of the action. A great promenade and beach area lovely soft white sands and blue sea (it's not Black!) Also a little shuttle train (see picture) does same trip s shuttle bus but more pleasant in the heat for a mere 3Lev (£1.50) The weather 35c every day barely a cloud all week.
There is a city tour bus runs from the bus terminal for 30Lev (£15) well worth a trip down the coast. This town is absolutely ideal to try as a first time to Bulgaria it is a quieter resort surrounded by woods/forest not over developed and no Tetley bitter and sunday roast signs all over just good honest Bulgarian grub. Get stuck in and you will enjoy. Plenty to do for families with younger children (5yrs-12yrs) No agro everyone having a fantastic time. I would most definately go again.

Room Tip: There are no sea views as it is away from the sea. There are no real disadvantages with any room. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, Scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent a week here, when we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly welcomed at reception bearing in mind it was 1,20 am. when we reached our room it was clean, fresh towels in bathroom (changed on a daily basis) and a very pleasant area to be in, much to the contrary of some of the reviews. the food wasnt the greatest but there was always something to cover most tastes. salad stuff very fresh and plentiful. the moral of the staff was quite low due to the disrespect of some of the guests and their children running wild. the pool area was really quite good and the animation team tried their best to keep everyone, adults included, amused. only complaint would be rather uncomfortable loungers, even a pad on top would have helped. all in all both my husband and myself enjoyed our stay here. ps would highly recommend Velska the taxi driver based at the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

After booking the holiday with balkan holidays and then reading the reviews afterwards on this hotel I was very apprehensive as many of them were terrible and referred to the cleanliness and condition of the rooms etc. However this was not the case. On our arrival at the hotel we were greeted, checked in and taken to our room which was 222 in the hotel (not the garden) DO NOT STAY IN THE GARDEN!! its really old and falling to bits, you should check this before you book or arrive. our room was nice enough it had everything we needed. clean and tidy and everything in working order, mosquito covers on the doors, fully working FREE air-con, nice bathroom and a safe (at cost) the rooms are in long stone corridors and are VERY noisey as this hotel is plagued by children they run up and down the halls singing and all sorts, afternoon naps and going to bed early are wishful thinking. The food was not great but i was able to find enough to sustain me each and every meal. their is about 5 main dishes to choose from but you always get a nice soup and a great salad bar. The drinks on all inclusive are god awful brands of alcohol that taste horrendous and it helps none that they have no measure system so its half and half. the wine and the beer are OK though. The public areas are kept reasonably clean, the pools are very nice to relax beside, until hundreds of screaming kids come over at 4pm when the animation team put on a small show every day, so get in your tan time before then. Sun loungers at the hotel AND THE BEACH which are included in ur all inclusive package are hard plastic with no covers VERY UNCOMFORTABLE, you can rent padding at the beach for 1 GBP for the day or you can buy your own anywhere at the shops at about 10GBP for a 6foot pad. which we did and it made all the difference. The snack bar does pizzas and chips, salads and ice cream its quite nice instead of a big lunch, but again if all the kids don't barge in front of you. The hotel has its own section of beach which is great, at a prime spot and loads of beds and parasols. but get down before 9am or you will be at the back. All in all the worst thing was the staff really, none very qualified and have a very carefree attitude, although some of them are very helpful most are not. wi-fi is a cost of about 1 GBP per day which is great and it works all over the whole town so well worth it, but they never seem to have any, so buy a 6 day card for 6GBP. And DO NOT BOOK EXCURSIONS through the holiday companies, plan them yourself, we went to the botanic gardens at a cost of 5 LEV each for admittance and 15 LEV for a taxi so for 2 of us all, in all it cost us 40 LEVS for the whole day, the companies wanted 70 LEVS EACH for the same thing except they gave a tour guide around the gardens. Albena it's self is beautiful, quiet and undiscovered. Cannot fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT IN THE GARDEN! the garden rooms are decades old and are next to the bar which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magnolia

Address: Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All-Inclusive Magnolia Hotel is situated on a green slope in the upper part of Albena, about 1,300 meters from the beach. It provides 340 well-furnished, air-conditioned rooms with balconies and great opportunities for recreation, away from the noise and intensity of the central parts. Safety-box and fridge can be rented at Reception. There is a main buffet restaurant serving a variety of local and international cuisine, lobby bar, snack bar and pool bar where guests can enjoy refreshing drinks. Guests can enjoy thematic and barbecue evenings and live-cooking throughout the week. Lunch is also offered on the beach at Dorostor Restaurant. A sun umbrella with 2 lounge chairs at the beach are available per room. A free shuttle bus service is available daily on every half an hour, driving guests from Magnolia hotel to the beach and back. Rich animation program is offered in the hotel six days per week. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Garden Albena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.